We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Southbank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Southbank Hotel
Ranked #46 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed 4 nights at the Southbank Hotel in Torquay during a solo trip in the southwest UK. The location allowed quick walking access to the Town Center in one direction and the Princess Pier/waterfront areas in the other direction. Short distance from Torquay train station, although I'd suggest a taxi on arrival, as it's an uphill trek. Proprietors were very friendly and helpful. Single, en-suite room was absolutely lovely with a larger than normal bathroom (including a window). Wi-fi was very spotty in my room with serious connectivity issues throughout my stay. Hotel serves evening meals from 6 to 8 pm, although I tried their pizza and found it not to my liking. Preferred to eat elsewhere the rest of the trip. I did not try breakfast, as I preferred to sleep in late during my stay. Overall, a lovely hotel with comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpeedwayCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    19
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
50
61
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

This place was real value for money. We had a double room at £64.00 including breakfast. Although the room was slightly on the small side it was modern, clean and bright.There are more spacious rooms but these were fully booked. But for the money you couldn't complain. There were also nice little touches in our bedroom and around the Hotel. We had a very comfortable stay for two nights. Breakfast was very fresh with a good menu of different things to choose from. You could also order in evening snacks and meals which looked tasty although we didn't try them as we ate out. The owners and staff were friendly and helpful. Would we stay here again .. YES.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophiaS898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

We visited Southbank earlier this year and had a great time so much so the children couldn't wait to come back! And chose a week in the south bank over 2 weeks in our Campervan! We had an immaculate family room which slept 5 of us in 2 rooms with plenty of space for the kids to play! Ian and Marie couldn't do enough to help us they even washed our daughters favourite jumper when she managed to get oil on it! They were so informative and let us know when the fireworks on the waterfront had been canceled and again that the red arrows would be flying as the weather was going to clear up! Marie even made my son a toastie when he had had a migraine and wasn't well enough to go out with us! Talk about the extra mile you couldn't ask for more! Breakfast were fantastic and we must have tried everything on the menu! The bar meals were great they were good quality and very good value! They were full of advice and options for us on the rainy days! I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Torquay this hotel makes your holiday. Wish we could have stayed longer!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed at the Southbank Hotel from 4th-11th August 2012. We booked a family room as it was myself , my partner and my 8 year old son. The room was comfortable, immaculate and well equipped and looked as though it had been recently redecorated. Ian and Marie are very friendly and welcoming and made our stay there very comfortable. The breakfasts were lovely with plenty of choice. The hotel is in an ideal location, just a few minutes walk from the beach and plenty of things to do close by. We would recommend this hotel to friends and family and would definately like to return there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We have been returning to the Southbank for a number of years and wouldn't want to stay anywhere else. Ian and Marie are wonderful hosts who can't do enough for you. The rooms are always spotless and the bar meals are second to none. The hotel is in a perfect location for the seafront and the town. We cannot recommend this hotel enough and look forward to more enjoyable stays in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

the southbank hotel is simply first class, stayed for a week and didnt want to come home. ian and marie are the best hosts who cant do enough for you. the rooms are excellent, spotless, and very modern and comfortable. The breakfasts are brilliant with so much to choose from. the hotel is licenced so its nice to relax in the cosy bar. The location is also situated close to seafront and town. I would highly recommend to anyone. Brill holiday thankyou so much...... sybil the dog and Frank the cat are soooooooo cute.

Room Tip: large rooms ample space
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allison h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Just returned from another fab stay at the Southbank. We have been returning to this hotel for at least nine years, and we wouldn't stay anywhere else. The rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable with everything you would need. Ian and Marie are so friendly and welcoming, nothing is too much trouble for them. Breakfast was included, which we could not fault, with a good variety to choose from, especially if you have children who are fussy eaters. The hotel is perfectly situated, only five minute walk to seafront, with lots of amenities nearby, including the Riviera Centre, perfect for families to go swimming. Overall I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough and wouldn't stay anywhere else! See you next year!

Room Tip: We stayed in room no.3 which was perfect for families, as children had their own room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Trelawney Hotel
Trelawney Hotel
#47 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kelvin House Hotel
Kelvin House Hotel
#48 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#57 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brandize Hotel
Brandize Hotel
#31 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Hotel Balmoral
The Hotel Balmoral
#17 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crimdon Dene Hotel
Crimdon Dene Hotel
#27 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southbank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southbank Hotel

Property: Southbank Hotel
Address: 15-17 Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Torquay
#17 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#18 Business Hotel in Torquay
#21 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Southbank Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Southbank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southbank Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing