We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a lovely stay”
Review of Southbank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southbank Hotel
Ranked #46 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Had a lovely stay”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Lovely little Guesthouse,Really helpful and Friendly owners,made us feel So welcome.
Took our suitcase up to our room :) Had a family room,which was two nice comfortable rooms,which was good,as we have a young baby,and was able to put him down to sleep while we were able to have our own little space in the adjoining room.
Rooms were nicely decorated,comfy,with plenty of tea & coffee etc. Very clean Also.
My only negative was the carpets did look a bit thin,old n a bit grubby and could do with new carpets.
Breakfast was Fantastic! Full English cooked fresh to order,Really good quality ingredients.
Lots of choice of fresh juices,cereals,or continental also.
A good breakfast I always find is a big importance when I stay away....And hate going down to a breakfast to find its cold and or cheap ingredients.
So a big 10 out of 10 for this Brekki ! :-)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leelajay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    19
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
56
63
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Very clean great rooms and wonderful location. Only minutes from the beach and a very pleasant walk along the front to the town centre. Where you will find all your favourite shops and great places to eat. I would recommend this hotel for your perfect stay in Torquay.

Room Tip: Lovely owners lovely place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rayjayRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

One of my favourite Hotels in the Torbay area , Very clean great rooms and wonderful hosts I have stayed here on business and pleasure and recommend it. Great Location only minutes from the beach and a very pleasant walk along the front to the town centre. The real star of the hotel is the owners Ian and Marie , nice small bar and great food very pleasant stay

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The proprietors Ian and Marie are friendly and helpful, the room we stayed in was immaculate, beautifully decorated with all the facilities you could wish for on holiday, and I must say the king sized bed in our room was the most comfortable I have come across. The breakfast menu was extensive and faultless, made all the better by being served by the ever cheerful Ian. We cannot recommend a better place to stay in Torquay. It may not be the biggest but it definitely is the best..

Room Tip: Room at the rear are very quiet although all are double or treble glazed, In room 9 you could not he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Spent Easter Friday to Monday at the Southbank Hotel and would readily recommend it. We had room 1 which had a king size bed and was on the ground floor which was ideal and had everything you would have needed.The breakfast was one of the best we have had, there was fruit, cereal,yoghurt as well as a cooked breakfast to order. It was an ideal base for torquay, we left the car at the hotel and walked into town which only took 10 to 15 mins. The owner was attentive and all in all was good value for money. We would love to go back.

Room Tip: Room one had a king size bed and was on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank techy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I recently stayed here with my husband and had a very pleasant stay, the rooms are immaculate and the beds are the best I have slept in when away from home, the couple who run it are very sociable and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms have some lovely extra's such as Fruit tea's, bottled water and chocolate drinks. The breakfast is very well presented and very tasty, there is a lot to choose from and caters for every taste. The hotel is on a main road and only a 15 min walk from the beach, you can also catch the Torquay Road train from just across the road, and if you are interested in going to see Greenway, the home of Agatha Christie, the vintage bus that you can use stops right outside the hotel. I would thoroughly recommend you to consider this hotel when thinking of staying in Torquay

Room Tip: rooms at the front tend to have noise from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Ian & Marie - the proprietors of The Southbank Hotel, are the best thing about the place.
But in this day & age - there has to me more on offer than a friendly face.
This Hotel displays 4 stars on its website and board, but is nearer 2 star IMO.
The breakfasts were 4 star though!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southmew, Owner at Southbank Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for you review, We are sorry you did not enjoy your 3 night stay in our establishment for the UKIP conference in March. We have been here for 11 years, and have been refurbishing and upgrading all our rooms to a high standard. We are sorry you thought we were only a 2 Star accommodation but I can assure you if you had stayed in a 2 star guest accommodation/B&B you would not have had the quality that we offer. Its a shame you were not able to address us with your grievances whilst you were staying, other members of your group had written in our guest book, how much they enjoyed their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
Elmington Hotel
Elmington Hotel
#42 of 87 in Torquay
104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Trelawney Hotel
Trelawney Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kelvin House Hotel
Kelvin House Hotel
#45 of 87 in Torquay
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#8 of 87 in Torquay
539 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
0.2 mi away
Brandize Hotel
Brandize Hotel
#24 of 87 in Torquay
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southbank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southbank Hotel

Property: Southbank Hotel
Address: 15-17 Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Torquay
#16 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#17 Business Hotel in Torquay
#20 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Southbank Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Southbank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southbank Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing