We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Babbacombe Hall , loved every minute of it.”
Review of Babbacombe Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Babbacombe Hall
Ranked #64 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I have just had a week,s stay at Babbacombe Hall and loved every minute of it. A friendly welcome from Glynn and Aida Nothing was too much trouble, they were the perfect hosts. The bedroom Room 15 airy, good size, extremely comfortable bed and pillows,with balcony overlooking the pool. Every part of the hotel was clean and well kept.Aida and her staff serving a lovely breakfast to start the day off,with plenty to see & do just a short distance from the hotel.
We intend to visit again.Mr & Mrs Wilce

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 15 with balcony overlooking front of hotel & pool and well kept garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian17963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 148 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

We came to the Babbacombe Hall for two nights & three days in the middle of July just for a getaway escape. We are a mid-twenties couple. Found the hotel on lastminute.com and we weren't disappointed. We arrived at the hotel and were met by Glyn. He showed us to our room & gave us a brief but knowledgable guide to the nearby area which helped us out as we had never been to Babbacombe or Torquay before.
The room was overlooking the pool & garden area so the view was most definitely better than the rows of terraced houses we are used to back home! The room had a large bathroom with full size bath with shower attachment. The bedroom was decorated very quaintly but colourfull with yellow & mint greens, and lovely pine furniture. Far more personal & special than your more average hotel white bedding & basics. We then went & sat by the pool with a huge selection of leaflets for where we could go while we were there.
We ate out in the evenings but we did ask Glyn if it would be ok if we had wanted to bring a takeaway in, he said yes but would prefer for it to be eaten in the dining area as supposed to in the room, which was good to know.
Breakfast was served from 8.30 to 9.30am, your table had your room number on and this was yours for the duration of the stay. Cereals and juices were available to help yourself to then Glyn took your tea/coffee order and choice from the hot menu. There was a full English, beans or eggs on toast, croissant and some other options. The breakfasts were nicely cooked, presented and served, with no pressure to rush. Aida was cooking but kept popping out to check on everyone & interact with her guests.
In the evenings we did go for a wander but came back to the hotel bar for drinks. On our last night we had gin & tonics, served as doubles, as Glyn said that was the only way they should be drank! He later joined us outside by the pool for a chat.
When we left, Aida thanked us very much for choosing to stay with them & hoped that we had a great time. We did! It was a lovely little guest house which I could imagine me & my partner, along with my family spending some time really relaxing & having some fun!
Even when I broke the bathroom light within minutes of arriving, you were more worried that the fan being stuck on would disturb our stay than rather than the fact that I had broke something. Thank you very much to Glyn and Aida for everything you do.
Laura And Ian.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Just had a good break in Babbacombe. Babbacombe Hall very clean and welcoming B@B, lovely breakfast. Lovely little garden with small pool, general area quiet and good position for walking to all the attractions in Babbacombe.
Would return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heartbeatmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Lovely little hotel for a weekend getaway.
Clean and tidy, although the decor may not suit a younger audience.
Within easy walking distance of Babbacome Beach and the local shops and bars of St Maryschurch.
Buses into Torquay harbour start from just around the corner for those without a car.
The owners are also very nice and welcoming people.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 789_JM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Had a lovely 3 nights at this hotel. Went in pool everyday and hotel was very clean, we even had a balcony. Breakfast was nice, glen was accommodating and knowledgable of the area. Would definitely return to this hotel if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

On arrival, we met Glyn who was very pleasant and welcoming. We were given a choice of a cup of tea/coffee or a cold drink from the bar. Whilst drinking we met Glyn mother, and Glyn explained where a lot of the attractions and amenities were in the area, which helped us getting around.
We had a room with a separate private bathroom. The room and the bathroom were very well decorated, clean and very comfortable.
Leaflets were widely available in the foyer downstairs. Glyn was also very approachable if you needed anything in the hotel or ask questions about how to get somewhere.
At breakfast, you sit in the restaurant/bar area. You can firstly help yourself to cereal and juice before Glyn or Aida take your order for tea/coffee and your selection from the menu. There is no rush and you can take your time deciding with no pressure to hurry up.
The pool area is a great place to just relax. There are tables and benches to sit on and the garden is very private and cut off from the outside. The pool is a good size for a leisurely dip and on occasion Glyn may join you if he has the time. Great chats guaranteed!!!!
Overall myself and my partner would definitely go back with no hesitation. Great long weekend away and we felt thoroughly relaxed and well looked after. Recommended!!!!!!!

Room Tip: If you want to save a little bit of money then choose the room we stayed in with the separate bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

From the moment we arrived at Babbacombe hall, we knew we were going to be treated well.We were offered a better room than the one we chose, at no extra cost.Aida gave us a grand tour of the facfilities and gave us a little info about the area we were in.There is abundance of leaflettes to hand,The breakfast was exceptional, my wife spent most of the time in the pool.The hotel has good facilities, ample parking and is in an good allround location . easy access to torquay,paignton,dartmouth and the local shops and atractions.We will be going again, and will recommend this hotel to everybody we know. We will book direct with Babbacombe hall in the future.

Room Tip: all rooms are really good. book direct and be the early bird that gets the worm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twosuvsholiday13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1 mi away
The Richwood
The Richwood
#51 of 85 in Torquay
280 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,119 reviews
1 mi away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#16 of 85 in Torquay
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Glenorleigh
Glenorleigh
#54 of 149 in Torquay
73 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Iona Torquay
The Iona Torquay
#57 of 149 in Torquay
284 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#29 of 85 in Torquay
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babbacombe Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babbacombe Hall

Address: 17 Manor Road, Torquay TQ1 3JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $381 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Babbacombe Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Babbacombe Hall is a small, family run Guest Accommodation. Conveniently located, Outdoor Pool, Licensed Bar, Parking, Optional Evening Meals. We are committed to offering you a quality and personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Babbacombe Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babbacombe Hall Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing