We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Stay at the Elmdene”
Review of The Elmdene

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Elmdene
Ranked #13 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant Stay at the Elmdene”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

My husband and I visited the Elmdene for the second time the first week in September. Everything was just as brilliant as the last time we stayed in 2012. Lovely clean accomodation. We stayed in Superior Room 2 with the small adjoining lounge and loved it. Everywhere was decorated to the highest standard and we would highly recommend the Elmdene to anyone staying in Torquay. There is a great choice for breakfast - Carol's porridge is delicious and her cooked breakfasts superb. Thanks to hosts Carol and Andy for making our holiday so memorable once again - they do not come any better.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GW-YAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
406
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Just returned from a fantastic 3 days in Torquay where we stayed at the the lovely 'Elmdene'. The owners (Carol and Andy) were the perfect hosts and really have a little gem with the hotel that they own. Their welcome was very genuine when we arrived (a nice tray of tea and chocolate brownies was brought up almost immediately) and this set the standard for the rest of our stay. Nothing was too much trouble. Andy was always available with suggestions of places to eat etc and also for a general chat, he's a really nice bloke (even if he does support Birmingham City- only joking!.) The room (we were in number 6 at the top of the house) was immaculate and was furnished to a very high standard and had everything we could possibly need. The breakfast was absolutely delicious and top quality. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this B&B to anyone, it is outstanding.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Glenn050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

If anyone is planning a visit to Torquay & wants a good b & b then look no further because The Elmdene is the place to stay.Carol & Andy Gibbs are the perfect hosts,Their breakfasts are really nice,plenty of choice & the rooms are very cosy & very clean,tea & coffee making facilities & lovely fluffy towels,nothing is too much trouble for this lovely couple.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shirleydawn1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Picked the elmdene based on trip advisor reviews and we weren't disappointed.Stayed in room 1 that had views over the park across the road. Lovely room plenty of space with all the nice touches of tea and coffee making facilities, fluffy towels and bathrobes. Andy and Carol, the hosts, were very welcoming and made us feel at home. Breakfasts were superb with everything on offer from full English to porridge, scrambled eggs with salmon, and smoked haddock. If you need a B&B in Torquay stay here !!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank KevinMarshall57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Our stay was cut short but I would like to record the consideration and kindness shown by the owners, Carol and Andy. Spacious, spotless and very comfortable. No need to look elsewhere as the Elmdene is the ideal accommodation and deserves to be the number one place to stay in Torquay. We look forward to our next visit and hope to stay longer!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 which was spacious and very comfortable. Close to railway but not noisy especia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KAY W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

I saw this hotel on late rooms but called direct to book as its always cheaper. Carol and Andy were wonderful hosts and very welcoming. We stayed in a king room on the second floor which was spotless, it looked like everything was brand new!

The room was spacious and well decorated. The bed was so comfy and a great size. The room also had all the little extras that you always need to ask for elsewhere.

The breakfast is as good as everyone says it is and was a great start to the day. We will be coming back without a doubt!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank j_parkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Fed up with disappointing caravan holidays which were expensive and dirty we decided to look elsewhere and guess what we found the Elmdene never before booked anything on the first thing we saw but we just could not resist and the reviews don't lie everything we read was true!!!!. We stayed in 2 rooms how lucky were we!!! and didn't lift a finger to move the second week don't know wether Andy still has a bad back from lifting my cases, room 6 and room 3 were both fantastic couldn't have wished for more as they are all filled with personal and welcoming touches that just show how much Andy and Carol care about there business and there guests 2 weeks of fantastic breakfasts was just what my husband ordered especially with Andy taking your order with the floral note pad his mother in law bought him and accommodating a fussy eater if carol hadn't enough to do in the kitchen. DEFINATLEY will be returning to the Elmdene and would like to say a big thank you to Andy and Carol.

Room Tip: Doesn't matter all rooms are fab just book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,808 reviews
0.2 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 150 in Torquay
319 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glendower Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 150 in Torquay
249 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Marstan
The Marstan
#3 of 87 in Torquay
527 reviews
1.2 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#6 of 87 in Torquay
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elmdene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elmdene

Property: The Elmdene
Address: Rathmore Road, Torquay TQ2 6NZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Elmdene 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elmdene is quality 5 star visit britain graded guest accommodation, situated on the level in a tree lined road opposite open parkland. We have six en-suite bedrooms, we offer free onsite parking and free wi-fi. We are a short level walk to the seafront, train station and conference centre. The town and harbour are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Elmdene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elmdene Hotel Torquay
The Elmdene Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing