We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay and great welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Babbacombe Guest House
Ranked #61 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay and great welcome”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Lovely welcome by hosts with helpful advice. Room and bathroom were very clean, tidy and cosy. Good off-road parking and breakfast was very tasty and quickly made. Close to the seafront and easy to find I would recommend staying here. We had a lovely time - thank you Babbacombe guest house.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kestrel_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Kestrel
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. The off road parking does make a difference, and we are please to be able to provide this free for all our guests. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    30
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
117
26
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford Kent
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Went to meet up with old friends we had not seen for three years so booked to stay friday to monday, we had the ground floor room, but beware bed frame I went home with bruises as not a lot of room round the bed. Our friends on next floor up found bathroom very small in size also the shower which was a problem as he is a tall man.Both rooms spotlessly clean. On arrival we had a lovely warm welcome and it was all first name terms.After our first evening our friend asked about the bar when he asked if we could get drinks if we came back early,Tony said I got rid of it, nothing more.
As we were catching up I asked the next day if we could sit in the lounge area on our return from evening out, but was told no this was there sitting room. We did feel that the atmosphere was less cordial from then on. Breakfast was a lovely fresh cooked meal, shame we were on two seperate tables yet had booked together.
Sorry to say a disappointing stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muchmores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
We are sorry you were disappointed with your stay. Our ground floor room is used primarily by elderly guests or those who mobility impaired. During your stay we must say we were surprised when you told us you hit your legs on the bed frame, since in the three years we have owned the property we had never had such a complaint.

With respect to the shower in your friends room, the shower head is on an adjustable rail. We took the opportunity to measure the height. The shower head will go as high as 6’7”. We do not remember him being the tallest man in Britain.

In this area, most B&Bs and Guest Houses are not purpose built hotels, and are often converted homes or buildings that had different purposes, with Babbacombe Guest House being an old convent/school.

We recall the conversation regarding you using our lounge area, and you were advised that we removed the bar in order to make a larger sitting area, which we also use, and you are invited to join us. You also asked if you could bring your own bottle of wine, which we told you that you couldn't because we remain a licensed premises and as such only allow consumption of alcohol that has been purchased from us. We offered you the bar list, which we would have served to you, yet we also recall that this wasn't acceptable because we did not have a bottle of Merlot.

Our Guest Information folder in each room also advises that we will be pleased to serve drinks in the lounge seating are is available from 19:00 - 23:00.

We are a Guest House, primarily focused on providing clean, comfortable, quality bed and breakfast accommodation and our decision to remove the bar but retain the licence was because it was unsightly, rarely used by guests; yet we retained the licence to be able to add an additional extra. For those who wish more, the immediate area and the Babbacombe Downs has pubs, restaurants and bars aplenty.

Since your stay was over a month ago, it seems that sometimes what actually happened can be forgotten, but nevertheless thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

What a great releif it is to have found a Guest House and hosts that deliver a 1st class service time after time. I stay at this place often, not because of a business need, but, because the guest house, the rooms, the food and the welcome never fails to reach the highest standards. Visit and you will not be dissapointed.
There have been times when it would have been easier, for access to tourist attractions, to have stayed in another place. But I could never hope to find a better place than this. I stay at this guest house because I have never found better and a hotel could never hope to match the warmth shown by the hosts. Tony and Pauline are welcoming, without being 'pushy'. Their knowledge and advice on local attractions is first class. I will surely return again some day.

Room Tip: The room with the twin beds which can be used as a King size is fantastic value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RavenPortland_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Raven, thank you for leaving us such kind words. It is customers like you who make this business a pleasure. Until we see you again, the very best of wishes to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff,wales
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Just returned from a lovely weekend away staying at the Babbacombe Guest House. The hotel is spotlessly clean with a well maintained feel about the place. Location in respect of Babbacombe Downs is perfect, literally a stones throw from the front, however there is residual noise from the main road in the rooms which though not too noisy you were aware of the traffic. The owners were warm and welcoming, it was nice to be called by your first name, something which doesn't happen much nowadays. The breakfast was lovely and obviously freshly cooked. The only concern was the headroom in the room we were given, we were aware it was a loftroom prior to our booking, yet were suprised by the lack of height. If booking this guest house just be aware of the lack of height in the loftrooms, nos. 5 and 6, otherwise i could not fault the guesthouse and welcome given. Tip - try Hanbuys chippys - fantastic.

Room Tip: Loftrooms have limited height.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alymic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for your review, as you mentioned there is restricted height in the rooms on the top floor as we advertise. Based on feedback this is why these rooms are also priced lower than our other rooms, so there is an option to choose the room that is booked. Some people prefer these rooms and some don't. Nevertheless, I am glad that you took the time to comment here that you enjoyed your stay and we hope you will choose us next time you travel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I'd like to say a massive thankyou to Pauline and Tony for their warm welcome and excellent hospitality to myself and family, although the stay was short (only 2 nights) we wished it was longer as we were made so welcome. I will recommend Babbacombe guest house to all my friends, and defiantly will be booking a longer stay.
Again many many thanks to Pauline and Tony for making our stay such a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariabatchelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased that you enjoyed your weekend with us, and hope you will choose us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2012

They say 1st impressions are important. You will definitely not be dissapointed on you arrival at the Babbacome Guest House. From the outside in, there is an air of well kept, well run & manitained establishment. Pauline & Tony carry this through in the treatment of their guests. Friendly and courteous, where nothing is too much trouble to ensure that you have an enjoyable & trouble free stay.

If you are looking for a cosy corner to relax in, far away from the madding crowd, you need look no further than the Babbacombe Guest House. I would definitely recommend this guest house to anyone that prizes value for money and comfort. A veritable 'Jewel In The Crown' to be held up as an excellent example to other holiday establishments. I have already booked my break for next year. You arrive as strangers and leave as friends.

Florence Johnson

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Florence J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Florence, thank you for your very kind review of our property. It is kind words like this that show that our efforts to provide a quality environment for our guests to stay in really do get noticed. We look forward to seeing you on your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We have stayed here many times over the last two years and each time the experience gets better. The cleanest rooms and every thing you could want to hand in the room. A breakfast that will give you the best start for the day. Tony and Pauline have worked hard and done a wonderful job, we hope that it will continue for many a year to come. Maybe it is time for them to take a break. Where ever it is, I hope it is up to the same standard as they have set. I cannot praise them enough, truly Babbacombe's best kept Guest House.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacko49er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
We are so pleased you enjoy staying with us enough to return. Thats why we have put so much work into not only improving but maintaining the facilities we offer. We hope to see you again soon, thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Anchorage Hotel
Anchorage Hotel
#72 of 87 in Torquay
386 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bay Torbay Hotel
Bay Torbay Hotel
#33 of 87 in Torquay
740 reviews
0.1 mi away
Babbacombe Palms Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Headland View
Headland View
#46 of 149 in Torquay
184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
#52 of 149 in Torquay
147 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
#47 of 149 in Torquay
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babbacombe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babbacombe Guest House

Property: Babbacombe Guest House
Address: 53 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 3SN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Babbacombe Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit England 4* SILVER AWARD with BREAKFAST AWARD Guest House ideally situated on the picturesque boundary of Babbacombe and St Marychurch. The spectacular views from Babbacombe Downs are just 300 yards away, St Marychurch's popular shopping precinct is just a 5 minutes walk away, and the main town centre of Torquay is just a few minutes drive away. Free off road parking and free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms and Cancelon so you can book your Babbacombe Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babbacombe Guest House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing