We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Below average for most peoples' standards” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rainbow International Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rainbow International Hotel
Ranked #50 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
pontypool
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Below average for most peoples' standards”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2009

Turkey & Tinsel weekend coach trip,the hotel had made an effort with "Xmas Decorations" really welcoming on arrival,however the room wasn't as pleasing!!!
Being non-smokers we were horrified by the overwhelming stench of stale tobacco smoke!!! We had to leave the windows open all the time to try and clear the air,which mean't we were cold, also no iron/trouser press as stated,the net curtains were grubby and torn a crack in wash-hand basin,and stains on walls/carpet.
FOOD-: Really pleased with food,lovely roast meat options,plenty of veg,& vegetarian options,breakfast was impressive also.
ENTERTAINMENT- : Bingo on all nights,great if you like it,Cabaret acts were average and bar closes @ 11.00,we were ushered out of Cabaret room,and told to finish off our night in another room to finish off our sing -along !!!
STAFF-: Were pleasant,but didn't participate in any sort of chat!!!
Probably would not recommend this hotel

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank turkey_pontypool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    299
    189
    101
    127
See reviews for
140
374
45
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2009

Our room was on the fourth floor, but near the lift. This meant it was a little noisy, but room was clean and decor was adequate. It had a new digital TV and the room was sufficiently warm.

The food was served in the carvery which meant having to get up and help yourself, but this meant you could have as much as you needed and the quality was good, although choice may have been a little limited.

The staff were helpful when asked, but didn't put themselves out to be friendly.

I understand from other guests that some rooms were not up to standard and that further work needs to be done to an old building, but I have stayed in worse!

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steamingbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Drayton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2009

Stayed here with my husband and my parents last week in Oct Thur, Fri and Sat. The radiators were on but didn't work and with elderly parents they need heat in the room. Our room the mattress springs were poking up, the toilet holders were broken and the bath area needed new sealant. The room needed new decor and furniture. Someone above us was getting up very early we knew this as the floorboards were creaking and woke us up every morning we were there, was a leak coming through the ceiling the first night. The breakfast was OK but the hot food was always the same no variety i.e fried eggs every morning no change to poached, scrambled etc. The evening meal was not good, either pork, turkey or chicken same roast/boiled potatoes, rice, veg again no variety on the hot food how about jacket potato, pasta dishes, steak, beef, fish for a change! So boring. The advert said entertainment every night the pub across the road said they say that to get people staying there. First night entertainment was three "cabaret" dancers mmm same dancing for the duration, next night there was no entertainment and our last night there was a guy playing the electric organ and telling a few jokes. Not what I would call class entertainment. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TitchWestDrayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Torquay hotels

Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2009

Receptionist did not know what kind of entertainment was on for the weekend. Plenty of christmas decorations, but with turkey, xmas pud and the salvation army helping you to sing carols, that was it. The rooms are old ie old bedding, faded carpets and old furniture.But what you have to remember is what you are paying for this. I have been to shearings hotels very recently, and their rooms are better, but they are so stuck on portion control that some people will need to have a good cooked meal at lunch time. At the Rainbow you will not starve, though the food was abit cold. Drinks are not a bad price, so go with an open mind and only use your room for a kip and shower.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen17Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teeside
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2009

This is a 140 room hotel and we were one of five 'pensioner' type coaches staying there that week. The hotel is made up of two victorian buildings. There is only one lift in one of the buildings thus my partner and I spent a large amount of our time helping older guests up and down stairs. The first room we were offered smelt of mushrooms and the paper was hanging off the walls in several places. We asked for another room which was only marginally better - loose wall-paper, broken electrical fittings with bare wires showing. The no-smoking policy is not enforced and tobacco smoke could be smelled on most landings. This is not a hotel for older people and I was so disturbed by the thought of a fire - I estimated that most guests would NOT get out - I informed the local Fire Service, who are investigating. The so-called entertainment was below average. The only redeeming feature was the food which was well above average

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank delterTeeside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2009

We stay at the rainbow from 26th oct till 30th oct with national holidays, We got a super deal so couldnt request a family room, our son and daughter was in one room and we where in another, i think we both got family rooms because we had double single and bunkbeds in 1 room and double and 2 singles in other, the roomes where very spacious and the maids came in every day and cleaned the rooms and made the beds, if you leave the towels on floor they change them, we had problem withone of the rooms when we 1st got in, which was the radiator was faulty and wouldnt turn off, someone came and said it would be sorted in morning, the kids stayed in our room that night but the rest of the stay they stayed in their room as the problem was fixed. Right on to the food, the food is a carvery type, we had a vegetarian which was sort of catered for, but if they wasnt anything you liked they tried they best to give you something you did like, my only quarrel with the evening meal is that they should have more options on the menu board, the breakfasts was good, good varaity, the service was 1st class in my opinion, if you had a problem the staff would sort if they could. everybody has their own opinion, on reading some of these i was a little worried but kept them quiet from the mrs as she would only worry, and to be honest evrything was very good. the trips we went on with national to dartmouth and to plymouth was good, and we also got an extra one to the theatre. so oyr short break was very good.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rascalsm8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, England
Level Contributor
170 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2009

Some friends booked this apparently 3 star hotel in Torquay for a weekend break. The actual hotel building can be described as , crumbling Victorian. The rooms had that dirty feel and the decor was tatty. The worst thing was the DIY - a shower rail held up by some bare wood srewed into the wall, a bath panel attached with tape, loose tiles on the bathroom floor. Be warned and give this place a wide berth!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MacKilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#89 of 89 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#58 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marquis Hotel
Marquis Hotel
#39 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,523 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seascape Hotel
Seascape Hotel
#41 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow International Hotel

Property: Rainbow International Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rainbow International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, LateRooms, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Rainbow International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow International Torquay
Hotel Rainbow International
Rainbow International Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing