We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellant value for money”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Norcliffe Hotel
Ranked #136 of 148 Torquay B&B and Inns
turunc turkey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“excellant value for money”
Reviewed May 4, 2010

had a lovely five days holiday at the norcliffe,dont believe about frozen food it was very good.we was apprehensive about this hotel because of some bad reviews,
but really enjoyed our selves in a beautiful spot overlooking oddicombe beach.nick the owner was very attentive.the hotel does need work on it,But we found our bedroom and bathroom very clean with white sheets and towels.would go again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beryl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    45
    17
    16
    23
See reviews for
22
65
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2010

Stayed at the Norcliffe with my mother from 22nd March for five days. We had a great time. The food is excellent, totally home cooked. Everywhere was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful.

Nick, the owner, cannot do enough to help, taking cases to and from rooms, making sure everyone is okay, spending time with people and talking to them. Helping then whenever possible.

Our stay at the Norcliffe was so much better than expected and the entertainment was really good. Nick and Karen deserve to do well, they are great hosts and make every one feel special and welcome. Good luck to them in their venture. We would definately go back.
Helen and Els. Sidcup, Kent.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honey76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2010

Just returned from the Norcliffe hotel with Travelstyle. Had lots of fun host nick had the whole coach laughing every day. The hotel food is not out of the freezer but cooked fresh to order every day. Our room was large, clean with a side view of country side. I do not belive some of the bad comments people have said about this hotel. I sat on the same table as room 14 and the couple in there said it's a nice room with see views. There were 4 other different couples staying on the same coach who have been 3 to 5 times in two years and said it's gets better and better very time thanks to nick, Karen and little luke.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveMar345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2010

Loved this place, it's kind of in a time warp decor wise, but the atmosphere was great! nick the owner is a real character and goes out of his way for the guests to ensure we all have a great stay, - nothing is too much, we really enjoyed the entertainment, and i got to have a morning swim too which was wonderful! the areas were kept clean & tidy, the food was nice, and the location is fantastic - right on a cliff, with a a couple of beaches down below, a really quaint little area, with a great little theatre down the road, which puts on fantastic variety performances!
It's really nice to be just outside of the main hub-bub of Torquay but in a fantastic location to visit lots of other places nearby and afar such as Paignton, Dartmouth, Plymouth, etc.

I have read some of the other reviews but have to disagree, although everyone to their own, i really enjoyed the fact that on occasion you could join other guests at the table and get to know other people - this makes for an even more enjoyable stay, i've made some great friends, and hope to return to the Norcliffe Hotel again later on in the year. Nick's wife Karen, although much quieter than Nick, was most helpful & friendly, You see Life is what you make of it, All i can say to those whom have left many negative comments, is that they must be having a very miserable relationship within themselves. You can please some of the people some of the time, but not all of the people all of the time! it is only individual opinion, But it all depends on what you look for, if you look for fault, - you'll inevitably find it in anything, - It's all about attitude, Maybe people's expectations are ridiculously unrealistic for anything in this day & age.

I would definately recommend this hotel, it is comfortable, in a lovely setting, with an oldy-worldly charm, coach trips are so much fun, you get to meet so many intersting people, and Nick had us all up and dancing on the dance floor! If you want a great atmosphere, lots of fun, head to the Norcliffe Hotel - It gets my vote! :-)

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank echoromeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2010

Hotel was freezing cold no heating on at all, the rooms was dated and needed modernising. Curtain rail was broken and radiator in room didn't work, we had to put our coats on the bed to sleep as it was so cold!
Breakfast was served on a tea plate toast was also stone cold, poor value for money. Wouldn't ever book this hotel again as it was very shabby. I would say the worst I have ever been in Fawlty Towers springs to mind.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Torquay hotels

salford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2010

We found this hotel very clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent. We will definately go back

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillian2507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2010

looking at other comments on this hotel i was almost put off. glad i didn't had a fab time. family run hotels can not be beaten. the norcliffe is very friendly, food plentiful, rooms cleans and tidy. give this family a chance they have not been in this hotel long enough to put their full stamp on the place. we will return and fully recomend. well done karen and nick. keep up the good work.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlackCountryTrouble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Summerbay Resort Hotel
#87 of 88 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anchorage Hotel
Anchorage Hotel
#77 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#40 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Burlington
Hotel Burlington
#86 of 88 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
#44 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Downs, Babbacombe
The Downs, Babbacombe
#34 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Norcliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norcliffe Hotel

Property: The Norcliffe Hotel
Address: Seafront | Babbacombe Downs Road, Torquay TQ1 3LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
The Norcliffe Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing