We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money”
Review of Ashley Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashley Court Hotel
Ranked #80 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
rhondda.s/wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This was my second time at the Ashley Court yes it does need updating but spotless clean and the food is excellent more than enough to eat with a good selection for breakfast and evening meal.Very good value for money.Steve and his mum were helpfull and always available to help .Waitress service was very good and they were always pleasent. Housekeeping ladies were lovely also very helpfull. For the money you pay to stay at the hotel is excellent value and will returning in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vivrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    112
    71
    55
    73
See reviews for
57
141
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

I went to this hotel in October 2011 with my mother for a 2 day stay. Well, for a start, 2 day stay is pushing it as they wanted us to be out at some ridiculous time like 9am when the coach wasn't leaving untill 11, breakfast was 8-9 so me and my mum missed it, we checked out at 9 as requested, really tired and freezing cold as the heating in the place didn't seem to be on. They were not serving food so we had to go down to McDonalds to have breakfast. The beds were ok, but the blanket on them was just basically a sheet, and as the heating knocked off at about 11, we were pretty cold all night. The dinner was okay, my "chicken sunday dinner" was a chicken breast (a bit pink) served on noodles that hadn't been drained, which i thought was pretty much ridiculous as i was expecting yorkshires, potatoes etc, i asked for a proper one and she brought me 2 potatoes and a yorkshire, but the young girl apologised profusely and said it wasnt up to her there wasnt enough food left. the young girls serving dinner were really lovely, you could tell they were just trying to do their best. also, every time you go out of the hotel for a ciggie, a walk etc you have to ring the doorbell to come back in if you dont have a key, and as they took our keys off us at 9am, me and my mother had to wait about 4 or 5 minutes to come back in to the hotel after a ciggie, not something you want to do in october. The upside is that the rooms were very clean, plently of hot water, a kettle, only 4 teabags and 4 cartons of milk but that was fine for a 2 day stay, very nice area loads to do, DEFINITELY check out the irish pub on the high street, think its called o'callahans or something, and the medeival pub serves really amazing lunches and has a cool decor. Staff much better than the quality of the hotel. I would stay there again though although i would bring a quilt haha

Room Tip: Try and choose a room on the bottom or 1st floor if you can if you dont feel like walking up 100 sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Feliz1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

I recently had a weekend at this Hotel. Much to my surprise, the food was excellent & well presented. We had a wide choice to choose from, and there was something for everyone. The portions were generouse and good standard. Talk about value for money, it was amazing.
The staff were friendly & helpful.
The accommodation is basic, but clean & comfy.
I would go back, & think it is worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,297 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4,253 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Stayed here recently for just one night - the place is nothing other than average. rates were fairly cheap, the bar wasn't too expensive, but the place is a bit jaded and in need of a bit of new decoration. The beds were fine and the rooms clean. Nothing spectacular but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank chammp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickmansworth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We went for a four night stay at Ashley Court with Opal from 23rd April to the 27th,18 from a club in Cambridge and 22 of us from the British Legion Rickmansworth our driver was Jim a smashing man. when we arrived at Ashley we were greeted on the bus and told not to worry about our cases as there was two young boys who would take our cases to the rooms just go to reception to get our keys and that was done very quick in a friendly way. our room was very comfortable with everything we could need even spare blankets in the wardrobe which we did not need as our room was so warm when we were in i kept the window open, i did hear two complaints on our coach both from the people from Cambridge one their room was two small and the other that the room was cold. The food was great breakfast a good variety so every one should find some thing they liked, the girls serving us were nice cheerful and asked people if they wanted extra tea and toast, dinner was a four course meal again with about five choices to choose from, all cooked to perfection so well done chef. We found all staff to be very cheerful and helpful and that includes the management who we found to be great, in the bar they had draught smooth bitter and lager plus cider they did not have draught guinness which i understand why as i used to be in the pub trade as if you do not have the sales for it it does not keep so it will cost you money to have it on. the entertainment was good the two nights we were in the bar, and the prices were cheaper than some of the bars outside, the only petty thing i would suggest was a small bin in the bar where people could put empty crisp or cigarette packets, even though it rained every day we had a great time thank you one and all at Ashley Court, Glennis

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank glennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

Management need to go on a course and learn how to look after their guests. I took 60 people and we had a vote 100% food great. not bad entertaiment. management crap.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank keithmandypeggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Torquay hotels

cov
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

2 star hotel with 5 star food. all meals excellent, good menu choice. waitress service also very good. dirty plates soon cleared and next course served promptly with a smile. rooms basic but lovely and clean...cleaner was very friendly and helpful... nightly entertainment in the bar and all acts were enjoyable. only critisism for me was the bar...very poor selection of alcohol beverages. no draft guiness and only lager on tap was stella no 4...bar staff were either miserable or very snappy and rude to guest. quite a few people were upset by attitude of one barmaid who tended to talk down to people and repeatedly asked for "the magic word ".....i wanted to say abracadabra but refrained as she didnt seem to posess any humour....this holiday was done with a coach firm and was very cheap so can only say it was excellent value for money and if i saw hotel advertised with firm at same price would definatley return

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noodles59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Rainbow International Hotel
1.0 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#88 of 88 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abbey Court Hotel
Abbey Court Hotel
#71 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Burlington
Hotel Burlington
#86 of 88 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marquis Hotel
Marquis Hotel
#39 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#52 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashley Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashley Court Hotel

Property: Ashley Court Hotel
Address: Abbey Road, Torquay TQ2 5NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ashley Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ashley Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashley Court Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing