We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you want five star luxury pay five star prices”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rainbow International Hotel
Ranked #51 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“If you want five star luxury pay five star prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

We have just returned from a six day break at the rainbow hotel. When the coach pulled up I have to say the windows and paintwork outside were filthy . When we went inside however the reception area had been refurbished and was clean and checkin was very quick. The room we were in was clean as was the bed linen and towels. The room was very dated also the bathroom and could do with updating. The food both breakfast and evening meal were very good ,hot and plenty of choice. Basically we got what we were expecting, This accomodation is cheap, we have stayed in far superior hotels on numerous occasions but have paid far higher prices to do so. At the end of the day you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shafton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    308
    193
    102
    131
See reviews for
147
378
46
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

Just got back from a weekend at the Rainbow hotel and would like to add my review, we arrived aprox 2.00 pm and were told rooms are not ready untill 2.30. then had to join back of queue as a coach party checked in, our room was a marathon walk along many passages and down many flights of stairs which we had to climb ever time we left our room, Room was large enough but paper peeling off the walls, bed was very uncomfortable, struggled to sleep. Evening meal was ok roast meat and veg or oriental or salads, coffe had to be paid for even though it was out of a machine, after the meal it was on to the rainbow club which is part of the complex, Drink prices are sky high you would be better off in the pub across the road, Had to wait nearly two hours for bingo to start, then the bingo caller sang for a bit, her microphone kept cutting out, Bar shut at 11pm maybe just as well.
Breakfast was best meal you helped yourself only fault was they could have had more varity with the eggs there was only fried.
All in all you get what you pay for i supose.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gerry60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Torquay hotels

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

my heart dropped when we pulled up. from the exterior to the interior the place is a dump. it smelt & is dirty & grubby inside & out. the reception area is grotty & after we were given our room key (what hotel has room keys nowadays??) & told where our room was via a very dirty lift down to the basement!! the room was awful, very shabby. the shower was a plastic hose connected to the taps in the bath. there was no way we were going to stay there. in the end we left & booked into the barcelo imperial hotel in torquay, which we could not fault.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank ThatsMeMrsB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

Stayed here for the weekend and not bad value really.
The rooms could do with some updating and modernising though. Our room initially at the back of the hotel had old sash windows that had a huge layer of dust and black mold that was extremely noticeable and smelly. I requested a change of room and found the next room to be the same. The third room was certainly cleaner, however it was a mile away, up and down stairs and would have been totaly unsuitable for the disabled. There was no shower and the toilet seat was broken. I requested a shower attachment which was not available and eventually had to ask for a large plastic jug. (Washing my hair with a small tooth mug would have taken some time)
The toilets need to be relocated and modernised. There are no toilets on the same floor as the restaurant. They are at the end of a long corridor and then down some very steep stairs. There was a chair lift which was out of order and therefore totally unsuitable for the disabled and elderly and if you need the loo in a hurry, they are much too far away to get to without fear of tripping down all those stairs.
All the food is served on a buffet so you can help yourself and the food wasn't that bad considering - it was nothing special but at least it was edible. The only thing that I would have a complaint about was the massive queues. As soon as the restaurant opened for dinner, coach loads of people appeared all at once and it took a week to even reach the food.
One thing I would like to mention is the English hotel receptionist who was extremely apologetic and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank breadwinnerDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2011

Just returned from four days at Rainbow International Hotel Torquay and though there are some considerations for improvement there was nothing that detracted from a very enjoyable stay.
On arrival our driver asked us to stay on the coach while he let the staff know we had arrived. After returning to let us know they were ready for us and that we did not need to take our cases to book in, we had a run on rails reception, total professional, greeting, keys and direction to room. We got to our room and soon afterwards so did our luggage. The room had all we needed for en suite and self made beverage if needed.
So settled and now to dine, back down stairs to a roomy and well laid out Dining Room. The waiting staff were helpful, though it was self service, the choice of meals were always good with about three meats, associated fresh vegetables and an oriental choice. I am not vegetarian so did not know if this was available. Following the main meal there was a good choice of desert and just like the main meal the layout was clean and there was no mixing of product in serving dishes, so refreshing after some examples from abroad. Though my wife and myself popped out to explore our surrounding, the next hotel discovery was the entertainment. Though somewhat basic, we were entertained by Trisha for the first evening and she made us all welcome and special throughout the Bingo and her entertainment night. What a great finish to a great first evening.
There were some, wish it was better, considerations as I mentioned. There is only one lift to serve six floors, this can be annoying if you are waiting for it to accommodate guests going to meals at similar times, though it is offset by the reception and facilities floor, Ground, being at level three so only having a max of three floors to negotiate. The hotel itself could benefit from explaining this rather than the guests discovering it at various stages. Weird but some of our party only noticed that the lift went down if you selected TWO or ONE on the fourth night. Being a non smoker it is annoying that the Hotel does not enforce a no smoking policy at the main entrance, where smokers commonly gathered, meaning non smokers have to pass through their fug. The building could possibly benefit from a décor refresh but having encountered various health and safety nightmares abroad, the hotel was at least safe and clean and sincerely helpful in supporting it’s clientele.
Break standard followed the same status as the evening meal and set you up with a positive start to your day, the choice was close if not better than exceptional, with some of the best bacon I have seen and enjoyed, ever.
The rooms were tidied every day and the bed linen was always of a clean nature. The entertainment was not the same on Wednesday and was a little impersonal as it consisted of a disco, this said the venue for the disco was the best of the entertainment provided. Staff support was nothing less than expected throughout the stay and as with arrival departure also provided for bags being picked up from your room and loaded to your transport.
Obviously this was an out of season visit but I would not discourage anyone from visiting this hotel and I think the same would be said by any of our party. For February, I have been to places that rely on their weather for heating and therefore skimp on providing heat in colder seasons, this hotel ensured we were comfortable in all respects including heated water and room heating
Everything provided a brilliant experience for an away trip and some of the wish it was different even provided its own level of entertainment.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhoscwmryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bath
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2011

we stayed this weekend of 28th jan for 2 nights we read all reviews and decided to ignore bad comments it is true it could do with doing up but we paid 20.00 each per night b anb and 3 course evening meal the food was excellent and plenty of it.
pity they had no entertainment as i am sure people would have stayed and they would make money on bar but not a problem as pub across road had some on all in all very good stay will go back again.
only bad point reception staff could do with some some customer service training

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jezzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clacton on sea
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

My Wife and myself and two friends stayed at the Rainbow International in Torquay on the 22nd December until the 30th December, from the moment we arrived we were greeted warmly by the reception staff and without undue fuss were booked in, our car was down the other end of the car park but we were told a porter would walk back with us to get our cases, but he wasn’t needed as I managed to get outside the front door. Dinner was at 6pm and we went down just after, the food was well cooked and well presented help yourself to as much as you want roast meats that melted in your mouth several choices and various vegetables lots of puddings and cheese and biscuits and this happened everyday during our stay, with fish dishes rice and Tai food, meat pie Roast pots, boiled new pots, peas, carrots,brussels, parsnips,green beans.
The room on the 4th floor was adequate with TV, coffee and tea making facilities although at first it was cold but it was minus 6 degrees outside we soon put another blanket on the bed. The room looked like it had been refurbished with quite new bathroom furniture and nice white fluffy towels, but missing in the bathroom was a shelf to stand your nick nacks on also there was not a hook to hang a bathrobe on and no stool.
We found the hotel quiet and could not hear other people in other rooms and the place was full. The entertainment was basic with bingo and a quiz which is not to every ones likes. Presents were given to all the children by Father Christmas.
Our room was cleaned every day by a very pleasant lady.
The only bar open was hard to find as it was downstairs in the main lounge and when you looked in two other bars were shut but the drinks prices were not dear by hotel standards. Taken all round we enjoyed our stay there and would go again

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sleepyClactonOnSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#89 of 89 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marquis Hotel
Marquis Hotel
#39 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#54 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ashley Court Hotel
Ashley Court Hotel
#80 of 89 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seascape Hotel
Seascape Hotel
#43 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bancourt Hotel
Bancourt Hotel
#85 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow International Hotel

Property: Rainbow International Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rainbow International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rainbow International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow International Torquay
Hotel Rainbow International
Rainbow International Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing