We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good B&B”
Review of Ferndale Lodge

Ferndale Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ferndale Lodge
Ranked #87 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Pleasant stay for three nights during August at family run establishment. Staff friendly and helpful, Breakfast served by younger members of the family with Grandmother in attendance to help as well. A little away from beach area - by train Tor station is nearer than Torquay and walking back from town it is quite a steep incline up St Marychurch Road but there are plenty of hills in Torquay !! All in all a nice enough place, my ground floor room was clean and tidy but as usual for a single not especially large.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrevandTracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 112 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is a little gem.We had the family room on the ground floor. Had an outlook onto a lovely little patio area. So clean, so tidy and so big. My son loved his big bunk beds. Our bed was huge with beautiful clean bedding. Towels were fluffy. The end suite was spotless. Loved having a liquid soap instead of little tiny soaps. Lots of tea, coffee and milk so no having to ask for more. Breakfast wonderful. Would definitely return. Very well run.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CazA1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed at Ferndale for 2 nights and will definitely be going back. When we arrived we were greeted by John who gave us loads of information about attractions, directions and good places to go for food and drinks. The breakfast was of good quality which was served by Johns daughter who was very polite and accommodating. Also there was John's mother in law who was very friendly and made us feel very welcome. Room was very clean and had everything that we needed for our stay. Overall, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirsty w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

On arrival we were greeted by joan the mother in law.
Jon the owner was full of information and gave us lots of information on places of interest to visit, eat, ferry times etc so we could get the most out of our few days In torquay.parking ideal, also within walking distance of the town centre and the harbour 10 minutes walk away.Rooms clean and tidy.fluffy towels, tea/coffee facilities. Breakfast is quality, fruit/cereals, fry up you may have to wait but all is cooked fresh and well worth it. George and joans banter at breakfast is funny. Overall a lovely homely stay and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1971forest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed at Ferndale for two nights and can honestly say we enjoyed our stay very much. only 10 mins walk from Torquay and beach and 5 mins drive from Babbacombe Bay which is a lovely beach and fab views worth a visit !
Warm welcome from family. Jon gave some good info on area and seems very much family affair.
We had room 5 very nice room.... spotless !! very clean and lovely crisp sheets, very comfy bed and white fluffy towels. Was a cool room as we arrived in the middle of heat wave. Room had no out look but never the less cosy room. Whole place has been looked after and presented nicely and kept really well.
Breakfast brilliant and plenty my partner is somewhat of expert in full English breakfasts and he was more than happy.

Went for a Thai meal at the Thai Star Victoria Parade in town but would NOT recommend !

thank you Jon, Julie and George and Amelia and of course Jean.


Had great trip would recommend this B/B

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 492rachelp492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Booked this hotel at a relatively low price for 2 nights for my trip to English Riviera. Location was ok and it only took me about about 10-15 minutes to get there from the coach station. The coast is also at a walking distance. The owner was friendly, room clean, and very well maintained. Wi-fi was free and fast. Really generous breakfast was included in the room rate, though dining area downstairs is not spacious so if you want a free table you need to come by 8.30am. The only minus - as the hotel is small I could hear the sound of flowing water in the shower and ventilation from nearby rooms, which may be annoying, if you have to wake up because of that. For the rest it was good and I can recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Had a four day trip to Torquay staying in Ferndale Lodge during 13th-17th June, with my daughter (15) and my mother.
On arrival greeted warmly by Jon who helped carry our cases and showed us to our rooms. The rooms were very clean and the bedding crisp white linen. The en-suites were spotless and lovely soft towels.
Jon gave us fab info on where to visit. Great location, easy to get to the town, harbour, model village and Cockington.
The breakfast was outstanding, fresh fruit, yogurts, cereal and full cooked English breakfasts with many options. Two of us being vegetarian was no trouble as veggie sausages were available. We enjoyed a laugh with Joan (mother in law) too.
Everything deserved 10/10 and delighted to recommend this B&B. Would not hesitate to book again. Thank you :)

Room Tip: I went in three different rooms and all were fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJWEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#77 of 86 in Torquay
380 reviews
0.3 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#10 of 150 in Torquay
296 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kingsholm Hotel
Kingsholm Hotel
#8 of 150 in Torquay
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Morley Guest House
The Morley Guest House
#83 of 150 in Torquay
28 reviews
0.4 mi away
Avron House
Avron House
#30 of 150 in Torquay
214 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crimdon Dene Guest House
Crimdon Dene Guest House
#58 of 150 in Torquay
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferndale Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferndale Lodge

Address: 22 St. Marychurch Road, Torquay TQ1 3HY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $82 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ferndale Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ferndale Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferndale Lodge Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing