We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harmony Guest House
Ranked #27 of 148 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
“Great Stay”
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We arrived on 3 motorcycles, great warm welcome by our hosts.
Made sure bikes were safely parked out of site. Great rooms all newly refurbished.
Opened bar for us could not have done more.

Would recommend to all and great Dutch hosts who run this Hotel.
Will come back again and recommend to any touring bikes or if you need a friendly and good place to stay in Torquay.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin Sarney s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika_and_Hans, Owner at Harmony Guest House, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
You were the first bikers that stayed with us in Harmony. We're "biker friendly" as they say, as if bikers are not welcome otherwise. The only "risk" you take is that you have to give Monika a spin on the back of your bike.
We luckely have a parking on the side of the B&B away from the main road so it was safe to leave your bikes there. The rooms you were in had been redecorated as part of our overall decoration programme and other rooms will soon follow. Glad you liked the bright and modern music-look.
Next time you come, stay a bit longer. With Harmony as a base you can do many beautiful runs on the bike in Devon and Cornwall and also explore Torbay for all it's beauty.
We'd love to see you back one day.
Monika & Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
98
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at the Harmony for one night last weekend. I don’t often write reviews but I felt it was worth writing for the Harmony. The room was clean and well equipped (including free WiFi). While the B&B was a slight walk to the main area (10 mins to the harbour a further 10 to the main bars and restaurants), it was a lovely pleasant walk. Also, the B&B was very quiet. The breakfast was outstanding– warm breads and pastries, juice, cheese, tomatoes and a hot breakfast made to your requirements. I am a vegetarian and was surprised to be given a choice of vegetarian sausages! Hans & Monika were also extremely good hosts. I would whole-heartedly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolinef98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika_and_Hans, Owner at Harmony Guest House, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
"Exceeded our expectations". That's what we are aiming for. Glad we could make your stay memorable and so good. The biggest compliment you could give us was the fact that you felt you HAD TO review us with such an excellent review. So glad you found your new BMW near us and picked us for the night because we also enjoyed your short stay with us and hope to see you again one day. Torbay and Devon have so much to offer to merit a longer stay.

Monika & Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knebworth
2 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Excellent B & B. My room was spacious and airy, I had the best night's sleep at a hotel/B & B that I have had for a long time. Hans and Moniker are very welcoming and were immediately flexible, knowing that I had to have an early breakfast, as I was on a business trip.

I would welcome the opportunity to return- thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika_and_Hans, Owner at Harmony Guest House, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
It was a pleasure having you to stay Graham. Bed & Breakfast, the name says it all, if anything should be good it's your BED. All the beds have orthopedic matresses with a layer of memory foam so a good night sleep is guaranteed. It was no bother to do you an early breakfast. You had to go to work and getting up a bit ealier for you was no problem what so ever. We'd love to see you again. Next time when you have to come down for work, stay a few days longer so you can realy enjoy everything Harmony and Torquay have to offer.

Monika & Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Very very good place to stay, clean rooms, tidy and detail. Good service and the owners are very polite and pleasant. 10 minutes walking from the harbour and quiet place to sleep. Breakfast home made and hot dishes are made by demand. Very good quality ( scrambled eggs were perfect

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NachoOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika_and_Hans, Owner at Harmony Guest House, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for your review, it proves we are on the right way with Harmony B&B. We feel we still have some way to go till we reach our goal of what we want Harmony to be, but your comments prove we do it right.
Today we also received our certificate of Excellence from TripAdvisor thanks to your excellent review and those of our other guests. Being in the top 10% makes us feel proud of what we are doing.
We hope to see you again in the future, it was a pleasure having you to stay as a guest in our home.

Kind regards,
Monika & Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly and welcoming. Very clean, nothing is ever too much trouble, and would definitely stay there again. The room we stayed in this time was comfortable and homely. It looked like it had been decorated, but Hans and Monika, said they were going to be doing it up, so when we go back in November, I will look forward to what it's going to look like. We have stayed there a few times! Breakfast, is ample and you can have as much or as little as you want, I can not eat wheat or gluten, and Monika, baked me some special bread, that's what I call brilliant. You are made to feel like extended family.



Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Petra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika_and_Hans, Owner at Harmony Guest House, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We'd love to see you back again and again. Sometimes for us it's difficult to see it as a business. We have guests to stay in our home (not "customers" as most hotels see them) and more than once these guests become friends. If we know you have special dietary wishes why not try to fulfill them. So the chocolate muffins and the bread were fun to bake. We love to pamper our guests and give them our best. The decorating of your room is what we thought of as "OK" we improved it in the two years we have been here but it did not yet have the special look we like our rooms to have. Comfortable but also with character. You'll see when you come back in November.
Hans & Monika.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I recently travelled down to Torquay for a short Easter break, and chose the harmony for its unique styling theme,
The hotel décor was fantastic, the walls are lined with musical memorabilia, which is you are music enthusiasts such as my partner and I, is a wonderful feature,
Our room was cosy and nicely laid out, the bed was nice and we had a lovely personal greeting,
The owners Hans and Monika were excellent hosts, and the cooked to order breakfast was brilliant, Including some home made hot cross buns (which my girlfriend is still trying to replicate)
If we return to Torquay we shall definitely be using this B&B again

Room Tip: if like me, you like very soft feathery pillows, then do bring one with you, But the pillows are s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AL-Creed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika_and_Hans, Owner at Harmony Guest House, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hello Alex and Bex

We are so pleased you like our B&B and it's musical theme. It's 100% "us" as we are both into music but you never know what other people think of it. Breakfast is the most important meal of the day and as B&B the only meal we have control over. We know we don't make it easy for you with all the choices from the buffet and the menu but we like to pamper our guests. (The hot cross buns are only available at Easter and have a Dutch 'twist' in them)
With a large number of people being allergic we decided not to have feather pillows and duvets but good quality synthetic ones. But as you say, taking a pillow if you really prefer feathers it is the solution. Good of you mention it and to inform other guests.
We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards, Monika & Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We have just arrived home from a fantasic break. Hans & Monika are great hosts. Rooms are very clean and comfortable, breakfast was amzing great choice. Hans & Monika welcomes you like long lost friends, great couple keep up the good work. We will defintely be returning. Also a big thank you for my box of chocolates.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika_and_Hans, Owner at Harmony Guest House, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Hi Julie.
When we served our welcome drink in our bar and treated the group on the typical Dutch "oliebollen" as a welcome to our home, birthdays were mentioned. And when we found out it was going to be your birthday the next day we made sure you would get something from us. It felt so like friends arriving and that makes one go the extra mile. We like to give our guests the best and make the stay very comfortable. We are glad you feel that we did an exellent job. It was no trouble at all and we'd like to see you again soon.
Love, Hans & Monika.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Burleigh House
Burleigh House
#26 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avron House
Avron House
#28 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.0 mi away
Garway Lodge
Garway Lodge
#30 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#2 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#3 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sandpiper Guest House
The Sandpiper Guest House
#25 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harmony Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony Guest House

Property: Harmony Guest House
Address: 67 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harmony Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harmony Guest House is exclusively for adults, providing our guests the perfect opportunity to relax. The Harmony has eight letting bedrooms, all of which are en-suite. We have a twin room, a super-king room and six double rooms (one ground floor). We offer a range of double rooms to suit any budget, with three standard doubles (one on the ground floor), one superior double and two large superior doubles (one with a bath). We have plenty of on-site free parking with more than enough space for each room. For breakfast, guests are welcome to help themselves to any of the selection available from our breakfast bar, such as, ham, cheese, juices, milk, cereals, muesli, fresh fruit, yogurts, spreads and jams. Cooked breakfasts are prepared to order and guests can select from our cooked breakfast menu. We now have an honesty bar system in our guest lounge. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Harmony Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harmony Guest House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing