We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Babbacombe Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Babbacombe Guest House
Ranked #54 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

FAB-U-LOUS Pauline and Tony were the perfect hosts. The room and ensuite were spotless. The meals were excellant good sized portions beautifully cooked and served. There was such attention to detail with extras on the tea tray, pretty toiletries in the shower room and there was plenty of help and advice on finding your way round the area. Everything you could think of was done. It was the best guest house that we have ever stayed in here or overseas. We have no hestitation recomending your stay here it will make your holiday break. Thank you Tony and Pauline we look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kookachoo, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Thank you! Our aim is for all of our guests to feel this way, so we really do appreciate your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    29
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
111
24
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton le Sands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

I can only echo what others have said about Pauline and Tony - they are perfect hosts.

Cracking breakfasts with possibly the best poached eggs ever. The room was very clean (especially the en-suite which was spotlessly clean) and tastefully decorated with a very comfortable bed..

The guest house is well situated with the added advantage of having its own dedicated off road parking.

Babbacombe Guest House will definitely be our choice of accommodation when visiting family in the future.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kookachoo, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Thanks for leaving a review here Andrew, we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

The best Guest house that we have stayed in for many years, clean,fresh and hosts that were available but not hovering. Breakfast was worth getting out of a very comfortable bed for.The personal touch in the room was evident and very much appreciated. During our stay the temperature dropped quite significantly in the evening and the heating cut in to take the chill off the room without us asking. Thank you Pauline and Tony.

Room Tip: Most important was the onsite free parking. It is central in the village so a short walk to the shop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacko49er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kookachoo, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Thank you for the review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Portland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

What a delightful gem of a place to stay! Pauline and Tony are welcoming without being intrusive. they are friendly and charming, add to this a spotless room and divine cooking and I couldn't think of a better place to stay. Babbacombe has a lot to offer, with various attractions to suit all tastes, and 2 well sheltered coves in which to enjoy the sun, even in mid september. Vist this place and you will have no problems relaxing.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindascott4848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kookachoo, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful part of the country and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

Four dots because nothing is ever QUITE perfect and I couldn't find four & a half! Having said that this pad is extremely welcoming, Tony & Pauline treat you like old friends and provide a super breakfast and comradely last drink in the evening. The rooms are comfortable, well appointed and very clean. All in all a GOOD PLACE.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kookachoo, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Thank you for leaving a review, we certainly appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

I have now been to the Babbacombe Guest House twice this year and on each occasion have been greeted in the most warmest fashion possible. The rooms are as comfortable and clean as one would wish with the added tea/coffee facilities laid on to welcome you. The area is just perfect for the beaches and if you wish, shopping. After a hard day on the beach what more to welcome you than a restful evening enjoying a quiet drink in the bar before bed.

Breakfast in the morning is just perfection to get you under way to enjoy yourself in the most beautiful part of Torquay. Any problems and the hosts, Pauline and Tony are only too willing to help in any way they can to make your stay a happy experience.

I certainly will be returning.

Room Tip: Have an alarm clock, you may be late for breakfast. The beds are so comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kookachoo, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this review, September 18, 2011
Thanks for your very kind review. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

staying at the Babbacombe Guest House is like staying with friends, Tony and Pauline are so welcoming and friendly.The rooms are spotless and tastefully decorated and Paulines breakfasts are pretty good too. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Gerry & Eileen White. Swindon

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gerald w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kookachoo, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this review, September 11, 2011
Thanks for your lovely review - we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#43 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Babbacombe Palms Guest House
0.1 mi away
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
#39 of 153 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Headland View
Headland View
#45 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
#50 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aveland House
Aveland House
#71 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babbacombe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babbacombe Guest House

Property: Babbacombe Guest House
Address: 53 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 3SN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Babbacombe Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit England 4* SILVER AWARD with BREAKFAST AWARD Guest House ideally situated on the picturesque boundary of Babbacombe and St Marychurch. The spectacular views from Babbacombe Downs are just 300 yards away, St Marychurch's popular shopping precinct is just a 5 minutes walk away, and the main town centre of Torquay is just a few minutes drive away. Free off road parking and free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Babbacombe Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babbacombe Guest House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing