We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful break”
Review of Trecarn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trecarn Hotel
Ranked #88 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“wonderful break”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We 7 ladies from Ashton knitting club travelled here for the turkey & tinsel weekend early December. It was a last minute National Holidays exchange from LLandudno to Torquay.
We had a truly wonderful time here. The room was very clean, although a bit tired looking in the bathroom but that was fine. The staff were very friendly and polite. The restaurant was gorgeous and the range of food was brilliant all served by the most gorgeous and friendly waiter called NORDY. He was a true delight with a wonderful sense of humour, and he couldn't do enough for us. The food was delicious and well presented. The evening entertainment was excellent.
We had an truly relaxing & happy weekend with no complaints whatsoever, and we would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Thank you all at the TRECARN for making our weekend so fabulous.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pinkgilesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
What a lovely review, thank you so much for taking the time to post on trip advisor. I will pass on your kind words to Nordi, although I might not tell him the gorgeous bit, we dont want him getting big-headed. Hope you will consider visiting us again and thank you for recommending us to friends
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    342
    241
    159
    266
See reviews for
163
680
44
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Have just returned from a weekend break with friends at The Bay Trecarn Hotel in Torquay. Super value for money with a Christmas themed stay and four free drinks at the bar. The food was very good and although breakfast portions may be small, extras were served if you requested them. Our room was fine, quite spacious and comfortable although the TV had seen better days and gave us just 4 channels.The staff were friendly, proffesional and we received super service. Only complaint, the shower in our room was functionable but too small for comfort. However, this break was super value for money. This was our first stay at The Bay Trecarn Hotel and we will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for posting. SO glad you enjoyed your recent visit and intend to return. We shall look forward to welcoming you back and try to provide some sunshine for you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We found the hotel good all round. bar prises high 3.60 for pint worthington

Food portions small. Very spacious plenty of seats including comfy sofas and chairs Dining staff very helpful with quick service

Room Tip: Choose ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sjab_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Prices in the bar are competitive with local bars, plus we offer entertainment for our residents to enjoy too. With regards to meal sizes, we are always happy to offer bigger portions to those requiring them so if you visit again, please do not hesitate to ask!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
276 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

My wife and I have just spent five days at the Trecarn hotel on a National holidays break.We arrived at around four pm.and were greeted by pleasant staff and given and given an information pack and room keys without having to join a queue as in some hotels.We were then given a welcome glass of mulled wine before proceeding to our allocated room on the first floor.
The twin room was clean and warm and well laid out with a roomy bathroom with a shower over the bath.The beds were very comfortable and tea and coffee making facilities were provided.
Dinner was served from six thirty.The staff were very friendly and efficient and we kept the same waiter and table throughout our stay.The menu offered a good choice and the meals were served at the table.
There was entertainment every evening with plenty of seating and a good sized dance floor.The
bar staff were as in all parts of the hotel very efficient and friendly.
We had some very enjoyable trips to Plymouth,Dartmouth and Brixham but it was always nice to return to the pleasant ambience of the Trecarn.
This was our first visit to this area but we will be returning again in the not too distant future and hopefully staying in this well managed hotel.Our thanks to the staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goron58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thanks for the lovely review. It is always great when people say they hope to return as it means we are doing things right! I will pass on your kind words to the staff and we shall look forward to your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Stayed one night whilst working in the area wish it had been longer as I enjoyed the atmosphere and had an excellent breakfast. The bedroom was tired in appearance but comfortable, clean and spacious. The bar staff and breakfast waiter were welcoming, friendly and efficient - definitely a plus for the hotel. The evening entertainer was an unexpected surprise (I think she was called Victoria Tankard) - she had a good voice, charismatic stage presence and enthusiasm which drew the audience in. What this hotel lacks in modern amenities like flat screen TV's it more than makes up for with it's warm hospitality and great value prices. When next working in the area I will look forward to returning.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Appreciate you taking the time to post even though you only stayed for one night. It is pleasing to read that whilst we are not a "modern" hotel we work hard to deliver excellent service and you obviously noticed that. We are always refurbishing rooms a few at a time and will continue to do so. Hope we can welcome you back again, for a longer stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

at first hotel not bad all the staff in thebreakfast room very misroble would not go back a gain did not like the place and the driver gary was rubbish he ad is favorites coach very hot asked him to put air con on did not do it I think they are tol to save diesel

Room Tip: don't now a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank michael k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Sorry you did not enjoy your driver during this stay, I will pass on your comments to National Holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Have just returned from a 3 night stay, travelled with National Holidays. On arrival we were allocated our room,number 249. I had read previous reviews about tatty corridor decor and carpets and bad rooms. The decor and carpetsin the corridors were certainly a little on the tired side and would certainly benefit from the ongoing refurbishment plan. On entering our room we were pleasantly suprised, the carpet looked relatively new and the decor and bedding looked nice and clean, the wardrobe and dressing table looked new. Tv not brilliant but O.K. We found a few minor problems which could have been easily rectified, a new curtain rail and hooks, loose wall light and towel rail, lukewarm radiator (air lock), mould on curtains, due to condensation from the old single glazed window which can be expected. A couple of hours work would put all those points right. Now for the positive points we were served a nice glass or two of mulled wine in the hotel lounge, which is very nice, as is the spacious well laid out dining room. The food is excellent, a good choice at breakfast, cereals, fruit juice,porridge,fresh orange juice, then a choice of a full english, or a kipper or scrambled egg etc. The dinner menu was three course, always a good choice of hot well prepared food, the portions are not massive, but more than adequate. Our waiter Jonnie was very good ,he spent his time dashing about and ensured we were not kept waiting for the food,he was also a very pleasant and courteous young man. All staff members we encountered were very friendly and helpful. we had an enjoyable stay and would certainly return. I am sure after all the refurbishment work is complete the hotel will be very good, and we would certainly like to visit again

Room Tip: I would imagine the recently refurbished rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I will certainly pass on your kind words to Jonnie as he has only been with us a short time so it will make his day. We are, as you said, continuing to redecorate the corridors and another area of rooms this winter and I hope you can return to visit us again so you can see the progress we have made
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
Rainbow International Hotel
1.2 mi away
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Bay Tor Park Hotel
#25 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ashley Court Hotel
Ashley Court Hotel
#80 of 88 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Bay Torbay Hotel
Bay Torbay Hotel
#34 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
1.1 mi away
Seascape Hotel
Seascape Hotel
#44 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#52 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trecarn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trecarn Hotel

Property: Trecarn Hotel
Address: Palermo Road, Torquay TQ1 3NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Trecarn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in its own grounds in a quiet residential area, the Trecarn hotel is just a short stroll from the Babbacombe Downs and the delightful village of St Marychurch. The ground floor public areas of the hotel were the subject of an extensive refurbishment which has been very well received by our guests. The hotel now benefits from well-appointed lounge areas, large entertainment suite and bar. The restaurant has been completely re-styled and now offers a spacious and contemporary dining experience. After enjoying the renowned entertainments the hotel has to offer, you should also sleep better than ever as we have also refurbished 62 of the hotel's bedrooms! The Trecarn Hotel is ideally placed for exploring the surrounding area of Torbay and the delightful South Devon Coast. There is an excellent bus service taking you to town centre and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Trecarn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trecarn Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing