We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Ranked #10 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We decided to go for a late booking weekend break and picked this hotel. This is an excellent hotel staff brilliant they actually have time to talk to you and are very attentive. The room we had was a standard room which was more than adequate for our needs but having seen the larger rooms would treat ourselves next time. The shower was excellent and a nice large shower tray so you were not hemmed in. We decided to eat at the hotel as we had booked for B&B. The evening meals are of very high quality and are very reasonable. I have paid far more locally in a high quality restuarant and the food has not been as good. I believe that the chef has been there for 25 years and it shows in quality and presentation. We will be going back very soon and I would highly recommend this hotel. Good Value, Good Food, GoodQuality what more can you ask for..

Room Tip: We had room 37
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (646)
There are newer reviews for Lincombe Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

538 - 544 of 646 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

Visited Torquay on business and on our way to visit our son, hadn't pre-booked or checked websites as there wasn't time on this occasion - liked the look of this hotel and called in to ask availability - were impressed the minute we stepped in the door! This hotel is top notch, outstanding in every way and quite simply, having become more and more disappointed with hotels abroad, made us realise what we have here in the UK! Could write endlessly praising the hotel and staff but in summary the main points we found are:-
* Lovely welcome on arrival, sincere greeting and booked in quickly
* the staff are all very polite and helpful - highly polished, excellent customer service
* lovely decor, spotlessly clean and in the bar and lounge areas there are plenty of big comfy sofas to sit and relax with enough room for privacy
* room excellent - again nice decor (having now looked at the website, the rooms are as the pictures show) lovely comfy bed, good size room, quality bed linen and plenty of plug sockets
* quality bathroom fittings, large deep bath and power shower
* food outstanding and the restaurant is lovely, above excellent service - highly recommend you book an evening meal when staying here, it is amazing value for money and you cannot fault it
* entertainment - good singer the night we stayed and told by other guests the standard is consistently high and the cinema room with a large screen (different film every night) is a nice addition
* 2 ironing rooms for guest use, very useful
* indoor pool although not very big, spotlessly clean
* not too far to walk to the marina and shops, took us approx 5 minutes, bit of an incline but not difficult at a steady pace
* big car park
In summary - well worth staying here, can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front or to the left (facing the hotel) have the best views
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BAL410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed for one night at the end of January 2013. Booked online a couple of weeks beforehand and got a fantastic price for the room. To top things off I was given a free upgrade to a Superior room on arrival. Quite simply the best value hotel that I have ever stayed in. Friendly staff and a very pleasant hotel (apparently it has been recently refurbished and looks very smart). The location is perfect, far enough away from the town centre to be in a quiet location, but close enough to enjoy good views and make getting in to town a five minute task. If I had to pick a negative (and I'm really struggling here) it would be that they weren't serving lunch on the day that I checked in, but it was the middle of winter. Have already booked to come back again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kernow_I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

stayed 26 january 2013 me and my wife,was made welcome from the moment we walk in the door ,rooms very nice started with a gold room had a couple of beers and ended up with the bridle room was worth the money will be back in april

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We visited this hotel end of January 2013 for two nights,We booked online and got a huge discount.The hotel is perfectly located within a 5 minute walk to the town although the walk back is up a steep hill.When we got there we was greeted with a warm welcome. and was told that we had been upgraded to a Superior double room for no extra cost.Room was very nice warm and cosey lcd tv and a large bed. Breakfast was a buffet style help yourself plenty of choice.There are also indoor and outdoor swimming pools but not open on our visit.Overall I would recommend this Hotel and would be hoping making a return visit in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skodafamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed on a new year break with friends, we have travelled around the world, and the UK, stayed in many hotels from 5 star in Las Vegas to the Grand Hotel in Brighton, and the Lincombe rates as one of the best we have visited on every level imaginable.

Although rated as a 3 * it is nearer a 4plus. I thought very good value for money, I've paid more for a lot less in other hotels. It's location is very good, a few minutes walk to the town, plenty of car parking,
We stayed in the annex, lovley room, quiet, and clean, tea/coffee in your room, and TV with all the channels you could want.
I have never meet such a happy team of staff, they were all extremily friendly, and helpful with what ever you asked. They were happy to chat to you and keen to make sure that your stay was a memorable one. They were always there when needed. The owners also took time to circulate, speaking to all the guests, making sure that everyone was having a good time.

The food was out of this world,all "home cooked". The breakfast, buffet style, and plenty of choice, lunches from the bar menu were also very good value. The evening meals were outstanding as were again the choices. Bar prices were as you would expect for a nice hotel.

The hotel was very clean, tidy and comfortable, plenty of room in all areas, the new year evening dinner/dance/disco was a great night, and we danced away until 1am! Attention to detail helps move this hotel up to the next level! whilst the detail might seem small, they all add up the giving you a first class experience, for example, leather coasters, not the brewery cardboard issue, good quality loo paper!! so often hotels opt for the cheaper option, games in the bar area to play.

A very nice indoor pool and an outdoor one although we never used them, they looked top notch

Like me you will probably read a few of the reviews for this hotel, I was pleased to see that there were no exagerations about the quality. We will most certainly use the Lincombe is we stay in Torquay again. I'm hoping to get back there for the new year again.
Well done to all the staff!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msh711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

As a surprise for a twixmas break, our son took us to The Lincombe Hall Hotel. We had no idea where we were going, just told to pack a case as we would normally for a weekend break. Anyway we got onto the M27 from Southampton and headed west and after a guessing game it was not until we reached Torquay that we new our final destination. Now, I had never given a thought to visit Torquay, as I did not have a good opinion of British seaside hotels; well, did I get a surprise. This hotel is absolutely lovely, as good as the country hotels we are used to visiting. Our rooms were in the west wing and was big and beautifully decorated, it had apparently once had superior status. Had a large king bed, big screen and modern bathroom. Our son had a large single, which had a four foot six bed, a smaller tv and shower/wc room and he paid no single supplement. The whole placed was spotless and sympathetically restored to it's natural, Georgian beauty. There was a plethora of Christmas trees in the public areas and the garden was a tasteful mass of of white sparkling decorations on the trees. So far so good! We had a good look round after unpacking and went for a walk to look around the quayside. Not a good idea for anyone who is elderly and/or has a disability,(am I allowed to say this!) the walk back to the hotel is quite steep, however, there is a bus service and the bus stop is about 25 yards from hotel.

The restaurant was also very good, light and airy with conservatory overlooking the town. Decorated rococo style and not too over crowded, the food is excellent but don't expect huge portions, the cuisine (three courses) is of a very high standard, quality as opposed to quantity, locally sourced ingredients and it was plenty for us. Coffee was self served in the bar and Included in the break was three nights of entertainment. Breakfast was usual buffet style and a good well cooked selection.

There are two swimming pools at this hotel, one outdoors with a jacuzzi and a small indoor one. As there are only 44 rooms, I deem this is ample. The hotel deserves more stars than it has and the reason it won't be upgraded is because it does not have a lift, however, you could book a low floor room. The staff were friendly, we got to know all their names by dinner time - through my husband.

Take a look at their website, they offer three night breaks half board at a reasonable price and several discounts on longer stays. I cannot fault this hotel at all but as usual you need to try it yourself, as we all have different expectations, all I can offer is that as my husband has been in catering most of his adult life, including first class establishments, he also enjoyed himself.

Room Tip: We had rooms in wing which is attached to hotel by corridor and looked over front garden and car par...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pebbles-south
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,954 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 87 in Torquay
2,430 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
553 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#5 of 87 in Torquay
495 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#22 of 87 in Torquay
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lincombe Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lincombe Hall Hotel

Address: Meadfoot Rd, Torquay TQ1 2JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Torquay
#5 Family Hotel in Torquay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $104 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lincombe Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently awarded AA 4 Stars, Lincombe Hall Hotel is the first EXCLUSIVELY FOR ADULTS (no children under 16), privately owned hotel, in Torquay. Winner of Hotel of the Year 2012, Silver 2013 and 2014 for South Devon, Bronze for Devon 2012 and 2014 and 4th Place in SW England Hotel of the Year 2012-13, Lincombe Hall Hotel has been extensively refurbished to become one of the best hotels in Torquay. Located just a few minutes walk from the harbour and marina, upmarket restaurants and shops, Lincombe Hall Hotel offers tastefully decorated bedrooms, some with sea views, complimentary WiFi across the whole hotel, a beautiful heated outdoor pool and jacuzzi, large patio, heated small indoor pool and jacuzzi, ample free parking, spacious bar and lounge areas with live entertainment on alternate nights all set in extensive grounds. Choose from oversized Gold Rooms, many with sea views, large Superior Rooms, or one of our upgraded Standard Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lincombe Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lincombe Hall Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing