We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aveland House”
Review of Aveland House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aveland House
Ranked #71 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Mitcham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Aveland House”
Reviewed September 13, 2010

I had a throughly enjoyable stay here. It's well situated - just a few minutes walk from a wonderful view from the cliffs overlooking Babbacombe Bay. The harbour end of Torquay is easy to get to by bus and in general it made an excellent basis for exploring the South Devon coastline and English Riviera.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidMitcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    30
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
32
69
32
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
BOGNOR REGIS
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2010

we stayed at aveland house over the bank holiday weekend its spotlessly clean very comfy and the owners make u very welcome ! THE BREAKFAST WAS LOVELY and bed very comfy ! we love the beach at babbacombe its beautiful we will definetly be back thank you

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JANEBOGNORREGIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

my wife and i enjoyed our long weekend at aveland house we found it to be very clean jacqui and david were very friendly hosts -the breakfast was good well cooked with quality ingredients-as we had to stay in a twin-room we found it rather compact with a small shower/toilet and as we stayed in for dinner were dissapointed with the fixed menu even though the food was good quality .

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silversurfer62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2010

A fabulous B&B, exceptional welcome and service, pristine rooms and thoughtful additional facilities - like a separate bin for recyclable materials in the rooms, fairtrade tea & coffee and a wonderful homemade breakfast. Look forward to staying here again. Thank you. JB

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jobo10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergisch Gladbach
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2010

We stayed for three nights and were very pleased by the the owners they did the service and cooking perfect and even helped us in a very special problem we received during our stay.

The rooms are very nice and the breakfast was perfect and individual cooked for each of us and the house is placed close to the Babbacombe beach (5 Min). We also liked the possibility of booking a single room for our daughter.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kuerzell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2010

We were greeted with a warm and friendly reception and given information and advice on where to visit and how to get there. At breakfast you could have want you wanted and special care was taken to accomodate my gluten free diet so I would recommand it to coeliac sufferers.

The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable for a good nights sleep. The hotel was in a good location in a quiet area just a short walk from the sea front but to go into Torquay you would need to catch a bus or have access to a car.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scarletts1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2010

My partner and I stayed at the Aveland House for a weekend in April and after doing our research we chose the Aveland House. There website was informative and the owners Jacqui and David were more than helpful from the very start when we rang to make our booking and on our arrival we felt at home straight away. The Aveland House is in Babbacombe which is a gorgeous area within Torquay, its the complete opposite of the terraced hotel streets you probably think of when you think seaside town. From the hotel there are parks at the end of the road and Babbacombe beach and 'The Downs' were only 5 minutes walk away! The hotel was absolutely spotless, our room was a good size and most importantly it was warm, our pillows were not paper thin, the bed was comfortable and we slept extremely well. The breakfast in the morning was nothing short of first class, from the eggs to the bacon everything was locally sourced and tasted amazing! There was also an excellent choice of other things, yoghurts, croissants, fruit etc for the more healthy type (not me)! The great thing about our stay was nothing was too much trouble, the attention to detail sets it apart to other hotels we have stayed at. You feel like you're at a second home and Jacqui and David were extremelty friendly and were always on hand to offer advice about what to do, where to go and where to eat with there seemingly endless knowledge of the area,

No we've found it we will back again without a doubt!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xanderxavier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Hotel
Anchorage Hotel
#72 of 87 in Torquay
386 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
631 reviews
1.1 mi away
Garway Lodge
Garway Lodge
#21 of 149 in Torquay
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Babbacombe Hall
Babbacombe Hall
#70 of 149 in Torquay
140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abberley Guest House
Abberley Guest House
#105 of 149 in Torquay
95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Babbacombe Guest House
Babbacombe Guest House
#61 of 149 in Torquay
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aveland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aveland House

Property: Aveland House
Address: Aveland House Aveland Road | Babbacombe, Torquay TQ1 3PT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aveland House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aveland House AA 4 Star Guest Accommodation Babbacombe,Torquay Devon.Just a short walk to Babbacombe sea front, FREE WI-FI throughout your stay. Free Parking. Come & enjoy breathtaking views glorious beaches, coastal path walks & our wonderful tourist attractions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aveland House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aveland House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing