We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay and hosts Tony and Pauline made us really welcome.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Babbacombe Guest House
Ranked #66 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2011

The service provided is first class - very friendly people - we were looked after very well. Thank you for an excellent breakfast - we just pigged out. The room was also excellent and beautifully presented. It was easy to reach everywhere - can even leave the car behind. Good local restaurants - even found pub to watch footy final.

Room Tip: Can recommend twin room
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SilvertopBrookes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kookachoo, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to leave a your review, so pleased you enjoyed the breakfast - we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
There are newer reviews for Babbacombe Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 206 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2011

We couldn't have been better looked after during our stay. Nothing was too much for our hosts and yet they were not overbearing in any way. Would encourage friends to visit here with no qualms.
Raven & Linda

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RavenPortland_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kookachoo, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2011

Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to leave us this review. It is certainly a pleasure to have you as a regular guest and we look forward to your next visit. Until then, take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Have just stayed at the Babbacombe Guest House for a week and can say this is without doubt the best guest house I've ever stated in. The hosts, Pauline and Tony, are very friendly and helpful and the breakfasts set you up for the day! The rooms are clean, bright and airy and the rates are very reasonable.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kookachoo, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2011

Thank you for your kind review, we are pleased to have had you stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Absolutely nothing wrong with this place,well situated for everything on offer,especially the bus stops.A large safe car park adjoins the premises and the whole establishment is extremely clean and fresh.Tony and Pauline are the perfect hosts and cook a very good breakfast indeed.We found the room suited our needs very well and had the benefit of a lovely comfy bed.I can assure you ,that you wont regret booking this B&B.I would advise leaving the car parked up,and get yourselves a weekly ticket for unlimited bus travel,all around Devon.Don't just take my word for it,read all the other reviews,everybody who stays rate it highly.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mediterraneanmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

this guest house a must stop 4 star plus plus.
the owners (tony & pauline) made me very much at home.
the room was very clean and coffee machine topped up as needed
this guest is very close to restraunts, shopping, and the sea front.
the breakfast was plentiful and excellent full english.
this guest a sure 4 star all the way.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canadian95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

When we arrived at the guest house we were greeted with a warm & welcoming smile. The building itself was inviting as it was clean and well kept. The foyer was well stocked with tourist info leaflets etc showing that there was alot to do and see.
The room was clean and cosy with all you would need for a short break. Breakfast was preseneted well and was delicious on both mornings. Evening meals are available on request and judging by the breakfast we missed a treat.
All in all a most excellant stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johno07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

We stayed for two weeks in the Babbacombe Guest House and the owners, Pauline & Tony, made our stay a pleasure, nothing was too much trouble. We were collected at Torquay Station and driven to the Guest House by Tony. A kettle, coffee, tea, biscuits, milk and sugar were supplied. The Room was cleaned every day, towels and bed sheets were changed daily. Meals were very good and plentiful. If you wanted to know anything about the area Pauline went out her way to answer the query. At the end of our holiday Tony drove us back to the station. All-in-all a very relaxing holiday and we would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanthompson1755627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#37 of 87 in Torquay
190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Headland View
Headland View
#39 of 149 in Torquay
191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
#52 of 149 in Torquay
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Babbacombe Palms Guest House
0.3 mi away
Babbacombe Hall
Babbacombe Hall
#60 of 149 in Torquay
147 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Downs, Babbacombe
The Downs, Babbacombe
#34 of 149 in Torquay
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babbacombe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babbacombe Guest House

Address: 53 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 3SN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $82 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Babbacombe Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit England 4* SILVER AWARD with BREAKFAST AWARD Guest House ideally situated on the picturesque boundary of Babbacombe and St Marychurch. The spectacular views from Babbacombe Downs are just 300 yards away, St Marychurch's popular shopping precinct is just a 5 minutes walk away, and the main town centre of Torquay is just a few minutes drive away. Free off road parking and free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Babbacombe Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babbacombe Guest House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing