We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value for money & wonderful friendly staff”
Review of Riviera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riviera Hotel
Ranked #55 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed November 25, 2010

After reading the reviews we were a bit concerned about what to expect from our visit to this hotel in Torquay,to the degree that we were thinking of cancelling our booking.
We'd just like to say that we were so glad we didn't.We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Rainbow.
The staff were so friendly and helpful,the service was excellent and the food was fantastic,the entertainment was good and our whole time there was superb value for money.
We'd just like to thank everyone at the hotel for making it a great week for us and our friends.We were there for the tinsel and turkey and wouldn't hesitate to book up to go again.I can't think for the life of me think what people expect for their money,we couldn't fault it for what looking for,a fun break away for a few days with friends.many thanks.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gordy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (979)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

898 - 904 of 979 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2010

Our friends who visit the Rainbow Hotel 4 times a year suggested to us that we should take a break, and visit the Hotel. We where pleasantly surprise, a clean and comfortable room, a good breakfast and dinner every day for only £89 for 4 nights. How do they do it? Also a good fun entertaiment show every night. Well done to all staff, we will be back.
P. J. Buckingham
Pevensy Bay
East Sussex

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamJB12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2010

we would like to say that we had a very happy and relaxed break the staff was very helpful and friendly and the food was ample and well cooked with one of us being a vegetarian there was plenty to eat we will go back again. a thank you to all the staff

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter_dollery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2010

I have stayed in many "budget hotels" but this is just the wrost ever. Our room was absolutely filthy and all the furniture within needed replacing, there were hairs in the bath,found other peoples rubbish in our draws, did not have any coffee or tea in the rooms I think the hotel does not have a housekeeper. From the minute i checked in I could tell the reception staff did not want to be there. When I brought these points up to a small lady wearing a scruffy suit I believe the reception manager she was nothing but useless. When I asked about a manager I was told the manager never worked a weekend, which I find ludicrous. Although i'm surprised the place had a manager considering how useless the majority of the staff where.
After our problems we went to the bar where we were just snared out by a girl who was sat down in the guest area when we came in and we actually had to ask her if she was serving before she pulled herself off her phone and served us,again terrible customer service.
The only good staff we came in to contact was the restaurant we got a very nice warm welcome from the Restaurant Manager who was dressed smartly and had something about him who showed us over to our table, and could not do enough for us for during our meal even got us tea for our room from overhearing our moans and organised the other staff very well we never had to wait for our plates to be cleared . I feel he was too good to work in the hotel in honesty. The food was ok but nothing inspiring.
after this we went back to the bar where we met the scruffy bar manager who also obviously did not want to be there when we told him about the staff on the phone he just shugged his shoulders maybe the restaurant manager should run the bar infact the whole hotel as well as this guy was shocking.
I could go on but I can't be bothered. Shocking do not stay here

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DannyJonesHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2010

The restaurant looked like it has been just decorated. The staff were friendly. The food was top class. the hotel was clean and tidy.Location was very good. We also found the swimming pool in good condition and clean. How people can complain about this place beats me. if they want 4 or five star they will pay a lot more.
The only thing we found wrong was some of the bedrooms were dated but in all this hotel was excellent value for what we paid for.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

Not the most up to date hotel we have ever stayed in but if friendliness can be measured at the rainbow it would be over flowing. We have just arrived back from a short break and we are so glad we stayed there. The food was brilliant , loads to choose from and as much as you like. Value for money definately. The room was clean and comfortable and staff were very helpful .We are definately going back.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tangiethompson48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

Booked 4 nights in hotel, thought I made a mistake after reading reviews, Yes hotel a bit tired but was clean, Comfortable bed, Ample "tasty" food good position. Staff good food hall staff efficient, entertainment ok, the older patrons enjoyed it. Good value for money and yes I would return. All I can say is don't beleive all the bad reviews.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mpk52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 85 in Torquay
666 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#36 of 85 in Torquay
198 reviews
1.2 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#85 of 85 in Torquay
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#57 of 85 in Torquay
903 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
0.1 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 85 in Torquay
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HJ, England (Formerly Rainbow International Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range: $70 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow International Torquay
Hotel Rainbow International
Riviera Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing