We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit !!!!”
Review of Riviera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riviera Hotel
Ranked #54 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed October 30, 2011

we decided to book this hotel again as we enjoyed it last year and also take our 17 month old Grandson, our daughter and son in law.We booked back in April but we need'nt of bothered as when we arrived a sign was outside saying cheap rates for tonight.We checked in and got our keys, we had requested to be near our family , they were in the middle and we were the far right side . We all decided to go to our room so that we all knew where we all were . Up two flights of stairs along a dimly lit , musty smelling corridor to our room as my husband entered he tripped down the step to the room ( very dangerous for older guests) the room was compact and not very up to date but that was'nt a problem. The windows were wide open and the nets pulled into the middle which i thought was strange. i looked out of the window and there was an infestation of small flies on the window sill we put our things down and ventured to our families room ( Supposed to be a family room ) a double bed, a single bed, two chairs a small wardrobe and dressing table , no cot , but we had taken a travel cot , the window opened in the middle and slid open and was only waist hight , and four floors up, so very easy to fall from , My family went to get the bags whilst i stayed with my grandson and tried to arrange the room to accommo date his cot , I moved the double bed up to the single and found dirt and dust behind the bed and a pack of intergestion tablets under the bed !!!!! Toddler and tablets dont mix) , My grandson occupied himself playing with the tea cups , saucers and KETTLE which was all at his level . We went back to our room as we walked in the heat nearly blew usaway my husband tried to adjust the thermostat but nothing happend , a man appeared with more pillows that we had requested (very quick ) we told him and he tried but he couldnt do it hetold me to ring reception and he wouil mention it too . I phoned and was put on hold as a foreign gentleman was going to ask someone , I waited for 12 mins and could hear all conversations in the background, i put the phone down and dialled again he hadn't told anyone iwas even on the phone. I explained what had happened they said they would send an engineer . the next day !!!! I went mad and said if i had to sleep in there i would not be alive in the morning, they moved us and a kind man helped with our stuff , good job really when we found out how far it was, down the two flights of stairs , past reception along the corridor down another set of stairs along another corridor a left turn and two more flights of stairs and another corridor , no lift.
no door on the wardrobe
1 small window to open (the other was screwed in as it had fallen out )
side window faced the roof
hole in the nets
chipped cups and saucers
dust and dirt behind the beds and units
beds so uncomfortable woke every morning with back ache and could only sleep a couple of hours
towels the size of hand towels
had to ask for toilet rolls
awful pooh smell the same time every night
the blind fell down and was not pot back up
toilet didnt flush properly
huge crack in the sink
very dillapidated and badly decorated
had to que for twenty mins for dinner first night
no high chairs for the baby he had to sit on his dads lap, then the next day they gave him a chair with a cushion , they did go and buy a booster seat that day,
No entertainment on Wednesday night as it was singles night for the public
nothing to do for kids of all ages
run out of baileys
water dripping through the ceiling of reception
when we arrived




plus points
dinning room staff fab especially Elliot
food good and plentiful and good choices

Room Tip: non that we saw
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tangiethompson48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (973)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

825 - 831 of 973 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2011

Went for five days in August. Moved rooms three times..health and safety on restaurant was appalling
.manager was unaware that the hot plate was dangerous as plates were very hot and guests not told

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robertflash1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Went as Xmas shopping trip, convenient parking, warm/welcoming staff, xmas decor really impressive.
Rooms were clean, though some of the furniture and decor a little tired, rooms were REALLY hot even though we turned our radiator off-unbearable at times.
Food was good with a choice most meal times, although we ate out most of the time, we arrived unexpectedly one evening & the restaurant manager was super and arranged a meal for us at short notice.
Convenient to most local attractions.
Entertainment not good-VERY amateur ('cringe-able) but good pub across the road & nearby that offer live music on certain days

Would

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phyllis23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

The Rainbow Hotel in Torquay looks nothing like the photos on its website. It is very run down and in serious need of renovation. All the floor boards creek to the point where we felt we had a herd of elephants staying in the room above us, but there was probably only two people in there. The maid let herself in at 9.30am without knocking and startled us. The rooms smelt musty as well as the corridors, lack of fresh air and a coat of paint needed. Wallpaper was peeling of the walls in most areas. The bar area was plain and uninviting. We didn't try the breakfast for fear it would disappoint us even more. The hotel was over priced and should be only a 2 star - if that. The chap on reception greeted us fairly well, but when we left he didn't even say goodbye or ask us how are stay was. We would not go back.

Room Tip: Do not stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Tired , grubby looking, unfriendly, pokey rooms , curtains about 4 inches short, bath so old it looked dirty and its time those showers were replaced with something modern.Entertainment ok but not helped by the 1960's style environment. What would the hotel inspector make of the place?
Needs to be closed down and refurbished.
Location and breakfast was good though

Room Tip: Think they were all the same!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank molliesouthwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

I went to this hotel with my 71 year old mother on a coach trip holiday. The decor is a bit tired and some of the furnishings are a bit worn but we found the overall standard of cleanliness in our room and in the public areas to be high. The food was exceptionally good and the customer service was superb.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

After reading reviews in TripAdvisor I phoned the hotel and spoke to the manager, he guaranteed most reviews were exaggerated. After a long trip we were pleasantly surprised that the location of the hotel and good level of cleanliness in the room was a relief. Food in the hotel is of a very good standard with good choices, the only negative comment is the overenthusiastic
clearing of the tables while still eating is rude and bad manners. The Manager in the restaurant could do more to help the staff. Will be staying here again..

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the hotel are quieter and cooler in summer....If we have one..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbytrip2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.0 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 85 in Torquay
662 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#36 of 85 in Torquay
198 reviews
1.2 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#85 of 85 in Torquay
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#19 of 85 in Torquay
1,166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#60 of 85 in Torquay
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HJ, England (Formerly Rainbow International Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range: $69 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow International Torquay
Hotel Rainbow International
Riviera Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing