We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like spending a weekend with friends!”
Review of The Elmdene

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Elmdene
Ranked #12 of 148 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
sharonkitty72
Level Contributor
195 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“Like spending a weekend with friends!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

After picking this place purely based on the other reviews here, while not a really picky reviewer I went feeling, 'Can it really be THAT good?' and was hoping it wasn't going to turn me into a saddo Trip Advisor member (The ones who look for every little nit pick)

Thankfully no, it WAS that good. Andy and Carol are total stars and made us feel really welcome in their classy B and B - The rooms are gorgeously decorated and you have everything you could ever need for a break. Could have left my hairdryer at home too!

Hope you both enjoy your well earned break.

The full breakfast menu was amazing and even included fried bread, major rare treat! :-)

We hope to visit again, get the vinegar out lol :-)

S and B - room 3 18-20 Oct :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharonkitty72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
397
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Having just spent 3 nights at The Elmdene we agree with all the other wonderful comments made about this B & B.
This was a wonderful experience to stay at this lovely B&B. The cleanliness of the room was outstanding, the comfortable bed, and very spacious room made it a very pleasant to stay here.
Andy and Carol go out of their way to make everything perfect and the freshly cooked breakfast was a treat.
Ideally situated a stones throw from the beach, yet quiet enough not to get any noise at night, I would gladly revisit the next time we are in Torquay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

this is a small B&B with spacious rooms and great service.
the hosts are very attentive and always happy to help.
for breakfast the hot food was made to order and cooked to perfection!
will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank multiculturaltravele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I found the Elmdene via Tripadvisor and can only echo all the good things that have been said about this truly excellent establishment. Nothing is too much trouble for Carol & Andy, from early start breakfasts to advice regarding outings & eating, they were top class.
Have already booked for a further stay next year.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikejw2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This was our second stay at the Elmdene; Carol and Andy are great hosts, breakfast is excellent and the room was spacious and comfortable. The location is nice and quiet and Torquay town centre only 10-15 minutes’ walk away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CliftTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The Elmdene has wonderful "kerb appeal" and from the moment you pull onto the drive the scene is set - a warm welcome with a pot of tea and brownies after a long journey is perfect. We stayed in 'Superior Room 2' and that is precisely what it was in every way. A large, very well appointed room with everything you could want including towelling robes and slippers. The adjoining lounge is a bonus with a comfy leather sofa, large TV, fridge, tea/coffee, filtered water, biscuits etc. The Hotel is immaculate and this is down to the dedication and hard work of Carol and Andy. The Breakfast room is wonderfully light and airy, the tables well spaced and very inviting. There is everything you could possibly want here - it really is a feast. All hot food is cooked to order using the best local suppliers and Carol sure does cook a mean breakfast. Andy attends to the guests' every need and does so in a very friendly way. They make a good team and that shows in everything about this Hotel. The railway station is a short walk from the Hotel, the bus stops are over the road and it is a flat walk to the seafront and harbour - a big plus point in Torquay. Carol and Andy richly deserve to be the #1 and long may it continue for them.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laceway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

From the warmth of the initial welcome, to our departure the Elmdene lived up to everything that has been written about it. Carol & Andy are the perfect hosts and ensured that every need is catered for. The rooms are spotless with everything you could wish for supplied. The breakfasts are excellent with a wide range of choices, and set you up perfectly for the day. Unusually for Torquay there is a level walk into town, a bus stop adjacent and the train station nearby. It would be hard to imagine that anything better is available in Torquay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,658 reviews
0.2 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Charterhouse
The Charterhouse
#4 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#3 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.5 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#11 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Somerville
The Somerville
#8 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elmdene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elmdene

Property: The Elmdene
Address: Rathmore Road, Torquay TQ2 6NZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Elmdene 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elmdene is quality 5 star visit britain graded guest accommodation, situated on the level in a tree lined road opposite open parkland. We have six en-suite bedrooms, we offer free onsite parking and free wi-fi. We are a short level walk to the seafront, train station and conference centre. The town and harbour are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Elmdene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elmdene Hotel Torquay
The Elmdene Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing