We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”
Review of Riviera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riviera Hotel
Ranked #58 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“great hotel”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

stayed at this hotel mon -friday this was the best hotel i have stayed in the staff could not do enough for you very helpful the meals were great and a good selection always the room i was in 227 was always cleaned to perfection the nightly entertainment was great will certainly be back soon and would certainly recommend it to friends well done to all staff you are a credit to the hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    322
    199
    109
    138
See reviews for
153
403
46
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed here as part of a deal to see the 60's night at the Theatre. The food was good, plenty of choice and good value for the price we paid. Would prefer a cup and saucer and tea pot rather than tea from a machine though. The rooms are in need of an update. I wouldn't pay the full price to stay here. The staff, especially in the dining room, were efficient and very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed for two nights half board for about the same price as most B&Bs. It was all you can eat evening meal and breakfast. The food was pretty good quality for buffet style. Rooms were a good standard for the price. The cabaret was good, it had an indoor swimming pool, on-site parking and the staff were friendly. I would recommend for someone loking for a cheap weekend away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisShields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Just got back from a two night stay at this hotel. Not really a lot to say about it but for the price it was very good value. The room was extremely clean and comfortable. Noise from other rooms was a bit of an issue but applies to a lot of hotels.

Decor is a little dated but seen far worse, some of the corridors were being painted as I was staying and I could clearly see a lot of work has been done on the hotel since my last stay two years ago.

The location is great, inbetween the train station and town centre and just 5 minute walk to the beach. Staff were very friendly although I had no reason to speak to many of them apart from to check in and out.

I would stay here again if I was to visit the area again but having been three times in four years I am a little bored of Torquay now.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mancjd82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed on 25 to 27 of april the food was ok
Not much choice and no kids menu.rooms clean and simple.only stayed here because the derwent was fully booked and thats where we normally like to stay.all i can say it was ok

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leannemyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Torquay hotels

Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Brillant hotel absolutly loved it. Brillant indoor pool, great entertainment at night lovley staff workers, love the resturant food was lovley and very tasty. Our hotel room was quite cold but we didnt complain due to us not freezing but was a lovley hotel room very very nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed for one night on a coach trip. After reading the reviews on here and realising there could be a lot of stairs involved, I rang the hotel and we were promised a room accessible by lift. We had a lovely room overlooking the tennis club next door. Very quiet and peaceful during the night and waking to hear nothing but birdsong was a real treat. The food is great - I'm diabetic and normally find one menu option I can eat but here it was fantastic to have a carvery and a wide choice. Good quality food, well-cooked. The buffet breakfast was just as good. The staff were all very helpful and pleasant. My only regret is that I didn't pack my swimsuit so couldn't use the pool. A very pleasant stay in a warm and friendly hotel. We're undecided about Torquay, but if we ever go back we'll happily return to the Rainbow International.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#86 of 87 in Torquay
1,234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#57 of 87 in Torquay
806 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ashley Court Hotel
Ashley Court Hotel
#83 of 87 in Torquay
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
630 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#34 of 87 in Torquay
2,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel

Property: Riviera Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HJ, England (Formerly Rainbow International Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow International Torquay
Hotel Rainbow International
Riviera Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing