We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harmony Guest House
Ranked #23 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
hereford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely hotel”
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed here for a week The new owners were delightful and very helpful. A great variety of items for breakfast. Monika and Hans were helpful and kind without being intrusive. We would certainly stay here again

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baynham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika_and_Hans, Owner at Harmony Guest House, responded to this review, August 21, 2011
One’s always a bit apprehensive when receiving guests that have been before. No matter what, it's in human nature to compare two experiences and you never know what will come out of it. Reading your comments we are succeeding it what we set out in our plans when we decided to go and run Harmony. Make it a place people want to come back to, because we offer them rest, a nice place to stay, advise and help without taking over. It’s your holiday and you make the choices. We only give you advise and a bit of guidance should you need it. The same with our breakfast; you make the choice of what you eat: A full cooked breakfast, a continental buffet breakfast or a mix the two and pick and choose what you like. All cooked from fresh and to your liking. We love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
101
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Having stayed at a few b&b's in Torquay when visiting family, I can definitely says this my fav by far. Great location, far enough away from the hustle and bustle but close enough for a leisurely stroll. Very clean, great breakfast but more importantly lovely people, Hans and Monica were very welcoming and couldn't do enough for us, we only had to ask. My sister and I stayed this weekend and were touched by their hospitality I was amazed when I found out they had only recently taken over and have great plans for the place. I'm looking forward to going back soon and would recommend to all

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACorrigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika_and_Hans, Owner at Harmony Guest House, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
When you left I asked your sister if she had any complaints, so I could resolve them. She could not think of anything she said. Reading your review, you can't either and still we want to improve Harmony. Your sister left us a nice note for our guestbook (which I DID read btw as soon as you were on your way) and you praise us in your review. Being with our guests almost does not feel like working, because we enjoy it so much. We would take care of family the same way and we like to spoil them as well. We hope to see you soon, to hear that your family has expanded with the baby due any day now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Our stay in the Harmony B&B was absolutely great! We had a very warm welcome and the couple that runs the B&B were always very helpful. Torquay is a really nice and has a lot to offer, but you can also enjoy yourself in the B&B in the nice living room, bar and outside sitting area. The room looked very nice and was very clean and when you like a good real English breakfast, you should definitely visit this B&B!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika_and_Hans, Owner at Harmony Guest House, responded to this review, August 13, 2011
It's good to hear it is not just how clean it was, that makes Harmony a place you want to come back to, but also that you enjoyed your stay in Torquay and in Harmony. If we look at the plans we have with the place, it will go from strength to strength. Not just a place to sleep, but also a place for joy. Glad you enjoyed the full breakfast. Had you realised you could also pick and choose from the buffet as well? We like our guests to choose for themselves, so we don't tell them to select from one or the other. We hope we were clear about that? Do come again, we liked your company.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickmacross
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Our family stayed at this accommodation on 5th August . it was really good, excellent parking, warm ,clean and comfortable. food excellent. When in Torquay again will return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika_and_Hans, Owner at Harmony Guest House, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
What can I say. When we took over Harmony we looked at all the reviews we could find. A lot were good, but some mentioned the lack of choice at breakfast. We make sure you have enough choice (some say too much, because they cannot try everything we have). We like our guests to feel at home with us and clearly you did. We love to see you again, you were wonderful guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zoetermeer
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2011

we had the most wonderful stay in the harmony hotel. the room was lovely decorated and clean. Monica and Hans did everything to make us feel just at home, nothing was too much :) the location was also perfect, just a 10 minutes walk from the beach and the shops.
so guys, thank you so much for this wonderful stay, next year we will make sure we can arrange a trip again.
love, femke

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank femkeboerkamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika_and_Hans, Owner at Harmony Guest House, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
We are proud to be able to please so many guests in such a short time. It proves we're on the right track with Harmony. Monika (with a K) is the one you praise when you say clean. She aims for spotless and once we've updated the whole place it will be. We love to see you back, so you can see where we still managed to improve. We aim high and want to achieve the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2011

I went to Harmony B&B in the last week of July. A lovely couple just started to run it. They were very helpful! They give me and my friends advise where to go to and other useful advices. The room was great, nicely decorated and very clean! And the best was the full English breakfast, a couple from Holland making the best breakfast ever! I really would recommend this B&B, it's definitely worth the money!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank just-naatje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika_and_Hans, Owner at Harmony Guest House, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
We're glad you enjoyed yourselve when you stayed with your friends in Harmony. Glad we could point you in the right direction with our ideas and advise. It was also fun to receive guests from the Netherlands again. We hope many will follow. Breakfast is our pride and joy and we love hearing you liked it so much. I recall you had some technical problems with the shower, but next time you'll come that will be different. Your stay should be 100% and not 99.9% OK as far as we are concerned.

As they say in the Netherlands:
We hopen je snel weer te zien. (We hope to see you again soon.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Stayed there for two nights with my parents, brother and boyfriend. Clean and comfortable, owned by a Dutch couple who very recently bought the place. The hotel interiors are nice and cosy, with a music theme (although the interiors of the rooms felt a bit outdated). The whole atmosphere was excellent, good breakfeast and great service! Would stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merethhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika_and_Hans, Owner at Harmony Guest House, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Thank you for your kind review. We also enjoyed having you and your family as guests. The rooms are indeed outdated, you hit the nail right on the head with that remark. And as soon as the high season is over, we'll take the music theme into the rooms and the rest of the B&B as well. We already replacing the old flowery bedding with new modern fresh looking ones. We hope to see you again in Harmony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Garway Lodge
Garway Lodge
#27 of 149 in Torquay
218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kethla House
Kethla House
#34 of 149 in Torquay
157 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avron House
Avron House
#29 of 149 in Torquay
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kingston House
Kingston House
#22 of 149 in Torquay
188 reviews
0.2 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 149 in Torquay
305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Burleigh House
Burleigh House
#24 of 149 in Torquay
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harmony Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony Guest House

Property: Harmony Guest House
Address: 67 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harmony Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harmony Guest House is exclusively for adults, providing our guests the perfect opportunity to relax. The Harmony has eight letting bedrooms, all of which are en-suite. We have a twin room, a super-king room and six double rooms (one ground floor). We offer a range of double rooms to suit any budget, with three standard doubles (one on the ground floor), one superior double and two large superior doubles (one with a bath). We have plenty of on-site free parking with more than enough space for each room. For breakfast, guests are welcome to help themselves to any of the selection available from our breakfast bar, such as, ham, cheese, juices, milk, cereals, muesli, fresh fruit, yogurts, spreads and jams. Cooked breakfasts are prepared to order and guests can select from our cooked breakfast menu. We now have an honesty bar system in our guest lounge. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Harmony Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harmony Guest House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing