We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helen & Paul”
Review of Brandize Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brandize Hotel
Ranked #26 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Helen & Paul”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

You could not find a warmer welcome than at the Brandize. Rick and Sarah are excellent hosts and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are furbished to an excellent standard and those added extras fall nothing short of a 5* hotel and is well deserving of the 4* star rating they have. So much choice at breakfast, cereals, yoghurts, fresh and dried fruit followed by at full English plus the choice of fried, poached or scrambled eggs not forgetting the toast!We would not hesitate to recommend the Brandize to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    14
    2
    5
    1
See reviews for
40
94
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I should start by saying I am the fussiest person in the world. But genuinely have nothing but praise for Rick and Sarah.

We were met at the door after a long drive with everything we needed to know and a friendly introduction. We were then shown to our room, the room itself was incredibly clean and well presented with tea and coffee facilities. And then I soon checked out the smoking area at the side of the building.

Breakfast was wonderful, even catering for the fact I'll only eat bacon well done. The local handmade sausages were to die for and again that's something I'm very particular with.

We went to the local shop to buy extra milk so not to worry them by asking for extra and went out for the day (hoping it wouldn't heat up too much) to our surprise we got back to a note on the door. "I hope you don't mind I put your milk in the fridge outside of your room" we hadn't even noticed a fridge but very grateful for them saving it for us.

The tea and coffee was replenished while we were out and the room cleaned thoroughly even leaving some chocolates for us.

The last thing to say is that both Rick and Sarah are extremely friendly and if we ever come back to Torquay I know we'll be staying at The Brandize Guest House again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawrantc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Rick and Sarah were lovely, made us all feel at home. Our room-recently refurbished-was beautiful and the decor was of a high standard.
There was a great choice for breakfast, help yourself to yoghurt, cereal, fruit, as much tea or coffee as you wanted and then to top it all a lovely cooked full English-with a choice of what you would like!
We hope to spend another weekend in Torquay soon and we will be definitely be staying at the Brandize again-That is if they are not Fully booked which we suspect they will be!
Cheers Sarah and Rick . X

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan Maggi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We stayed at the Brandize Hotel for the weekend and would highly recommend this hotel.

Rick and Sarah were very friendly and looked after us well. Rick was even kind enough to drop us off into town on the Saturday night to save us a walk.

The room had been recently refurbished and so was in excellent condition. The bed was comfy and there was absolutely no noise to interrupt a comfortable night.

I would definitely recommend this Hotel and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed in the Brandize for the weekend and were delighted with the service Rick and Sarah provided. The guest house is a very friendly and welcoming place to stay. The rooms are spacious and cleaned to a very high standard with everything you could wish for. The breakfast in the morning is fantastic with a very wide selection for everyone. Great value for the money and highly recommended. Will stay there next time we visit Torquay. Thank you once again for a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southill
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

This guest house was one of the friendliest and nicest places we have stayed. The room was very clean and pleasant. The breakfast was excellent with everything you could expect provided.

Super value for money and highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chalkshome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Great family friendly hotel. Hosts were very welcoming and made the experience feel like a home from home. Breakfast offered had something for everyone. The hotel is set back off the road and is one of the quietest we have stayed in. Great location and near to attractions. I forgot toys for the baby and the hosts were thankfully able to assist with this too I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ewanedie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Kelvin House Hotel
Kelvin House Hotel
#45 of 87 in Torquay
69 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#7 of 87 in Torquay
530 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trelawney Hotel
Trelawney Hotel
#43 of 87 in Torquay
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Elmington Hotel
Elmington Hotel
#41 of 87 in Torquay
101 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#32 of 87 in Torquay
117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southbank Hotel
Southbank Hotel
#46 of 87 in Torquay
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brandize Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brandize Hotel

Property: Brandize Hotel
Address: 19 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#12 Family Hotel in Torquay
#12 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Brandize Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1906, this elegant Edwardian property is set back from the road and boasts a spacious car park and delightful gardens. Totally non-smoking and welcoming couples and families, the property is in an ideal, quiet location overlooking open parkland, yet close to the beach and many local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Brandize Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brandize Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing