We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great to be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Southbank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Southbank Hotel
Ranked #46 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
yorky
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great to be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2010

What a great pleasure to return to this excellent hotel, after missing last year through health reasons we could not wait to get back and see Ian and Marie oh and Sybil. The welcome you receive is very genuine, the rooms are brilliant and the food is excellent, freshly cooked, hot and plenty of it. We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough the best recomendation we can give is to visit and find out. We shall most certainly return again and again.
John and Julie from Barnsley.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    19
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
50
61
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2009

Nice, clean hotel, our room was a decent size, nicely furnished and comfortable. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room with a variety of teas available.

Probably a 10-15 miute walk into town.

Breakfast was very good and plenty of it.

Wuld definately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2009

spotlessly clean and a always a lovely welcome from ian and marie. we have been many times a real home from home just going to book again will be third time this year.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharpie1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2009

On arrival was greeted by proprietor who was most welcoming.Shown to a spotless ,comfortably furnished room .The breakfast was huge and beautifully cooked with plenty of tea or coffeeand served in the the tastefully decorated diningroom.Nothing was too much trouble and I found Ian and Marie a really delightful couple.Can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salfromsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2009

We found the Southbank online while searching for a much needed short break. It was absolutely lovely.
We had a very friendly welcome from Ian, the owner. He showed us to our room which was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean, as was the rest of the hotel.
Ians wife Marie did all the cooking and that was just gorgeous. One evening I had a warm beef salad and it has to be the best hotel meal I have ever eaten.
Nothing was too much trouble for either of them.
We would recommend the Southbank to anyone and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonzoSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2008

On the last day of our holiday we weren't ready to go home. We were having such a nice time that I decided to book my girlfriend and I into the nearest nice looking hotel that had vacancies. We came across the Southbank hotel on the corner of Scarborough and Belgrave Road. The hotel room was quite simply the nicest I have ever stayed in! It was tastefully decorated to a high standard and had a warm cosy feel to it. The bed was comfertable with a nice throw and cushions over it to compliment it.
The tea tray was well stocked with several different types of coffee and tea with ample amounts of sugar and milk.
The bathroom was clean and tidy and the limited amount of space was utilised well. There was even a little basket containing a flannel and complimentary tolietries.
The hallways and stairs are also decorated to a very high standard and give a nice warm friendly, homely feel to the whole hotel.
At breakfast we were greeted by a nice pot of tea and a choice of toast (white or brown). We choose the full English breakfast (without balck pudding!) and it was delicious. There was 1 of each item but each was impeccably cooked. Special mention must go to the sausages - lovely!
All in all it made a very nice ending to a lovely holiday and I cannot recommend it enough. I would definately stay at this hotel when we return to Torquay and have already recommended it to family.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maidenv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trowbridge wilts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2006

Stayed here in July for 2 nights. The Hotel is very well situated in the resort with good parking. The owner even suggested we leave him the carkeys so he could move the car to a better spot. The entrance area was warm and inviting with a comfortable guest lounge and cosy bar. Our room was on the top floor, bright and airy with a good view. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom clean, tidy and well lit. We enjoyed the hearty English Breakfast in the recently redecorated dining room on the lower ground floor, probabaly the best I have eaten in a seaside hotel/guesthouse. All in all a very enjoyable experience and the owners could not do enough to ensure we and all the other guests had a memorable stay. Excellent value for money.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank jammiedoddger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Trelawney Hotel
Trelawney Hotel
#47 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kelvin House Hotel
Kelvin House Hotel
#48 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#57 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brandize Hotel
Brandize Hotel
#31 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Hotel Balmoral
The Hotel Balmoral
#17 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crimdon Dene Hotel
Crimdon Dene Hotel
#27 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southbank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southbank Hotel

Property: Southbank Hotel
Address: 15-17 Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Torquay
#17 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#18 Business Hotel in Torquay
#21 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Southbank Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Southbank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southbank Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing