We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Quality B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harmony Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #22 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Very very good place to stay, clean rooms, tidy and detail. Good service and the owners are very polite and pleasant. 10 minutes walking from the harbour and quiet place to sleep. Breakfast home made and hot dishes are made by demand. Very good quality ( scrambled eggs were perfect

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NachoOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika_and_Hans, Owner at Harmony Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Thank you for your review, it proves we are on the right way with Harmony B&B. We feel we still have some way to go till we reach our goal of what we want Harmony to be, but your comments prove we do it right.
Today we also received our certificate of Excellence from TripAdvisor thanks to your excellent review and those of our other guests. Being in the top 10% makes us feel proud of what we are doing.
We hope to see you again in the future, it was a pleasure having you to stay as a guest in our home.

Kind regards,
Monika & Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
There are newer reviews for Harmony Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 204 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

Very friendly and welcoming. Very clean, nothing is ever too much trouble, and would definitely stay there again. The room we stayed in this time was comfortable and homely. It looked like it had been decorated, but Hans and Monika, said they were going to be doing it up, so when we go back in November, I will look forward to what it's going to look like. We have stayed there a few times! Breakfast, is ample and you can have as much or as little as you want, I can not eat wheat or gluten, and Monika, baked me some special bread, that's what I call brilliant. You are made to feel like extended family.



Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Petra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika_and_Hans, Owner at Harmony Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

We'd love to see you back again and again. Sometimes for us it's difficult to see it as a business. We have guests to stay in our home (not "customers" as most hotels see them) and more than once these guests become friends. If we know you have special dietary wishes why not try to fulfill them. So the chocolate muffins and the bread were fun to bake. We love to pamper our guests and give them our best. The decorating of your room is what we thought of as "OK" we improved it in the two years we have been here but it did not yet have the special look we like our rooms to have. Comfortable but also with character. You'll see when you come back in November.
Hans & Monika.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I recently travelled down to Torquay for a short Easter break, and chose the harmony for its unique styling theme,
The hotel décor was fantastic, the walls are lined with musical memorabilia, which is you are music enthusiasts such as my partner and I, is a wonderful feature,
Our room was cosy and nicely laid out, the bed was nice and we had a lovely personal greeting,
The owners Hans and Monika were excellent hosts, and the cooked to order breakfast was brilliant, Including some home made hot cross buns (which my girlfriend is still trying to replicate)
If we return to Torquay we shall definitely be using this B&B again

Room Tip: if like me, you like very soft feathery pillows, then do bring one with you, But the pillows are s...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AL-Creed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika_and_Hans, Owner at Harmony Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Hello Alex and Bex

We are so pleased you like our B&B and it's musical theme. It's 100% "us" as we are both into music but you never know what other people think of it. Breakfast is the most important meal of the day and as B&B the only meal we have control over. We know we don't make it easy for you with all the choices from the buffet and the menu but we like to pamper our guests. (The hot cross buns are only available at Easter and have a Dutch 'twist' in them)
With a large number of people being allergic we decided not to have feather pillows and duvets but good quality synthetic ones. But as you say, taking a pillow if you really prefer feathers it is the solution. Good of you mention it and to inform other guests.
We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards, Monika & Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We have just arrived home from a fantasic break. Hans & Monika are great hosts. Rooms are very clean and comfortable, breakfast was amzing great choice. Hans & Monika welcomes you like long lost friends, great couple keep up the good work. We will defintely be returning. Also a big thank you for my box of chocolates.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika_and_Hans, Owner at Harmony Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Hi Julie.
When we served our welcome drink in our bar and treated the group on the typical Dutch "oliebollen" as a welcome to our home, birthdays were mentioned. And when we found out it was going to be your birthday the next day we made sure you would get something from us. It felt so like friends arriving and that makes one go the extra mile. We like to give our guests the best and make the stay very comfortable. We are glad you feel that we did an exellent job. It was no trouble at all and we'd like to see you again soon.
Love, Hans & Monika.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We have just returned from another wonderful New Year at the Harmony. Everything was as before, excellent service from Hans and Monika. This year we took some friends and family with us, they were not dissappointed! As always the rooms were excellent, the breakfast was amazing, we could not have asked for more. We will certainly be returning. Hans and Monika you certainly deserve a better 2013!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika_and_Hans, Owner at Harmony Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you Sue for your kind words. We hope you also have a very happy 2013 and we love to see you back soon. It is sometimes a bit difficult to realise your stay is part of our "business". It feels like having friends to stay. We enjoy your stay as much as you enjoy staying here. We are glad your friends and family also were happy.
X Hans & Monika

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed here for 3 days and would heartily recommend it.

Room was spotless and fresh.

Excellent caring hosts.

I'll be back! :-)

There are very few establishments that I would ever give full marks too - however The Harmony is the exception.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nwpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika_and_Hans, Owner at Harmony Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

What can we say? We are very happy with your review. It shows why we do what we do. We care about our guests and like to give them the best stay in Torquay they can find. So glad you liked us so much that you give us your rare top marks.

Thank you,
Monika & Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We had an emergency stay a few weeks ago in Devon and choose the Harmony Hotel. Our hosts couldnt have done more for us. My in-laws had medical and phsical issues but everything was dealt with brilliantly. Thank you so much for everything.

Room Tip: If you have special requirements let them know. The dining room is downstairs, but there is a chair...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chiss58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika_and_Hans, Owner at Harmony Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

You were more than welcome and we hope to see you again under better circumstances. We like to make our guests to feel at ease when staying in Harmony B&B.

All the best and till we meet again.

Monika & Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Tyndale B&B
Tyndale B&B
#13 of 149 in Torquay
260 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avron House
Avron House
#30 of 149 in Torquay
212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grosvenor House
Grosvenor House
#54 of 149 in Torquay
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
290 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hillcroft - Boutique unique
0.0 mi away
Garway Lodge
Garway Lodge
#20 of 149 in Torquay
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harmony Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony Bed and Breakfast

Address: 67 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $81 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harmony Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harmony Bed and Breakfast is exclusively for adults, providing our guests the perfect opportunity to relax. The Harmony has eight letting bedrooms, all of which are en-suite. We have a twin room, a super-king room and six double rooms (one ground floor). We offer a range of double rooms to suit any budget, with three standard doubles (one on the ground floor), one superior double and two large superior doubles (one with a bath). We have plenty of on-site free parking with more than enough space for each room. For breakfast, guests are welcome to help themselves to any of the selection available from our breakfast bar, such as, ham, cheese, juices, milk, cereals, muesli, fresh fruit, yogurts, spreads and jams. Cooked breakfasts are prepared to order and guests can select from our cooked breakfast menu. We now have an honesty bar system in our guest lounge. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Harmony Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harmony Bed And Breakfast Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing