We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame about the bedrooms”
Review of Riviera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riviera Hotel
Ranked #55 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Shame about the bedrooms”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I was also on a Newmarket Holiday from 7th to 10th June. The public areas of the hotel are bright and fresh, but the bedrooms are now very "tired" and really need refurbishing. However, they are clean, and threr is plenty of hot water in the shower. The buffet style breakfast and dinner offered a good choice of food, which was fresh and hot. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful, and responded well to requests. Good position near to the sea front

Room Tip: Ask for one not overlooking the road, which could be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    320
    197
    108
    137
See reviews for
153
397
46
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Booked a long weekend in June through Newmarket holidays.We visited The Eden project and Gardens of heligan.The hotel is rated as a 3 star. This was only justified by the food which was ok. The hotel staff very polite and the locaton good for walking into the town. Unfortunately the hotel needs a refurbishment big style inside and out. The lower levels smelt musty and damp. Our room was at the top of the hotel and had a hand held shower head where we had to stand in the bath The hairdryer had a PAC test sticker showing last tested in 2009.Towels and bedding needed replacing. Room was not serviced unless you asked although there was tea and coffee. Bedding and towels old and needed replacing. If you love the 1960's this is the hotel for you !!!

Room Tip: We requested a quiet high room. This was at the top of the hotel at the back with a nice view . bewa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Torquay hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was our second visit to this hotel, and we found it to be better than the first due to the quality of the room we were in. The bathroom had been updated and the bed was far better this time around. The food is first class and always hot, well done chef! The staff were friendly and very helpful. Special mention to Craig in reception, we wanted to book a break for 27th dec and ended upgrading to one of the superior rooms after a tour with him, he was very helpful and it scored me some brownie points with the wife.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spw60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Quick note to say a (belated) thank you for looking after us in April. Considering we were a group of nearly 40 you managed to look after us really well and everyone enjoyed the stay.

We all had an amazing time and it was a perfect place to start and finish our days and nights in Torquay.

I would not hesitate to recommend your hotel and staff.

Room Tip: Ask the hotel staff and they will accomodate you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

That people mostly read the bad reviews so I had to think hard about an appropriate Title! Just got back after what was originally only going to be 3 nights which turned into five and finally nine! - The reason is simple - we found it so hard to leave! My eldest boy summed it all up when asked at breakfast this morning when he would like to come back. The answer he gave was simply, "Tomorrow"! Right from the start the staff bent over backwards to ensure that we would have a most memorable holiday and they excelled in every way. With two lively boys (5 and 2) we really appreciated all their help with our little family. Everyone was not just helpful though, they were all genuinely friendly and it made all the difference. Of course the rooms were not 4 or 5 star but I have stayed in such hotels over the years that pretend to be so and there is nearly always something that makes me not want to return. Not so with the Rainbow!

The room was well laid out, large enough for two double beds and a bunk bed with room to spare. It was very clean & tidy with the usual additions, all of which were in working order and it even had a good sea-view! We opted for evening meals which consisted of a mainstay (all you can eat) style carvery with daily specials for variety and had our fill accordingly. The food was fantastic and all to our liking and if the children wanted something more "average" then they did their utmost to appeal to them and they never forgot their tubs of ice-cream! Breakfast was everything you could wish for except (and nothing should be perfect anyway) that mushrooms were the only omission from the total array of choices available.

Let us not forget the entertainment! Albeit aimed at the older set it was most nights also very good for the children. They were so disappointed that Wednesday night was the night for adults only! Real wholesome family entertainment - for free!

We were on a pretty tight budget considering we extended our stay to the max. and it would never have been achieved if the cost of doing so hadn't turned out to be such good value. When you consider that we would have paid nearly double eslewhere it was a no-brainer! It left us feeling that we should have paid more and that is definitely a first for us. Will we be coming back - I don't think our children will let us go anywhere else. We left feeling a part of it and cannot extol their virtues more. You would have to have a very good reason not to stay!

For those that want some negative points to give this review some balance then please note the following points:

Fixed shower head (in our room at least) and lack of water pressure as on top floor but hot water available 24/7. Water for the area is also very soft.
Dining room quite hot due to carvery lights.
Our room had dated decor but other newer rooms are available
Room a bit noisy as next to main road
Meal times are short.

Plus points not previously mentioned:

Good quality linen, lovely firm pillows with protectors (first hotel in uk where we have all liked the pillows)!
Comfortable beds.
All staff responses to any requests dealt with immediately.
Good quality and plentiful towels.
Excellent position between town, seafront. and most attractions

Room Tip: Just ask the staff!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank P C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed here because of a band playing in the club next door. Being open minded for £30pp what more should i expect. Well NOT..... old peoples meal times, broken bathroom, dated room, noisy room, dried up breakfast, stained filthy mugs, no acknowledgement whilst leaving. Never to return!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kernowlobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We have just returned from Torquay Rainbow International we had a great break hotel and meals were excellent couldn't fault anything we will be returning later in year but for 7 days instead of 4nights

Room Tip: we stayed in room 502 at back of hotel the room was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#87 of 87 in Torquay
1,207 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marquis Hotel
Marquis Hotel
#38 of 87 in Torquay
353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ashley Court Hotel
Ashley Court Hotel
#82 of 87 in Torquay
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#57 of 87 in Torquay
778 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
620 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#39 of 87 in Torquay
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel

Property: Riviera Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HJ, England (Formerly Rainbow International Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow International Torquay
Hotel Rainbow International
Riviera Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing