We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FRIENDLY WITH GOOD FOOD BUT ACCOMODATION UNCOMFORTABLE”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Norcliffe Hotel
Ranked #136 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 11, 2010

The hotel has friendly staff and good food, but the room we had was extremely uncomfortable and the bed was long overdue for replacement. Thankful that it was only for four nights.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FELIXS_yorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 135 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2010

Nick & Karen make you feel welcome the whole time you are their, The food is great so is the location .

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seasidetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

we were offered full english for breakfast on tiny plate as other food one of our party only had porta loo in bedroom and got fed up with lectures every day at mealtimes on last day we were rushed out like cattle never again one of our ladies asked me do you think we will get a full slice of toast today for breakfast as even staff were dosey didnt understand what we said half i agree DONT GO THERE PLEASEwe never will again we were a party of seven and paid 13,ooo pounds what a waste

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fishing1428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

My husband and I have just come back from a 4 day stay at the Norcliffe Hotel, and we had a brilliant time there. Nick was a fantastic host and went out of his way to make sure everyone was ok and had a good time. The food WAS FRESH and beautifully cooked. Ok this is not a 5 star hotel but the rooms have all the basics you need and are clean. The bar is well stocked and although the entertainment could have been better, Nick made the effort to dance with as many elderly ladies as he could.
If you are looking for a cheap and cheerful hotel then this is the one to book in Babbacombe

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jiggy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

having spent a few days at the Norcliffe hotel, i found the place clean and tidy, the food and service were of a very good standard, the hotel also provided entertainment on a few night, which i would recommend.
I look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amethystlandscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

hosts nick and karen were brilliant,all the staff were very helpful.entertainment very good we had a very enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trev75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

excellent food freindly staff and an excellent host in NICK ( one of a kind )

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kowen4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,120 reviews
1 mi away
The Iona Torquay
The Iona Torquay
#57 of 149 in Torquay
284 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#29 of 85 in Torquay
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#30 of 85 in Torquay
2,515 reviews
1 mi away
Glenorleigh
Glenorleigh
#54 of 149 in Torquay
73 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Patricia Guest House
The Patricia Guest House
#49 of 85 in Torquay
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Norcliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norcliffe Hotel

Address: Seafront | Babbacombe Downs Road, Torquay TQ1 3LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
The Norcliffe Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing