We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great break”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Norcliffe Hotel
Ranked #136 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 25, 2010

excellent food freindly staff and an excellent host in NICK ( one of a kind )

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kowen4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 135 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2010

On arrival we were given keys to our room and the front door which remained locked at all times,our first impression was "tired scruffy and tatty"We were booked in for 4days but after seeing our room(the best in the place)which we had paid extra for the sea view and then our meal at night which we were told was homemade everything,rubbish,the food was either out of a packet,a tin or the freezer and into the microwave.There was no vegetarian option other than salad regected by the rabbit.We had to order the next meal ahead.The room was so old the TV was so old you had to get out of bed to turn it off and on,the radio was home and light service should have been in the museum.The linen had marks on that looked like chewing gum and the curtains had been cut by a knife anbd sewn by a monkey and hung on 1940's metal track.We checked out and were unable to get a refund.They cannot survive even though their reception area is full of thank you cards obviously written by their extended family.Beware of this Hell Hole you have been warned.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pigsick79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

just back from a long weekend with a coach tour, staying at the Norcliffe Hotel. We found the food nicely cooked and well presented.. The service was very good.Nick and Karen are very good hosts, very welcoming and the hotel was very clean,( lovely fluffy white towels), and is situated in a wonderful position and close to all amenities,

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isturner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2010

just back from a brilliant holiday at this hotel.food was good,room was clean and nicely laid out.nick and karen were brill hosts,nick made us laugh from the time we arrived untill we left,when we left we felt like friends not guests ,people said the food was frozen but it was not it was fresh and served piping hot.all the staff were as friendly and helpful as they could possibly be.thanks nick and karen for a brill time.from 2 north anglia dorises.lol

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willowyLowestoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

back for a second visit. gosh what a lot has been done to the hotel since our last visit. out side looks great with it's new coat of paint. noticed other improvements too. nick still the same, can not do enough to make the stay special. all the staff very pleasent. stll recomending and will return again. may even try to fit in a tinsel and turkey treat. thank's to all at norcliffe.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlackCountryTrouble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

This makes the bella vista look good on the faulty towers.First of all when we got there the place looked like it was going to fall down, the frount door didnt work it kept jamming so we couldnt get in, the bar was closed as was the swimming pool, the carpets were dirty we had the ground floor room, they only had one set of keys for this room so we had to be extremelly carefull so he said (the owner). The mugs had tea stains in them, a person in our family had to fix the lightbulbs, The patio doors had been broken into because of the marks and dints. The bedding was uncomfortable. The patio was shared and there was no furniture on the patio. The bathroom was dirty, the flush didnt work, it had a seetrough window in it so you could see who was in the bathroom. Overall the room was shabby, uncomortable, it needed an awful lot of renervating. You had to que up to get in the restaurant for breakfast, you got a tiny amount of food and it was deffinatly microwaved, as we could hear the microwave going in the morning, there was also no smell of cooking. He also came around pestering you to see what you wanted the next morning for breakfast. There was a limited amount of choice for breakfast. I would strongly reccomend not to stay at this hotel, and we only stayed overnight. The owner also admitted that they had no chef, the bar was shut due to the pipes being cleaned by a London firm, there was no entertainment on also.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hotelgirl093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

had a lovely five days holiday at the norcliffe,dont believe about frozen food it was very good.we was apprehensive about this hotel because of some bad reviews,
but really enjoyed our selves in a beautiful spot overlooking oddicombe beach.nick the owner was very attentive.the hotel does need work on it,But we found our bedroom and bathroom very clean with white sheets and towels.would go again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beryl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,118 reviews
1 mi away
The Iona Torquay
The Iona Torquay
#56 of 149 in Torquay
284 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#29 of 85 in Torquay
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#31 of 85 in Torquay
2,513 reviews
1 mi away
Glenorleigh
Glenorleigh
#57 of 149 in Torquay
73 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Patricia Guest House
The Patricia Guest House
#50 of 85 in Torquay
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Norcliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norcliffe Hotel

Address: Seafront | Babbacombe Downs Road, Torquay TQ1 3LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
The Norcliffe Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing