We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Ranked #10 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We have just returned from a week's stay in this delightful hotel. We stayed in a Gold room which overlooked the well tended gardens and Torbay in the distance. The hotel has obviously been given a facelift and it would appear that no expense has been spared. All staff were very friendly and helpful. There is an extensive menu every evening and the food is of the highest standard. Breakfast is also delicious. The owners can feel very proud of their team and not wishing to single out anyone we would particularly commend David (hotel manager), Chris (bar and restaurant manager), Russell who served our drinks and last but not least the very capable chef. Many thanks to all for a very pleasant week.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luckygables
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    111
    19
    3
    1
See reviews for
101
372
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed here for the weekend a couple of weeks ago with a group of friends. We booked 4 standard rooms which were all really nice, being tastefully decorated and very clean. The bathrooms were all spotless and felt brand new. The staff all seemed very friendly and happy to help. The location, although up quite a steep hill, was walking distance to shops, bars, restaurants and the seafront.

I would highly recommend this hotel as good value for money. I hope to return sometime this year with my partner.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellagumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2013

After staying at the hotel with my husband in December, and being very impressed I decided to "risk" staying on my own for a few days when he was unable to make it. I was upgraded from a single to a double room in the main hotel, this was a pleasant surprise. ( Last time we stayed in a superior room in the Wing - which was fab!) The staff are so friendly and made me feel at ease, and the evening entertainment gave me an opportunity to meet and chat with the other guests. I met some lovely people. I returned home feeling very relaxed, and have already booked our next stay. As a couple it is well worth booking a superior or gold room for the extra space.

Room Tip: Staff are very helpful and honest about helping you choose the right room. Ask before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from 23rd March to 25th March 2013, and wished we could have stayed longer.
Whilst the weather was extremely cold, the hotel gave a warm welcome. We stayed on a B & B basis, but the 3 course evening meal was seriously good value for money if you wanted to eat in.
Hotel rooms were clean and extremely comfortable. Well worth the money

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topcatnumberone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Lincombe Hall hosted my wedding reception and were absolutely brilliant from day one- they were so helpful in planning and the day itself was just perfect - they looked after myself and my husband like we were royalty- nothing was too much. We have had countless comments from guests about the hotel, the rooms, the service, the food (amazing!) please if you are thinking of having your wedding there I couldn't recommend it enough.. Absolute hidden gem in a lovely location

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zedvsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just returned from a 4 day break at Lincombe Hall ( first visit) and will certainly be back within the next two or three months! For a three star hotel it was excellent, we have stayed at many four star hotels that are not up to the standard of this one. The food was of a very high standard, the staff were without exception, some of the most friendly and efficient that we have encountered in a long time and the accommodation and facilities could not be faulted.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport -Trefdraeth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

just returned from a short break at this lovely hotel and agree with all the comments of it's comfort and excellent service and food . the only thing stopping a 5 out of 5 was the lack of a lift , the wife's bad knee made it a bit of a struggle , however the room and bathroom were very comfortable , the bath fantastic . breakfast was very good however the evening meal was a little to "designer food " for the wife who likes simple food ,( a quible only) . i have say the staff were very welcoming , they seemed to be a family rather than colleagues . quality hotel and staff

Room Tip: no lift to top floor , quite steep stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ken y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 87 in Torquay
2,890 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
855 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,383 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#5 of 87 in Torquay
483 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lincombe Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lincombe Hall Hotel

Property: Lincombe Hall Hotel
Address: Meadfoot Rd, Torquay TQ1 2JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Torquay
#5 Business Hotel in Torquay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lincombe Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently awarded AA 4 Stars, Lincombe Hall Hotel is the first EXCLUSIVELY FOR ADULTS (no children under 16), privately owned hotel, in Torquay. Winner of Hotel of the Year 2012, Silver 2013 and 2014 for South Devon, Bronze for Devon 2012 and 2014 and 4th Place in SW England Hotel of the Year 2012-13, Lincombe Hall Hotel has been extensively refurbished to become one of the best hotels in Torquay. Located just a few minutes walk from the harbour and marina, upmarket restaurants and shops, Lincombe Hall Hotel offers tastefully decorated bedrooms, some with sea views, complimentary WiFi across the whole hotel, a beautiful heated outdoor pool and jacuzzi, large patio, heated small indoor pool and jacuzzi, ample free parking, spacious bar and lounge areas with live entertainment on alternate nights all set in extensive grounds. Choose from oversized Gold Rooms, many with sea views, large Superior Rooms, or one of our upgraded Standard Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lincombe Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lincombe Hall Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing