We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value for money”
Review of Trecarn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Trecarn Hotel
Ranked #87 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“excellent value for money”
Reviewed January 12, 2011

We, like many felt duped at the location which was never told to us, but realy as a cheap break its excellent value and the food and service was fantastic with a cheeky nights entertainment from the cheeky girls themselves who tried hard to be as friendly and approachable as possible afterwards, i enjoyed my stay and would go back again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank philjdaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    344
    250
    173
    299
See reviews for
178
712
47
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2010

I travelled with my husband and friends for a 3 night break. We found the hotel excellent, the food brilliant and the entertainment was outstanding. All the staff were very pleasant. Simon the host was so funny and we all had a good laugh with him.

All the entertainment was good, Sam, Simon and the Abba Tribute Group. We would highly recommend this hotel and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank christine1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2010

This was our second National Holiday this year and the value for money is beyond compare. The Trecarn seems to have some terrible reviews but i heard no complaints from the several coach parties staying there at the same time. Our room was decorated and furnished in a pleasant and contemporary style and was clean although the windows could have done with a clean both sides. The bathroom was basic and lacked a shower but for a five day stay adequate with clean towels and plenty of hot water. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The food was good and service was excellent. The 3 hours free bar was tremendous with very hard working bar staff but you did have to pick your moment to join the queue (it was a FREE bar!) Trips included too and we paid £119 each. What do the moaning minnies want it costs that to live at home and yes you did have to carry your own bags but I'm sure you only had to ask if it was a problem. Let's face it you are not going to get a 5 star £1,000 holiday for this price with entertainment as well. Clearly the hotel is undergoing remedial work in places and the stairs and corridors are a bit gloomy but on the whole it was very very good and unbeatable at the price. So if you are a serial complainer or one of those used to better things for goodness sake bloody well stay at home!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank stonesandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

Just back from a National Holiday trip to the Trecarn. Our driver Geoff is one of the best we have been with and we have had a few. He is always full of fun and smiles. We booked a Britain's finest trip on the 10% off day and weree happy to let National choose our destination. For £217 for both of us I think it was fantastic value, clean cosy rooms with everything you need. The hotel is being refurbished and I believe some rooms have still to be done but whilst there we did not hear anyone complaining so they can't be that bad. Service in the dining room was excellent with table service throughout. The 3 hour free bar was also good value and although they were a bit slow on the first night it improved from then. We had bingo and entertainment each night and the compare Simon is something else! He was so much fun and his successor will have to go some to equal his talent when he leaves in January. There were two inclusive trips and one optional plus a guided tour which was also optional. I defy anyone to rate this as poor............

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mclorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2010

Travelled with National Holidays... Booking Ad says Torquay... which we wanted, BUT in fact it is in Babbacombe a few miles away from Torquay. If we wanted to go to Babbacombe we will gone there. Most of the passengers said that they were duped.. and was not happy.
The Hotel looks good, the dining room and ground floor seems to been upgraded recently - looks very new. Our bedroom was clean had ample storage, Decor seems that it had been done over the last few months, can't say about the other rooms tho'.
About 6/7 coaches came that day, had to lug your cases to your room,... on depature day the road was blocked (Small road) for some time - tho' it was a staggered departures times - about 15 mins. from 8am. Organised CHAOS!!
Food.... well.... Breakfast was fruit juice (coloured water - Tomato juice was OK) Cereal or Porridge, -Full English was a rasher, small egg, sausage, half Tomotoe and tablespoon of beans!! Nuff said!!
Eveningmeal: with 250+ people dining, some areas were slow.... Rolls were still hard - better if they were warmed up before serving. The Jug of water tasted of steriliser - burnt your lips - a new jug was slightly better, we brought our water bottle to the table thereaftewards. Portions were a bit scant, The Lamb was 1/2" cubes 6/8 pieces!! Fish was OK tho' small, Ham was rubbber... the desserts had only a tablespoon of custard!!!
Need to sort out their Menu. Do not buy rubbish food, better to get the people to order the day before or at breakfast time from a menu, then no waste, the quantity and quality of the food will be better and value for money.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Radioham16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2010

on arrival found that no room had been allocated to my partner and myself, after a while we were given the keys to room 236 no sooner had we opened the fire door to the corridor our room was in you were hit by a damp foisty smell. room 236 the walls are covered by black damp, the bedding was damp to the touch, the bathroom ceiling was covered with black mould. We requested a change of room but were told no other rooms were available our driver [rep] anthony inspected our room and immediately rang his company boss and insisted we be moved to another hotel which we were. Other hotel the Maycliff was excellent but when you come with a party of 40+ this is not ideal. It tok 1/4 of an hour by taxi to meet up with our friends.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alanfordavenue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Torquay hotels

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2010

Just got back from a seven day holiday at the Trecarn Hotel in Torquay with national holidays. This is our second time at this hotel this year and we are now planning a third.Our first holiday here was good but this one was brilliant. It is a very pleasant hotel and we found the staff are always willing to help. Although some of the rooms are in the process of being upgraded we were lucky enough to have one that has already been done which had a spacious bathroom with anew shower cubicle and was lovley and clean. Hopefully all the other rooms will soon be like this as well. It is a shame that some people were n t to happy with there rooms. We found the restaurant had a good choice of food every night and the tables were always set out to a high standard. Chloe our waitress was very friendly and efficient at serving us and very polite. One of the best things about this hotel is the entertainment , the resident compare Simon deserves a special mention he is very funny and creates a really good atmosphere we havn t laughed so much in ages. He is also a very talented singer. We also thought the abba and Tom Jones tributes were very good you would have to pay alot of money to see these somewhere else. We made the most of the free bar and although we had to que longer at first after a while it didn t take long to get served as the bar staff were very quick. There is a good selection of drinks at the bar and you can upgrade to named brands for 50p it would be nice to see this apply to other beers and ciders as well. We stayed at this hotel with a party of six and we would all recommend this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sean1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#55 of 87 in Torquay
934 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ashley Court Hotel
Ashley Court Hotel
#82 of 87 in Torquay
383 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#57 of 87 in Torquay
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Bay Tor Park Hotel
#25 of 87 in Torquay
490 reviews
1.3 mi away
Marquis Hotel
Marquis Hotel
#38 of 87 in Torquay
354 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Burlington
Hotel Burlington
#86 of 87 in Torquay
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trecarn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trecarn Hotel

Property: Trecarn Hotel
Address: Palermo Road, Torquay TQ1 3NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Trecarn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in its own grounds in a quiet residential area, the Trecarn hotel is just a short stroll from the Babbacombe Downs and the delightful village of St Marychurch. The ground floor public areas of the hotel were the subject of an extensive refurbishment which has been very well received by our guests. The hotel now benefits from well-appointed lounge areas, large entertainment suite and bar. The restaurant has been completely re-styled and now offers a spacious and contemporary dining experience. After enjoying the renowned entertainments the hotel has to offer, you should also sleep better than ever as we have also refurbished 62 of the hotel's bedrooms! The Trecarn Hotel is ideally placed for exploring the surrounding area of Torbay and the delightful South Devon Coast. There is an excellent bus service taking you to town centre and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trecarn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trecarn Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing