We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No.4”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Norcliffe Hotel
Ranked #136 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Hotel very dated, springs in matress through and uncomfortable, large step up into the bathroom cubicle, mixer on sink tap for shower, sink too small to have a wash. Did however get a room change next morning. Food good not enough of it, breakfast served on a tea plate. Bar prices expensive and did not expect to be served by a child while his dad was on his mobile phone. However did enjoy the company of two very nice gentlemen ( E & E ) and that made the stay more enjoyable. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank No4Derby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 135 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife and I just come back from a 4 day break at hotel. Host nick great a laugh a minute food and brilliant company,great bingo night music from Keith the best I heard in a hotel ever. location superb, great value for money. Look forward to going back soon with friends

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jillyjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

great stay, great food and great company. Just come back on a 4 day stay at Norcliffe Hotel one of the best coaching holidays we ever had. Nick and Karen always happy to help. You read some of the comments below and wonder what people want for a £120 bed and breakfast plus evening meal and live entertainment.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank david l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

On our coach arrival on Friday afternoon, we were immediately informed by the owner that he had no staff to help with guest luggage & he could not help as he was suffering from a bad back! Unfortunately most of the guests were elderly, most having walking sticks.
When our driver complained to the owner in my presence he was told "That if the hotel guests could carry their bags to the coach then they could carry them to their rooms" as his contract with David Urquart did not include the unloading of bags from coach's

During our stay the owner took every opportunity to inform us that “he was a millionaire by the time he was 22yrs & was educated at a public school" He was very rude interrupting private conversations to let us know of his wealth & private education. Some of this wealth was I dare say accumulated by letting his young son who was well under 15yrs serve drinks in the public bar. The above review by Yvonne is also further statement to the unhelpfulness of the owner.

It is such a shame as this hotel is set in a beautiful area, the food was very tasty & I would have booked for further holidays at this hotel but with this owner...no chance of wanting to go back again.

Room Tip: Just don't go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Theduckman2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Myself and my husband and a couple of friends stayed here on a 3 day break with David Urquart. The hotel was about what I expected, dated but ok, food was good but being a vegetarian I was disappointed that no vegetarian choice was offered apart from salad on the first two nights. The breakfasts were served on a tea plate which was a bit surprising and the coffee was undrinkable, it was in a big flask and was like dishwater, even though this was mentioned to the owner nothing was done about it.
We had the lecture about health and safety as we were about to start our meal on the first night even though we were told to meet in the bar and this would be done beforehand. We found the bar prices expensive so went out on the first two nights and found a nice pub, The George Inn where the prices were reasonable .
I agree with a previous comment about the owner Nick liking the sound of his own voice this was very true and we were also surprised to be served by a child behind the bar on the last night. . The pool was kept locked you had to give them notice if you wanted to use it and we never even saw the gymnasium they advertise or the sauna. The owner was also very reluctant to help anyone with their bags that needed help, and there were some guests there who did struggle to walk too far or cope with stairs. On the whole it was disappointing and I wouldnt go back there again and our friends we were travelling with said the same.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yvonne460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

me and my husband have just got back from a weekend at the norcliffe hotel, we found our room a little dated but ok for what we paid, food did cater for the older person and the breakfast alittle on the small side, dont think we would go back to the same hotel but Babbacombe is a lovely place and the locals very friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

whad a good time. food was great loads of it.had ground floor bedroom on opening patio doors lovly view of gardens. and sea. two nights entertainment which was good nick and his wife were very pleasant.

Room Tip: i believe the other bedrooms are very small according to other guests. we had to pay an extra £70 to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,189 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#30 of 85 in Torquay
2,551 reviews
1 mi away
The Iona Torquay
The Iona Torquay
#56 of 149 in Torquay
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
1.3 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#48 of 85 in Torquay
368 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#8 of 85 in Torquay
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Norcliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norcliffe Hotel

Address: Seafront | Babbacombe Downs Road, Torquay TQ1 3LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
The Norcliffe Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing