We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Babbacombe Guest House
Ranked #59 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful weekend”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I'd like to say a massive thankyou to Pauline and Tony for their warm welcome and excellent hospitality to myself and family, although the stay was short (only 2 nights) we wished it was longer as we were made so welcome. I will recommend Babbacombe guest house to all my friends, and defiantly will be booking a longer stay.
Again many many thanks to Pauline and Tony for making our stay such a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariabatchelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased that you enjoyed your weekend with us, and hope you will choose us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    30
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
115
26
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2012

They say 1st impressions are important. You will definitely not be dissapointed on you arrival at the Babbacome Guest House. From the outside in, there is an air of well kept, well run & manitained establishment. Pauline & Tony carry this through in the treatment of their guests. Friendly and courteous, where nothing is too much trouble to ensure that you have an enjoyable & trouble free stay.

If you are looking for a cosy corner to relax in, far away from the madding crowd, you need look no further than the Babbacombe Guest House. I would definitely recommend this guest house to anyone that prizes value for money and comfort. A veritable 'Jewel In The Crown' to be held up as an excellent example to other holiday establishments. I have already booked my break for next year. You arrive as strangers and leave as friends.

Florence Johnson

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Florence J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Florence, thank you for your very kind review of our property. It is kind words like this that show that our efforts to provide a quality environment for our guests to stay in really do get noticed. We look forward to seeing you on your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We have stayed here many times over the last two years and each time the experience gets better. The cleanest rooms and every thing you could want to hand in the room. A breakfast that will give you the best start for the day. Tony and Pauline have worked hard and done a wonderful job, we hope that it will continue for many a year to come. Maybe it is time for them to take a break. Where ever it is, I hope it is up to the same standard as they have set. I cannot praise them enough, truly Babbacombe's best kept Guest House.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacko49er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
We are so pleased you enjoy staying with us enough to return. Thats why we have put so much work into not only improving but maintaining the facilities we offer. We hope to see you again soon, thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornaby, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

the breakfast was lovely sets u up for the day,the location is perfect everything close by even the bus stop to torquay just outside so never needed to use the car.everything was perfect wished we had booked for longer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for your kind review, we appreciate you leaving comments for others to see, in particular about our free off road car parking, quite a rarity in Torquay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had an enjoyable 3 night stay here in late August. Off road parking was very handy. Room was clean and comfortable, with bunk beds for the kids. Bottled water and biscuits in the room was a nice touch. Breakfasts were very good. A short stroll puts you in sight of the beaches, but beware the steep climb - let the Babbacombe cliff railway take the strain. Would recommend the sizzling steak at the Babbacombe Inn and fish and chips from Drakes. Bus into Torquay stops almost outside the door.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Have_r0d_will_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
We are please that you enjoyed your first trip to Torquay and enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will choose us again next time you are here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The guest house was spotless. Good off road parking. The breakfasts were very good plenty of choice. The hosts very welcoming and friendly. We have already booked for next year.The prices was very reasonable. Great location for getting around Torquay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RMOLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
We look forward to seeing you when you return next year. Thank you for your kind words about our guest house, we really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Contrary to other reviews, we found the attitude of the owners - particularly the lady incredibly frosty. We felt as though we were disturbing her on arrival, she didn't introduce herself at all, nor even offer a smile throughout our entire stay making us feel very uncomfortable, particularly at breakfast. Certainly do not think this is an establishment suitable for young children either, as we were placed in a room in the attic with virtually no room to stand up straight and windows that easily opened wide with a drop 3 floors down. Got the impression that young children were not really welcome. Also no wardrobe for our clothes, just a tiny rail in an alcove - not sufficient for all our stuff. Had to crouch to get down the stairs every time we left our room. On the positive side our room was clean and there was off-street parking, but that's about it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anon453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kookachoo, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
We are sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay at Babbacombe Guest House.

We aim to greet all of our guests with a warm welcome, but do not want to exceed that welcome with a big silly grin, as often guests have travelled some distance and we want to be efficient in the process of checking in.

Most of our guests are repeat bookings, and we always welcome these with a big smile and a hug, however as this was your first visit, we would never want to cross any boundaries.

When you were shown to your room, you did not mention that the room was unsuitable for you. You were told about the local places to visit, to eat and we enquired if the child cot was suitable and if you required any additional bedding for the cot. We also enquired as to what you would like for breakfast and our menu was pointed out to you.

Everything seemed fine, and it was noticed that whilst we were talking that your child was opening all of the drawers and pulling out the lining paper and banging the drawers shut. This also did not seem to bother you.

The window in the room will open on a tilt as well as sideways and if used properly does not pose any danger. The booking you made included a FREE child under the age of 2yrs, which if your child was then they would not be able to reach the window and open it without the help of the parent or guardian.

We check each room daily so that we can change the towels, and to top up the toiletries and tea/coffee supplies. You may have noticed during your week long stay that some items were removed from the room, such as the paper lining for the drawers, the tea/coffee tray etc. as they were all thrown into the child cot.

We ask all of our guests more than once during their stay if they are enjoying their stay and that if there is anything that is needed then it only needs to be asked for. We do not want to impose nor intrude. We take this approach to ensure that guests can tell us if they are not happy with something. If you had told us at one of these opportunities then we might have been able to help you. We are sorry we didn’t get to know you as we would normally have liked, however you were out for most of the day each day and we only caught a glimpse of you as you returned in the evening. Our house was full at the time, so the time for conversation was limited as you also went out straight after breakfast service.

Also since we were full, Pauline was in the kitchen throughout the entire breakfast service. It is only when everyone has been served that she became free to go to the dining room to greet everyone for the day that you had unfortunately gone and were not to be seen.

We have CCTV in our dining room so that we are able to see when guests are entering and exiting the dining room so we can arrange a speedy service during breakfast. We did notice one morning that your child was throwing the jam portions around the room and other items that despite your child being in a high-chair; must have been handed to by yourselves. Our other guests noticed this and did comment on the behaviour and that nothing was done to stop it. In addition other guests complained that there was a stomping noise coming from the upper floor at 5am in the morning, and when we asked if they wished us to mention it to you they told us they didn’t want to make a fuss.

We have just been renewed with our Visit Britain 4 star rating. We work hard to maintain the stringent standards and all of our rooms contain brand new furniture and we hope that our guests respect that they are staying in a quality establishment.

The room you stayed in is indeed in the attic and we have advertised everywhere that this is the case and as such the room is priced less than our other rooms. This is the price you chose to pay. The hanging area in this room is the same size as a double wardrobe with the minimum required hangers for the quality standard. If you had asked for more hangers, we would have provided more. We decided not to put wardrobe doors on this so as to give guests the opportunity to perhaps store their luggage on the floor area. You will see a review on TripAdvisor from ‘John C’ on 11 August 2012 and I can confirm that they stayed in the same room as you.

We are also committed to offering good, honest, value for money accommodation for those who appreciate it. If we were to hire more staff, then the cost would go up and as such it may be likely that you wouldn’t have booked with us. That is our business model.

For information, we honoured your booking with us as we took the decision earlier this year to no longer taking bookings for any children under 5 years of age based on feedback of our other guests. In our family room, we will only accommodate children between 5 and 12 years old. This is becoming the norm in the area, often with some properties becoming adults only.

Perhaps this information will give you the insight into the difference between booking a Guest House as opposed to a Hotel or low-budget lodging option and will assist you in choosing more suited accommodation in the future.

Best regards
John Hannan
Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#39 of 87 in Torquay
176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Babbacombe Palms Guest House
0.1 mi away
Headland View
Headland View
#47 of 150 in Torquay
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
#46 of 150 in Torquay
145 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
#44 of 150 in Torquay
271 reviews
0.3 mi away
Babbacombe Hall
Babbacombe Hall
#67 of 150 in Torquay
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babbacombe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babbacombe Guest House

Property: Babbacombe Guest House
Address: 53 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 3SN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Babbacombe Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit England 4* SILVER AWARD with BREAKFAST AWARD Guest House ideally situated on the picturesque boundary of Babbacombe and St Marychurch. The spectacular views from Babbacombe Downs are just 300 yards away, St Marychurch's popular shopping precinct is just a 5 minutes walk away, and the main town centre of Torquay is just a few minutes drive away. Free off road parking and free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Babbacombe Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babbacombe Guest House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing