We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend trip”
Review of Trecarn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Trecarn Hotel
Ranked #87 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“weekend trip”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

we spent last weekend at the trecarn and for what we paid didnt expect much but on arrival we were made to feel VERY welcombe we had a refurbished room which was very nice although the bathroom was really old fashioned it was very clean my only gripe was the telly i couldnt get it to work but it was replaced within the hour although i still couldnt get much of a picture. my room was really warm and i was given a fan nothing too much trouble the staff here are excellant the food was lovely full english toast tea coffee cereal grapefruit prunes heck of a choice and all proper kellogs tetley etc...3 courses for evening meal choice of 3 starters 4 mains and desserts all nice and hot and veg served seperate which i like plus glass of wine with dinner (seved with a smile and nothing to much trouble by ferry our waiter) and 4 drinks vouchers in the evening and entertainment which on the first night was brilliant a lady (i think she was called suzy)who did the bingo the quizz and the entertainment she really was great you could tell she wanted us to have a good time and she enjoyed what she was doing unlike the bloke on sat who was rubbish and and sunday neil diamond tribute was on and off in less than 40 minutes we will be back had a great time and met some lovely people.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
I always enjoy responding to a review that ends with "we will be back"!!! Thanks for taking the time to post and let us know how much you enjoyed your recent weekend with us. Again, great feedback for the staff which always makes their day. Thanks once again, and we shall look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    344
    250
    173
    299
See reviews for
178
712
47
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Returned after last time. Still a cheap weekend away but food gone down hill since last year. Portions smaller & not as good as before. At the end of the day still had a good weekend. Bit like faulty towers. One of days couldn't.get any hot water will be trying a different hotel next year

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 25julie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Sorry to read that you were disappointed with the menu this visit, we are always happy to give larger portions if required. We have experienced some problems with the hot water due to a recurring fault with one of the boilers, but I hope this is now sorted! I hope you will consider revisiting and let us provide you with some hearty meals!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Just returned from the trecarn bay and had a fantastic time don't always take In what you read on the reviews we went from Friday 26th till Monday 29th October rooms were really good and very clean meals at breakfast and evening meal you had plenty choice waitress service well what can i say they work really hard and very cheerful especially angel lovely girl entertainment very good and the choice of drinks is excellent carling later stowel wine worthington beer spoilt for choice holiday overall was excellent can't wait to go back next year thanks to all the hard working staff x

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine19730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. The staff always enjoy positive comments about their hard work and I will certainly pass these on. I note that you are planning on revisiting us, so we shall look forward to welcoming you back here at the hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Aycliffe, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Just returned from the Trecarn and would not return. We stayed in room 217 and I don't know how they can charge for this room. The bathroom ceiling was black with damp, the bedroom curtains were the same. The bath fittings left a lot to be desired and need replacing. The service in the dining room was terrible. We had the waitress nearest to the kitchen door but she took forever, even needed a pen and paper for tea and coffee orders for 6 of us.Television in room stopped working Wednesday, by friday still not sortred.
Our National driver Les was really good and we went on some lovely trips out. shame about hotel its the worst one we have stayed in on National Holidays

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emma90_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Sorry to read your review and note you found the hotel not to your liking. We do have the Coast & Country Hotel division which may be more to your liking. We do strive to refurbish over a period of time and I am hoping to do some more rooms this winter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Torquay hotels

Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This was our 2nd visit to the Trecarn, we enjoyed it last year and also again on the National trip from Lancashire friday to monday. We were on the ground floor and didn't have the hot water problem, in fact the room was excellent backing on to the coach park no noise. The food was very good the staff and dinning room were excellent, if all National hotels were as good as this one they would be on to a winner. Room 234
The only downside to the hol., was our driver Mike, his first day with National, he was so agressive on the road used his horn 5 times and was agressive verbally to some of the passengers, if you read this Mike I would'nt travel with you again, you had a coach of nervous passengers.

Room Tip: Would like this room 234 and location next time although I have been on first floor before it saves...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nigel128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, and thank you for returning! It is always good to see guests visit us time and again as it proves we must be doing something right. The water problem that week was on the other side of the hotel and is served by a different boiler so I am pleased that you didnt experience any difficulties. I hope that you do return again and if so, please give us a ring at the hotel beforehand so we can allocate the same room if you would like us to. I cannot comment on the driver as they do not actually work for the hotel, but I am sorry you experienced problems with yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and i have just had a weekend break with national at this hotel. I didn't know what to expect after reading some of the reviews,but our room was ok. Some parts of the hotel need some tlc,but the food was nice, pleasent staff, good company. Our waiter was a very pleasent polite young man. All in all a good weekend.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for we only paid 99 pound each, for that you get bed breakfast and evening meal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. I personally believe we deliver excellent value for money so it is always pleasing to read this in reviews. Hopefully see you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

we stayed Friday to Monday, our room was on the first floor, and due to a boiler malfunction, we was without hot water, so had to resort to boiling kettles to take a bath, and this apparentlly is an on going problem.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roywilko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
I have just responded to another post regarding the boiler, so my apologies for the inconvenience you experienced. I am hopeful that following work carried out by our plumber yesterday and today the issue has now been rectified. My sincere apologies once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#55 of 87 in Torquay
934 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ashley Court Hotel
Ashley Court Hotel
#82 of 87 in Torquay
383 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#57 of 87 in Torquay
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Bay Tor Park Hotel
#25 of 87 in Torquay
490 reviews
1.3 mi away
Marquis Hotel
Marquis Hotel
#38 of 87 in Torquay
353 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Burlington
Hotel Burlington
#86 of 87 in Torquay
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trecarn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trecarn Hotel

Property: Trecarn Hotel
Address: Palermo Road, Torquay TQ1 3NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Trecarn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in its own grounds in a quiet residential area, the Trecarn hotel is just a short stroll from the Babbacombe Downs and the delightful village of St Marychurch. The ground floor public areas of the hotel were the subject of an extensive refurbishment which has been very well received by our guests. The hotel now benefits from well-appointed lounge areas, large entertainment suite and bar. The restaurant has been completely re-styled and now offers a spacious and contemporary dining experience. After enjoying the renowned entertainments the hotel has to offer, you should also sleep better than ever as we have also refurbished 62 of the hotel's bedrooms! The Trecarn Hotel is ideally placed for exploring the surrounding area of Torbay and the delightful South Devon Coast. There is an excellent bus service taking you to town centre and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trecarn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trecarn Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing