We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent top class A***** and more.”
Review of The Elmdene

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Elmdene
Ranked #12 of 148 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Excellent top class A***** and more.”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Fantastic nothing was to much for these very Friendly owners would definitely recommend and we hope to go back again :-) rooms and everything was perfect and beautiful, we stayed in room 4.
From sharon and Steve
Swindon xx

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
399
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2014

I stayed with Andy and Carol for 21st and 22nd April, and can only reiterate all the wonderful comments from previous visitors. The room was spacious, spotlessly clean and extremely well prepared and equipped, even down to a sewing kit and a torch - just in case! The breakfasts were excellent, locally produced produce being used, and Carol's cooking skills really shone through.
The location was, for me, just perfect with a nice outlook to the front of the hotel and a pleasant (level!) stroll through the Abbey Gardens to the sea front and the town. And the bus stops virtually outside the front door if one feels lazy. A tremendous find, and I'll certainly be back again. Well done Andy and Carol,

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Andy & Carol has an amazing establishment, my partner and i stayed at the Elmdene from Saturday19th - Monday 21st April 2014for the Easter weekend break, from arrival we were made to feel at home with the wonderful welcome from Andy and carol, Our room was spotless, fresh and beautiful, might add here as well very well laid out with little quaint touches such as dressing gowns and bed slippers, the quality of the bedding in our room was superb and felt very comfortable, Andy came up on our second day to make our beds but we declined his offer as we stayed in the room most of the day, their aura was great and we just loved it, Breakfast in the mornings were lovely spoilt for choice on their set menu all produce used locally sourced. We will definately be going back and taking a few friends with us.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simone m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Ground, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the Elmdene. The owners, Andy and Carol, are so friendly and helpful!! They greeted us when we arrived and explained how everything worked. Andy then helped us with our luggage and showed us our room. The room was very spacious, clean and contained everything we needed from plush towels to tea and biscuits. The en suite was large and also very clean Carol and Andy gladly recommended places for us to visit while we were there and offered use of their sun porch if we just wanted to just relax and enjoy the sunshine! The Elmdene is very close to the train station and a bus stop if we needed to hop a bus somewhere. It's also just a short 20 minute walk into town. We had great weather the week we were there so we took many walks into town and along the strand, The Elmdene is in a lovely, quiet neighborhood and the rooms themselves were quiet. The breakfast was delicious with lots of variety from a full English breakfast to a bowl of porridge. Carol does a great job in the kitchen and Andy is a great singing waiter! We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely stay there again if we get back to Torquay. We highly recommend the Elmdene!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgessner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Andy and Carol were very welcoming and friendly hosts and as Carol was away until our last day Andy made sure we were ok during our stay the room was of a good size with a lovely ensuite bathroom and shower the decor was stylish and modern and each day fresh biscuits and drink sachets were left in our room. The bed was very comfy and the quietness of the area aided good sleep. This was always cleaned to perfection on our return each day. The breakfast was plentiful with choice of cereals and fruit and the full English or smoked salmon and scrambled egg was nicely cooked. The location was in a quiet part of Torquay but close enough to sea front and all major routes to other destinations around. Nothing was too much for Andy and Carol and we could help ourselves to extra milk at the lounge bar for our fridge at any time. We really felt at home at the hotel which was an excellent place to stay

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to be tastefully decorated when observing them as they were being cleaned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northerntravellers22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Had wonderful stay at the Elmdene with my wife last week.Andy welcomed us personally on our arrival and showed us to our lovely room.
The Elmdene is in a very nice area close to Torre Abbey and about 15 minute walk to the centre of Torquay.
The hotel was quiet during our stay as Andy was on his own for most of the time but he coped admirably.Breakfast was first rate and Andy was very attentive during our stay.
I would certainly recommend this as excellent place to stay in Torquay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank POS48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redditch
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Had 2 days here 5/6th April,could write so much about this place,but it,s been said in all the other reviews,only 6 rooms but Wow ours was fab as im sure the others are to,Carol was away while we we there so Andy was the one who looked after us,and for a BLUENOSE !!!!!! he did a top job and nothing was to much trouble.Thanks Andy for helping celebrate Debs birthday,good luck for the comming season,and i mean the hotel and not the small heath crew !!! First class hotel,top notch owners just book it you will not regret

Room Tip: We had room 7 home from home
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,664 reviews
0.2 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Charterhouse
The Charterhouse
#4 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#3 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.5 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#11 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Somerville
The Somerville
#8 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elmdene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elmdene

Property: The Elmdene
Address: Rathmore Road, Torquay TQ2 6NZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Elmdene 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elmdene is quality 5 star visit britain graded guest accommodation, situated on the level in a tree lined road opposite open parkland. We have six en-suite bedrooms, we offer free onsite parking and free wi-fi. We are a short level walk to the seafront, train station and conference centre. The town and harbour are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Elmdene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elmdene Hotel Torquay
The Elmdene Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing