We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Bad Place”
Review of Riviera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riviera Hotel
Ranked #55 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
england
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not a Bad Place”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Booked the hotel before reading the Trip Advisor reviews so was worried that I had made a bad choice after reading the reviews and before arriving at the hotel. I was led to believe from the reviews that the hotel was dirty, noisy and unfit to stay in. So in actual fact, it was a pleasant surprise to get here, although the outside looked a bit dilapidated, once inside we were met with very helpful staff and rooms slightly odd in shape and layout but this is preferable to a square box you get in some hotels. The room was clean, loads of storage space for longer stayers, a nice big bathroom, unfortunately without shower but we made do, and OK decor. OK, there were a couple of things unusual, the room was down a rabbit warren of corridors and staircases, not much good for my 88 year old mother, but I hadn't checked as the hotel was mostly full otherwise I would have requested a room nearer to reception. But on the whole, fine for a short stay. Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenwaterhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger H, Operations Director at Riviera Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear karenwaterhouse

Many thanks for your comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and decided to come to us after reading reviews on Trip Advisor. The hotel is very large and are Victorian buildings, hence the long corridors and stairs, however we always try to accommodate any requests for rooms near reception etc. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.

Kind Regards, Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    320
    197
    108
    137
See reviews for
153
397
46
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Went here with Travelstyle for 6 nights, we did not have a driver once at the hotel as he went home. Bedroom was adequate, could do with replacing net curtain as someone had made a hole in so they could open the window!!!! There is a lounge near the reception to sit in and another quiet room if you wish to read. The food was spot on, buffet breakfast with plenty of cereal to chose from and scrambled egg if you asked for it. The evening buffet alsways had a roast, 2 more choices, a vegatarian choice and salad with cold turkey, beef, pork or chicken. There are plenty of sweets to choose from and also cheese & biscuits. The kitchen staff and matredes are friendly, welcoming and helpful. Didn't go in to the entertainment so cannot comment. The pool is small but very warm. Was good value for money. Would defanatly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank home40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger H, Operations Director at Riviera Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear home40

Thank you for your comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and found the staff and food to be spot on. I look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards, Rogers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed for five days with National Holidays.Unlike some people couldnt find anything to grumble about.Room clean and comfortableStaff all very helpfull and friendly.Food excellant always hot plenty to chose from.Didnt go into entertainment but nice to sit in library and have a few drinks.Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EnglandFrances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger H, Operations Director at Riviera Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear EnglandFrances

Many thanks for your comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay here with us and had a great holiday. We would love to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards, Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed at the Rainbow International for four nights/five days last week on a National Holidays trip.

Our room had a double and a single bed, and was adequate, even though an update would be nice, as it was a little old-fashioned.

The food was excellent - breakfast and dinner - hot and tasty with plenty of choice. All the staff we met, were friendly and helpful. The entertainment was very good with bingo each evening and a singer following. The lady on the Tuesday evening (Jillie) was brilliant, she got everyone involved and was very funny as well as a good singer and keyboard player.

Would definitely stay there again, as it represented excellent value for money.

Room Tip: We had room 129 which was very quiet and looked over some grassy areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger H, Operations Director at Riviera Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear jamoss

Thank you for your comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and found the staff, entertainment and food to be very good. We would love to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards, Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashwell
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Dirty carpets, cleaning staff who hadn't discovered hoover tools - there was an inch-wide grey margin to the edge of the carpet in my room where it hadn't been hoovered. A discarded hairclip sat in it for the two days of my stay. In the dining room staff actually started hoovering whilst we were dining! Curt staff in restaurant. Supposed buffet choices not all available 2 nights in a row. When orders came out of the kitchen they were given to other people further down queue who had ordered later, people at the top of the queue who had ordered first were told that option was then no longer available. We hadn't even finished our starters and the main course was being removed from the buffet. One sachet shower/body gel for a two night stay that wasn't even sufficient for one hairwash! Dirty iron in room that marked clothes. No public quiet areas. Will be informing the travel company about the poor choice they made.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshwellMazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger H, Operations Director at Riviera Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear AshwellMazza

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Had you informed reception before check out regarding your room we would have immediately put it right for you, I am sorry we didn't get the chance to do this for you.

Kind Regards, Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Torquay hotels

Davao City, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Just got back from a 99 pounds supadeal coach holiday to the Rainbow.The whole package represented exceptional value for money but National do like to push the optional extras so be warned. The hotel itself represented exceptional value for money, buffet breakfast and carvery style dinner with good choice, Staff really friendly and helpful. Rooms clean, could do with a bit of a facelift but all in all perfectly aceptable. The hotel is about 20 min walk from Torquay and up a slight hill from the sea front but there is a good bus service. Tip go to Babbacombe and try the cliff railway. Paignton reminded me of Skeggy!!!!! so glad we didnt stay there.

Room Tip: Rooms directly over the club are a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonino446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger H, Operations Director at Riviera Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Tonino446

Many thanks for your comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel to be excellent value for money, I am happy you found the staff and food to be excellent. I will pass your comments onto the staff.

Kind Regards, Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

for a hotel at the lower end price bracket you cannot be disappointed (unless you are completely hypercritical) .the staff from the bottom to the top are very polite and helpful in every possible way
the food is good,plentiful and varied.the rooms are clean and of reasonable size if somewhat dated.not a drawback in my opinion.
there is ample car parking on the hotel site
its only a 10 minute walk into town ,but if don't fancy it you can always use the land train which stops across the road outside Albert's bar.

Room Tip: ring the hotel direct for the best prices
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephenjunemason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#87 of 87 in Torquay
1,206 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marquis Hotel
Marquis Hotel
#38 of 87 in Torquay
354 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ashley Court Hotel
Ashley Court Hotel
#82 of 87 in Torquay
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#57 of 87 in Torquay
778 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
621 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#39 of 87 in Torquay
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel

Property: Riviera Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HJ, England (Formerly Rainbow International Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow International Torquay
Hotel Rainbow International
Riviera Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing