We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harmony Guest House
Ranked #23 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely place to stay!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I came to Torquay with my 87 year old mother to visit a relative who was ill in hospital. I googled hotels in the postcode that my family lived in and what a result!! Monika and Hans were so lovely and especially caring to my mother. We were both given double rooms for single occupancy on the ground floor which was ideal for mum.
The rooms were lovely with lots of little touches that made our stay more enjoyable; bottled water as well as the usual tea, coffee etc(of which there was plenty and with various types of each), pretty orchids in each room,beautifully decorated and with modern furniture and lovely soft furnishings,sweets left on the pillow, free wifi and a decent hairdryer rather than the usual awful travel ones. The beds were very comfortable and the shower was very good. We both enjoyed spotting all of the different musical instruments.
Breakfast was a delight! A variety of cereals, yoghurts, cheeses, fruits and fruit juices as well as hot bread rolls and croissants.Then there was the cooked breakfast which was wonderful. Nothing was too much trouble and they even produced poached egg for me (which was not on the menu) when i said it was my favourited. Again the little touches really made it special; beautiful crockery, starched linen table clothes and napkins,the pretty cruets, music and of course the musical instruments everywhere.
The whole hotel is spotlessly clean. The best part though is welcome you receive from Monika and Hans. I would recommend this hotel wholeheartedly and I sure that I will return there again.

Room Tip: I only saw the two rooms that we stayed in on the ground floor but both were lovely and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weathergirl222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika_and_Hans, Owner at Harmony Guest House, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your review. Normally I respond directly but yours was so full of praise that I could not find the words. You did hit the nail on the head on every point we think is important for a wonderful stay. So glad you enjoyed your stay. We think it's often the little things that make the difference. Harmony B&B offers a good night sleep and a very good breakfast (that's what our guests tell us) and we put in a lot of ourselves into our B&B/home.
Thank you for recommending us, that is the best praise we can get.
Hans & Monika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
101
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is the second time we've stayed here.
The couple running the hotel are very friendly and helpful. As we were leaving to go scuba diving early mornings they gave us breakfast to take away. This was enough for breakfast and dinner, which was nice.

Even though the rooms were very nice last year it looks like they are decorating the rooms at the moment. We were shown the room we stayed in last year and its really nice (it was nice before decoration as well).

This time we stayed in room 1, which is on the ground floor. Different types of tea, coffee, chocolate to choose from in the room, as well as a couple bottles of water. A few mini biscuits and a couple of sweets as well which were a nice touch.
If you are wondering why the sweets in reception were going down quick at the weekend...... That was me :-)

Although we didn't eat there we did notice they've been awarded 5 stars for hygiene.
The whole hotel did seem very clean and some rooms have been recently decorated, although some parts of the hotel and our suite were still a little older. But I must state that this was only noticed due to being able to compare it with the new decorating and it's NOT a negative comment in any way, as everywhere was very clean and very nice.

There was a problem with hot water during our stay. It seemed this was a one off problem and had has not happened before. It didn't cause us any real problems and we reported it. It was soon fixed and were were thanked for promptly letting them know before more guests arrived for the weekend.

Room 1 comments....
Good hair dryer.
Very large bed, although a little soft compared to what we are used to.
On suite very small, but very clean.
Great selection of tea, coffee etc.
Modern tv with DVD player.
Can be a little noisey as this room was next to the road - this didn't bother us though.

Thanks for Hans and Monika for making us welcome.
Hopefully see you next year....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian_Notts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika_and_Hans, Owner at Harmony Guest House, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Breakfast-on-the-Go is one of the things we do for our guests. We started doing it for the "really very early" starting professionals we get. They told us "not to bother with breakfast" as sometimes they started at 6 AM. We did not like that and started diong the "really early" Breakfats-on-the-Go and since than extended it to other guests that have early commitments. We are currently updating all our rooms as part of our overall maintenance programme. Also the way the new rooms are now tells something about Harmony and is not 'just' a place to put a bed. We're not ready yet so some parts of Harmony are OK but still need our attention. Clean it has to be, whatever the age of the en-suite or the room.
We knew where the sweets had gone as you left the evidence in your bin :-) but they are there to be enioyed and you clearly did.
We were so glad you directly told us you had a problem with the water and not "put up" with it. Now we could solve it quickly and fix the boiler controls. That's why we always say "if there is something, tell us and we solve it or make other arrangements" So glad you did and in the weekend all the guests had good showers. They don't know we had a fault but we're sure they are very grateful you told us.
Love to see you again next year.
Hans & Monika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Had a great time once again, we were holidaying in North Devon and wanted to extend our stay and the Harmony hotel was where we chose to stay. They couldn't of been more accommodating, very hospitable and Monika had made some gluten free muffins for us as she remembered I couldn't have gluten. Will be going back again! Always immaculately clean and lovely breakfasts!

Room Tip: We stayed in the family room which was spacious with 4 of us staying, there is a double, single and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika_and_Hans, Owner at Harmony Guest House, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We love to take care of you and always pull out all the stops for our guests. Glad you picked us again for a stay brcause that's the best praise we can get. Harmony is our home and we like our guests to be happy. When I was doing the booking Monika said she would make some Gluten free things. I leave that to her as she's the Chef of Harmony and remembers details like that. We were glad to see you and hope to see you again later in the year.
Love, Hans & Monika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2013

we have stayed at the harmony b&b for the second year in a row. it was lovely last year. but it is even better this year. We stayed there from 27th July to 3rd august. we noticed it had a 5 star ratting and its well deserved. bedrooms are beautiful. the beds are like sleeping on clouds. the hosts Monika & Hans make you feel welcome nothing is to much trouble. I'm disabled they made me feel equal. Torquay & Devon are lovely places to go with lots of thing to do. We will be coming back next year. dot & Dave

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika_and_Hans, Owner at Harmony Guest House, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
What can we say more than thank you for this excellent review. Returning guests ar most welcome and show us we are on the right way. We think there is alway room for improvement and we're glad you've love the improvements we've made. We aim for 5 star quality and your review shows us we're getiing there. Handicap or not we try to give each guest the best experience we can give.
Love to see you again.
Monika & Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chulmleigh
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I received a very warm welcome from Hans & Monika, throughout my short stay.

The accommodation throughout provided a warm and comfortable atmosphere, the bedroom was very clean, and the display of musical instruments in the breakfast room fascinating.

I would certainly return to this Guest House. Perhaps the host should give a rendition to demonstrate his musical prowess.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika_and_Hans, Owner at Harmony Guest House, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
A warm welcome and good bed and a harty breakfast that's what B&B is all about. Clean it has to be. We don't like to stay in a grubby place, nor do we expect our guests to.
We like our music and in the summer you can find Hans playing his bass-trombone in Torbay Concert Brass when they have their seafront concert on the Wednesday evening. Most of the instruments you see in our B&B were hanging on the wall in our living room before we started running Harmony B&B.
Hope to see you again,
Monika & Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryde, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We arrived to a very warm welcome from Monika & Hans.
My husband Loved the cooked breakfast and I enjoyed the large variety of choice from the buffet.
Room was very clean and comfortable with tea & coffee making facilities. We would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika_and_Hans, Owner at Harmony Guest House, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
We were so glad you managed to come at the time you originally planned your stay. You booked, than you had to shift your stay to Sept. In the end the reason you had to change was delayed to later in the year and we could change the booking back to the dates you liked better. Luckely we still had one room available so we could shift again.
Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to see you again in Harmony.
Monika & Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This comfortable B and B with a lovely modernised room was perfect for us and our one year old. The room was on the ground floor so it was easily accessible for us, our son and all our things. Plus there was a room with tv and games we could sit in once he'd gone to bed directly looking at the door to his room so we knew he was safe. Lovely breakfast, although it was quite a wait for our impatient little man, but this was because the B and B was full. I love the music theme too. Little touches like a hair dryer in one of the draws, choice of tea and coffee in the bedroom and night light style lamps made it that bit more special. Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jtgcsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika_and_Hans, Owner at Harmony Guest House, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
The room you had normally has a seating area but to make space for you travel cot we took the bigger chairs out. Luckely the room is very close to the lounge and you made good use of that. This way you almost had two rooms :-) Your little boy could sleep easily while you used the TV in the lounge. Glad you like our modern look and the music theme. It's the way we like our home to be.
Monika & Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Garway Lodge
Garway Lodge
#29 of 149 in Torquay
218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kethla House
Kethla House
#34 of 149 in Torquay
157 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avron House
Avron House
#28 of 149 in Torquay
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kingston House
Kingston House
#22 of 149 in Torquay
188 reviews
0.2 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 149 in Torquay
305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Burleigh House
Burleigh House
#25 of 149 in Torquay
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harmony Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony Guest House

Property: Harmony Guest House
Address: 67 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harmony Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harmony Guest House is exclusively for adults, providing our guests the perfect opportunity to relax. The Harmony has eight letting bedrooms, all of which are en-suite. We have a twin room, a super-king room and six double rooms (one ground floor). We offer a range of double rooms to suit any budget, with three standard doubles (one on the ground floor), one superior double and two large superior doubles (one with a bath). We have plenty of on-site free parking with more than enough space for each room. For breakfast, guests are welcome to help themselves to any of the selection available from our breakfast bar, such as, ham, cheese, juices, milk, cereals, muesli, fresh fruit, yogurts, spreads and jams. Cooked breakfasts are prepared to order and guests can select from our cooked breakfast menu. We now have an honesty bar system in our guest lounge. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Harmony Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harmony Guest House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing