We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay and wont rush back”
Review of Ashley Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashley Court Hotel
Ranked #82 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a few times in the past. This time the food was not nice, too noisy at nights, body hair!!! found on the blankets and awful evening entertainment. Will pay out more next time I go to Torquay and will stay by the harbour

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (413)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 413 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

We travelled via coach , A long trip but the driver was brilliant with stops to stretch your legs and was very friendly and helpful . As for the hotel we were not impressed ,granted it was value for money ,food was ok and staff were busy all the time ,management debateable .
The room we had was very standard and dated 1940-50's furniture and a bit more care on the cleaning side would not go a miss especially round edges of furniture and most of all the headboard needs disposing off fast we covered it with a blanket and slept on top of the bed not in it .. we will not stay here again sorry . We think this would be a great choice for Gordon Ramsey or Alex polenixc to have a go at bringing more up to date or a good lick of paint to make look more cheerful .
Apart from that we had a really nice time in torquay and the ferry to brixham and the the trips our coach driver took us on two of the days and fireworks display and red arrows brilliant.

Room Tip: make sure you are aware of which hotel you are going to be staying in before you book because this w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bakergirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

I loved staying at this hotel, it was value for money, the food was superb and I had a wonderful night's sleep. I would recommend it as it's close to the town and the beach. I definitely had no complaints.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SueRegan73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on a coach trip.The hotel is very dated but the food was very good served by very obliging staff.My bed was uncomfortable as I could feel the bed springs through the mattress,this I solved by putting the quilt from the other bed in my room on to my mattress.Hotel handy for town via car park lift which brings you on to the high street.Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HoneyLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Trip was a bit long from MK. When we finally got to the hotel, dinner was waiting and was hot. For the next four days at the hotel, Breakfast had a good selection and hot. Dinner ordered at breakfast was available within 10 mins of sitting down for dinner again hot. Menu was basic but good quality. Room we had was clean and was tidied every day. Swimming pool was in use and heated (lovely little sun trap). Best part of trip was Entertainment. If you can get through the Bingo session there were four individual acts through the week with two being exceptional.
Only draw back was the management (not staff) was a bit officious.

Room Tip: No 40 is on its own overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aidenjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were on a 5day/4night coach trip with David Urquat. Our driver, Danny, was exceptionally knowledgeable and professional keeping us up to date with the itinerary. The coach was very comfortable and the trips were most enjoyable. The booking in was very efficient and the staff were friendly. Even though the hotel is in need of an update the bedding and towels were clean and changed frequently. The rooms were of an adequate size with an en-suite with a powerful shower. There was always a good supply of tea, coffee and milk in the rooms. The food was very good with several choices at each meal. The soups were very tasty. The table service in the restaurant was very efficient and our waitress ,Stacey, was always pleasant and nothing was too much trouble for her. Another very pleasant person was Poppit who worked behind the bar: she even lent my friend some cigarettes until he was able to nip down to the shops to buy some. The hotel entertainment was ok especially on the Wednesday night were we were kept thoroughly entertained by Chris. Although we did not use the pool it was used frequently by other guests. We are glad we waited to make up our own minds about the hotel and as the saying goes "You get what you pay for", You should not expect 4* for 2* payments. A good holiday was had by our group.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank reluctantrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions and everytime have not been disapointed .the staff in the dinning room are a great bunch always polite and however full the dinning room is always excellent service.yes i agree the hotel does need a update on decor. I always have a good welcome and have never felt the owners are rude to myself or to othed guests . Food is superb here .the bedrooms are clean and always well stocked on tea and coffee suplies.All in all a good value for money hotel

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vivrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Burlington
Hotel Burlington
#83 of 85 in Torquay
372 reviews
1 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#85 of 85 in Torquay
1,305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#76 of 85 in Torquay
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Anchorage Hotel
Anchorage Hotel
#63 of 85 in Torquay
410 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#55 of 85 in Torquay
978 reviews
0.7 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#48 of 85 in Torquay
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashley Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashley Court Hotel

Address: Abbey Road, Torquay TQ2 5NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range: $57 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ashley Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ashley Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashley Court Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing