We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent all round *****”
Review of Harmony Torquay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harmony Torquay
Ranked #34 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 2, 2012

the harmony is in a excellent location for a nice stroll to torquay beach/tor abbey/shops& the princess theatre.we were made to feel very welcome from the moment we got there to the moment we left. nothing was to much trouble.monika&hans deserve to be a five star in rating .they are both pleasant and polite .i'm disabeled but i felt as equal as any body else.a truly magnificent experience.
from dot,dave fowler.
room one

Room Tip: room one excellent for disabled or mobility problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika_and_Hans, Owner at Harmony Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

We're glad you felt happy when staying in Harmony B&B. Being disabled should not be a problem to enjoy your holiday with us. People that have seen "Four in a Bed" know I have first hand experience with a disability. We aim to give 5 ***** quality for 4 **** prices.

Hans & Monika

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 212 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2012

this is our second visit to the harmony hotel hanns and monika are very welcoming the rooms are beautifully clean the beds very comfortable and the breakfast are fantastic you can eat as much or as little as you like from full english to continental there is something for everyone

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika_and_Hans, Owner at Harmony Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Thank you for staying in our home Harmony B&B. Guests like you make all the work we do worth our while. When we go places we also expect a good night sleep and a nice breakfast so that's why we also like our guests to have them. Since we like to choose what to eat in the morning and we do not know what our guests prefer to have, the breakfast in Harmony B&B is a big range of nice things to pick from. All fresh and cooked to order what you select from the menu.

You told us you would come back again and we are looking forward to it.

Monika & Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012


I searched for a hotel with indoor pool and this is listed as such but actually you have to use the hotel next doors pool at a fee.
Rooms exceptionally clean though
Turned on the kettle and immediately it blew throwing out the plugs also -
NO! We did not overfill it as was suggested. It was replaced, though, immediately but I was given the feeling we had done something wrong
Beds comfy, room warm and quiet
Decor a little naff but each to their own. It is musically themed but sparingly I would have liked to see them go a bit further with that rather than the current decor.
Not sure what is customary here - to request adequate milk and coffee Should you enjoy more than one cup of coffee in a 24 hour period? And 4 little sachets of milk are barely enough for two cups, we were a family of four.
We asked for more milk which the owner bought during his shopping trip that afternoon which we paid a pound for - I would have waived that personally for the sake of customer comfort.
£150.00 for a family room of four people , one night (one on a fold down, hence the discount) inc. breakfast which was tasty and adequate (although if hungry order everything on the menu)
Can't put my finger on it but didn't feel quite comfortable- maybe it was the sign in the entrance which said 'enjoy your Friday the 13th)

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Carolyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika_and_Hans, Owner at Harmony Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

We are sad you were not really happy in Harmony, we like our guests to get what they expect and even more than that. Although Torquay has a big wave pool only a 5 min walk away from our B&B as an extra service for our guests we have an arrangement with a bigger hotel next to us. Some people just like to have a short swim close by. That the hotel asks a small fee for the use of their pool is logical and is clearly indicated on the booking site.
Booking sites are actually not the best way to book a place to stay. Handy, we agree, but the real and complete answers one can find on the website of the place itself or better still over the phone. Our website therefore has a virtual tour on it so guests can see exactly what they can expect. Taste is something personal and also, the decor is still in ‘transit’. We opened our doors on Friday 13-05-2011, hence the sign in the entrance, and we’re still building up to the full potential of the place. There is only this much one can do in just over one year. Not that the music theme will become ‘in your face’ because not everybody likes that. We prefer subtle things like our own music design on the tea trays, etc, rather than it shouting at people.
When guests arrive at Harmony we point out the bell at the reception if they like something extra and we tell our guests they only have to ‘shout’ and we’ll sort it out. Coffee and tea is plenty available and only one ‘bell’ away if you like more. In a family room it may look a bit stingy but we rather put fresh things out every day than having coffee and milk going old because a family with kids normally not use it all. If one likes more cups of milk, sachets of coffee or extra tea we are happy to provide them.
When someone asks to buy a couple of pints of milk from us we have a problem. We do not keep big stores of fresh produce that will go off when we only have a few guests and go out to buy fresh stock on a regular basis. We therefore can’t sell pints of milk, our service has it’s limits. Since we were about to go out to get fresh supplies as a service to you I offered to get the pints of milk for you, thus saving you the bother to go out to the shop for it. Naturally when someone asks me to buy something I expect them to pay the 79p it costs. The pound you gave me for it I happily put in the charity box when I passed it on my ways.
We feel you were not happy with the room, but remember you booked a family room for 2 adults and a 16y old child. On the night before your arrival you phoned if it was possible to add another 16y old to the party. The official answer should have been NO, since the family room only has a double and a single bed. You did not want to be split up ofcourse so as a service to you we improvised and put a folding bed in the room we normally only use for kids up to 11-12y. Because we expected that it would not be 100% comfortable you paid less for it than the £25.00 we charge for a small kid and not the full price for a 16y old. You agreed this was a good solution. Since as good hosts we were not happy with the thin mattress of the folding bed we went out of our way and arranged a proper single mattress. We’re sorry if this service was not good enough. Apart from giving you an extra room there was nothing more we could do.
The kettle incident was unfortunate but it was a technical fault. We had to ask if you overfilled the kettle because that is the first question the supplier of the kettle would ask us. In the mean while it has been tested and we know it was ‘just’ the heating element that blew out. We’re sorry it gave you a big shock but that was beyond anyone’s control.

Hans & Monika

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Myself & my partner Ray stayed here 11.8.12. A last minute booking.So pleased that we had the pleasure of staying here!. Clean & homely. Good comfortable nights sleep!. The breakfast was an eyeopener!. What a selection,yum!. Thankyou Hans & Monika,we will be back soon!. Would stay here again without a doubt :) Ray & Petra..

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petra h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika_and_Hans, Owner at Harmony Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Dear Petra and Ray,

Your last minute choice brought you to us. You noticed Harmony is different. As so many people did when we were on "Four in a Bed"

We like to be special in many ways. We like you to have a good night sleep and we make our breakfast a "Break Feast". We also like you to be comfortable and feel happy with your stay.

Glad you picked us and hope to see you again soon.

Monika & Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed in room 10 for a couple of while scuba diving in the surrounding area. Because we were leaving to go diving early each morning, on arrival we asked if it was possible for them to pack us somthing to take with us. They seemed happy to help and gave us a good selection or food.
The room and whole building was very clean and bright. The room was quite small, but had lots of storage, electrical plug sockets and plenty of tea, coffee, hot chocolate.

Would stay there again. :-)

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian_Notts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika_and_Hans, Owner at Harmony Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

You were our first divers and were glad to hear Torquay is a good place for diving. Since we are not divers ourselves it's more difficult to advise people.

If possible we like to pamper our guests and were happy to arrange the packed meals.

Room 10 is not the biggest room we have, although it's very populair with our repeat guests. So next time you come for a few days, give us a ring and we'll set up room 8 as a King Room with plenty of space and a big bed. Not all rooms are the same, therefor we always ask people to ring us beforehand so we can set up the best room for their needs.

Hope to see you soon,
Monika & Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed here whilst attending a wedding and turned up much earlier than expected. We were greeted by Hans who was very happy to let us into our room earlier. The room was great, not particularly modern but very clean and tidy with all the necessary items (including hot chocolate and mineral water!) Breakfast the next day was fantastic, a nice room to eat in with a fantastic selection of fruit and breads as well as cereal. The cooked breakfast was amazing and Hans was very attentive without being overbearing.

We are normally regulars at budget hotel chains and this was a change for us - its definitely changed our perspective on small hotels/B and B's and we hope to return very soon!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdamandCarol_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika_and_Hans, Owner at Harmony Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2012

We're so glad with your last remark, because it hits the nail straight on the head. Unlike budget hotels, a B&B is not just a place to put your head down. It's much more for, if you look at all the costs, only a little bit more money.
We pride ourselves in giving the extra service and personal attention to our guests. You're a guest in our home, not a customer in our business.
Harmony is still in transition to become a modern but comfortable B&B; we've only been in charge for 15 months now. We already did away with the old flowery decor and in the years to come we will change it into what we want it to be.
We do hope you will return one day to see the changes, but mainly because Torquay and Devon have so much to offer.

Monika & Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Hans & Monika were very welcoming and we were made to feel comfortable. They were easy to chat to, the breakfast was lovely and unrestricted. I highly recommend the hotel and the hosts - especially with further improvements to be made.

Room Tip: Plenty of parking and use of the facilities at the larger hotel next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika_and_Hans, Owner at Harmony Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

We're glad you felt comfortable and welcome. We hope to see you again when you are back on one of your family visits in Torquay. Harmony is still a work in progress but we're happy you like what we've done so far. Accessibility is one of our main priorities and we like our less mobile guests to be able to enter through the front door rather than the side. This autumn we'll replace the door with a more accesible one. We'll keep improving Harmony even in the areas that are OK at the moment. It can always be made better.
See you soon again in Torquay,

Hans & Monika

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Patricia Guest House
The Patricia Guest House
#49 of 85 in Torquay
107 reviews
0 mi away
Garway Lodge
Garway Lodge
#18 of 149 in Torquay
252 reviews
0.5 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#9 of 149 in Torquay
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Avron House
Avron House
#27 of 149 in Torquay
217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Marina
Villa Marina
#19 of 149 in Torquay
268 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Montana
The Montana
#26 of 149 in Torquay
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harmony Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony Torquay

Address: 67 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $85 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harmony Torquay 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harmony Bed and Breakfast is exclusively for adults, providing our guests the perfect opportunity to relax. The Harmony has eight letting bedrooms, all of which are en-suite. We have a twin room, a super-king room and six double rooms (one ground floor). We offer a range of double rooms to suit any budget, with three standard doubles (one on the ground floor), one superior double and two large superior doubles (one with a bath). We have plenty of on-site free parking with more than enough space for each room. For breakfast, guests are welcome to help themselves to any of the selection available from our breakfast bar, such as, ham, cheese, juices, milk, cereals, muesli, fresh fruit, yogurts, spreads and jams. Cooked breakfasts are prepared to order and guests can select from our cooked breakfast menu. We now have an honesty bar system in our guest lounge. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Harmony Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harmony Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing