We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Ferndale Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ferndale Lodge
Ranked #87 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Spent 3 nights at the Ferndale and found it to be a really first class B & B. Lovely people, fantastic service and a great breakfast. The rooms were very comfortable and the cleanliness outstanding, would thoroughly recommend it!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcadamwj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 114 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

We have now stayed at The Ferndale 3 times and would never stay anywhere else.
The B & B is a short walk from the town centre and close to Babbacombe beach.
The owner and his mother in law are wonderful as are the kids who help out at breakfast.
This is a lovely family run place and as stated on previous reviews, the owner has a wealth of knowledge of Torquay.
Thanks again for a lovely 3 night stay! We will be back.

Room Tip: We always stay in the room with a 4 poster bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janboxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed at the Ferndale Lodge several times. 1st Class accommodation.Excellent breakfast and friendly welcome,good value, short walk to centre and sea front.You will not be disappointed! Ex hotelier and tourism officer Herefordshire.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KEITH O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

What a lovely three generation family running this very friendly hotel; they could not have been more helpful or accommodating and the elder family member is really knowledgeable about the area and places to visit. The accommodation is very clean and breakfast was spot-on. Thank you for making me feel so welcome.

Room Tip: I had the single room (No 3) and although it is next to the road, I wasn't disturbed at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed one night in August service was very friendly especially the elder family member who was an angel ,the hotel is spotless our room was very nice and at£35 each with breakfast which was lovely was a bargain.A proper little sweet hotel well done.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROVERROAMER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I've visited Torquay on many occasions in the past - but Ferndale Lodge is easily the best place in which I've stayed. It is family-run with lots of love, care and attention to detail by John, assisted by his son and mother-in-law. I really cannot recall receiving such a warm welcome and then being looked after so well for a very long time. The property is situated just beyond the top end of the high street and is quite close to the town hall and the library. It's on a fairly steep hill but buses stop close by so there is no need to walk up from the sea-front if you don't want or are unable to. The car park is big enough for around 8 cars and I had no problems getting parked and then used the very good value public transport - Exeter £6.10 and Plymouth £6.70 day-return on the train, with a one-day local bus ticket priced at £4.90 which takes you as far as Kingswear for the ferry to Dartmouth. Like the rest of the hotel the bedroom was very clean and well presented with all of the items you would expect and a few that perhaps you wouldn't at this price level. The breakfast was very good indeed.The menu featured both hot and cold items, including a very nice 'full-english' together with a selection of omelettes as well as fresh fruit items such as orange and grapefruit segments and kiwi-fruit. I would not hesitate to recommend Ferndale Lodge and I would return again in a heartbeat. It is exceptionally well run, nothing is too much trouble and it is also very good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the building - i.e. not facing the road - may be a little quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I unfortunately got really sick when I arrived in Torquay, so was forced to spend many hours in our lovely room at Ferndale! Very nice and clean, nice windows, very sweet proprietors. I'm told the cooked breakfast was wonderful.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
Thank 360_Traveler_UK_US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,189 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#30 of 85 in Torquay
2,551 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Iona Torquay
The Iona Torquay
#56 of 149 in Torquay
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.8 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#48 of 85 in Torquay
368 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#8 of 85 in Torquay
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferndale Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferndale Lodge

Address: 22 St. Marychurch Road, Torquay TQ1 3HY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $83 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ferndale Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just few minutes’ walk from the shops and restaurants, and only 10 minutes’ walk from Torquay harbour and beaches. The detached Victorian villa, set in its own grounds and surrounded by trees, is perfectly situated for easy access to all Torbay’s tourist attractions, International Schools, Riviera Conference Centre, cinema and famous Princess Theatre. Whether you are on holiday, on business or studying nearby, you can be assured of a warm welcome, personal service and value for money. We have ample free onsite parking and you can sit and enjoy a drink in the newly refurbished licenced bar and lounge or outside on the sunny south facing terrace which overlooks Torquay town. Free, high speed broadband Wi-Fi is available throughout the guest rooms and public areas. All of our bedrooms are on-suite and we have a selection of double, single or twin rooms or for that special occasion, why not try our lovely four poster room? We have a comfortable lounge/bar area with open fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Ferndale Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferndale Lodge Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing