We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than home from home!!”
Review of The Elmdene

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Elmdene
Ranked #14 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Better than home from home!!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Our stay was cut short but I would like to record the consideration and kindness shown by the owners, Carol and Andy. Spacious, spotless and very comfortable. No need to look elsewhere as the Elmdene is the ideal accommodation and deserves to be the number one place to stay in Torquay. We look forward to our next visit and hope to stay longer!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 which was spacious and very comfortable. Close to railway but not noisy especia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KAY W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
411
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

I saw this hotel on late rooms but called direct to book as its always cheaper. Carol and Andy were wonderful hosts and very welcoming. We stayed in a king room on the second floor which was spotless, it looked like everything was brand new!

The room was spacious and well decorated. The bed was so comfy and a great size. The room also had all the little extras that you always need to ask for elsewhere.

The breakfast is as good as everyone says it is and was a great start to the day. We will be coming back without a doubt!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank j_parkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Fed up with disappointing caravan holidays which were expensive and dirty we decided to look elsewhere and guess what we found the Elmdene never before booked anything on the first thing we saw but we just could not resist and the reviews don't lie everything we read was true!!!!. We stayed in 2 rooms how lucky were we!!! and didn't lift a finger to move the second week don't know wether Andy still has a bad back from lifting my cases, room 6 and room 3 were both fantastic couldn't have wished for more as they are all filled with personal and welcoming touches that just show how much Andy and Carol care about there business and there guests 2 weeks of fantastic breakfasts was just what my husband ordered especially with Andy taking your order with the floral note pad his mother in law bought him and accommodating a fussy eater if carol hadn't enough to do in the kitchen. DEFINATLEY will be returning to the Elmdene and would like to say a big thank you to Andy and Carol.

Room Tip: Doesn't matter all rooms are fab just book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Two years on from our first stay & review of the Elmdene myself and my husband again visited the picturesque English Riviera and had no qualms about again choosing to stop at this prestigious hotel.

Andy and Carol again greeted us with a warm welcome; a genuine one, not fake & over-the-top like many other hotels we have stopped at. Their attention to detail is second to none, with nothing overlooked and nothing ever being too much trouble. The breakfast is divine and the nice little touches such as fudge/biscuits on your arrival really make the stay even more magical.

We have already planned to visit the hotel again next year and can't wait for another fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WendyLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My standards are ridiculously high. When people meet or exceed them I love to say thank you and the Elmdene is a deserved recipient of my gratitude. The hotel is spotless, comfortable, easily accessible and very spacious. In addition, the grounds are beautifully kept and the attention to detail is clearly evident. The breakfasts were simply delicious with a varied menu which included haddock and poached egg which has become a firm favourite now I am back home. Mind you, the locally sourced full English is tremendous too. The people -Andy and Carol- are simply first class. They cannot do enough to help, they understand the concept of going the extra mile for the guests, which they do on a daily basis, and they did for me providing one of their own mouse mats and a mouse for my laptop, having forgotten mine. They are super efficient and have the golden touch because they know how to ANTICIPATE the needs of the customer rather than react. This is an art learned over many years and one that 50% of the rest of the trade I have come across would do well to learn. The little things matter in life and staying at the Elmdene was a fine example of this. Refreshments in the room included tea, coffee, chocolate and bottled water along with complimentary fudge and biscuits. The bed was large and very comfortable and the linen was always spotless and regularly changed. The bathroom was equally spotless and well organised. Next time I shall bring my wife; it is inconceivable that I would stay anywhere else when in this area of the world. Why did I get the Blues? Well I am an Aston Villa fan and Andy supports Birmingham City - the Blues. History would have it that we should not get on at all but we hit it off immediately, even wearing each others football tops for a historical photo. All in all, if you stay at the Elmdene you will have value for your money. If you are not happy with your stay, I suspect that this would have more to do with the mindset of the guest rather than the owners. THANK YOU Andy and Carol for an outstanding job...I fully and heartily recommend the Elmdene to one and all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

It was our tenth anniversary so wanted somewhere special and this most certainly was the case!! The room was immaculate with everything you could possibly want. A fridge to cool things and even a bottle opener with wine glasses! The fudge on arrival was a really nice touch too! The breakfast was perfect-lots of different choices and cooked to perfection. The hosts were lovely too- was like staying with old friends!! The bar and lounge area were cosy with a range of drinks that you helped yourself too. A huge thanks for everything and we hope we can visit again soon (if we can get rid of the kids again!!;-)

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sausage1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Carole and andy were excellent hosts and it has been a honour to stay in one of the best hotels in Torquay. Breakfast was delicious,service was impeccable.My advice if you're coming to Torquay this is the best place to stay.If we return we will coming back here.Thank you Carole and andy and zuri the cat for making our break a great experience

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodycat1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 87 in Torquay
2,886 reviews
0.2 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 149 in Torquay
339 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Marstan
The Marstan
#2 of 87 in Torquay
547 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glendower Bed and Breakfast
1.2 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#6 of 87 in Torquay
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elmdene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elmdene

Property: The Elmdene
Address: Rathmore Road, Torquay TQ2 6NZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Elmdene 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elmdene is quality 5 star visit britain graded guest accommodation, situated on the level in a tree lined road opposite open parkland. We have six en-suite bedrooms, we offer free onsite parking and free wi-fi. We are a short level walk to the seafront, train station and conference centre. The town and harbour are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Elmdene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elmdene Hotel Torquay
The Elmdene Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing