We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Elmdene
Nearby Hotels
The Marstan(Torquay)
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atlantis(Torquay)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$97
$94
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Westgate(Torquay)
$85
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$211
$205
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$402
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (534)
Filter reviews
534 results
Traveler rating
525
8
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
525
8
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfudgeperfect hostsfluffy bathrobesfiltered waterfirst classsea frontdressing gownshigh standardlocal producefull englishbiscuitson arrivalbus stopwarm welcomeextra touchesfresh milkthought of everything
Filter
Updating list...
241 - 246 of 534 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Second time stay 12 nights this time another fine relaxing holiday.We had room 6 again very comfortable.Room very well presented and every need catered for and very quiet good night sleep. Breakfast is excellant and cooked fresh to order.But what makes the elmdene so special is carol and andy they are wonderfull host we will definetly be going back next year.Met some very nice guest especially den and edna.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovepub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Just returned from a short break at the Elmdene and wish to thank Carol and Andy for an excellent stay. The Hotel was very well presented and the attention to detail was first class. Our room was very comfortable and had good facilities. The breakfast was great with a good choice and was served hot. In our opinion the only place to stay in Torquey.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1, very comfortable with good facilities
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IvorM46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights at the Elmdene sat 22nd and sun 23rd June 2013 as the winner of a charity item kindly donated by Carol and Andy. As soon as we arrived tea and chocolate brownies brought to our room.We stayed in room 3 which was spacious well decorated and toilet and shower absolutely spotless.Breakfast very good including many cereals yoghut fruit porridge and a great full english with very tasty bacon sausages and free range eggs. Nothing too much trouble for Carol and Andy and while having breakfast we noticed many of the other guests were regulars to the Elmdene! Totally recommend a stay here and know we will stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lssm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I cannot speak highly enough of this hotel , We thoroughly enjoyed our 6 nights stay. Beautiful room with every need catered for . Fabulous breakfasts, and Carol and Andy are great hosts. Will definitely recommend to all my family and friends.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daphne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Our first time in a B&B for many years! Better than many 4* Hotels we have stayed in throughout Europe. Attention to detail is amazing! Exceptionally clean, warm and tidy. Breakfasts cater for everyone's taste buds and always served with a smile. Andy and Carol are amazing hosts and go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. Andy has excellent local knowledge of the surrounding area and great places to visit. Well deserving of their No 1 rating.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 6 which is on the 2nd floor in the attic. Very spacious and light.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrewsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews