We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay @ Crown Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crown Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #31 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed for two nights at the end of July 2013. Excellent breakfasts and superb local knowledge and service from John & Linda. Shower in Room 6 is a bit cramped and traffic noise at night did disturb on occasions, otherwise everything was first class.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank BobsCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
There are newer reviews for Crown Lodge Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 382 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

A BIG thank you to the Crown Lodge for helping to make our latest visit to Torquay an enjoyable one. The breakfasts are truly amazing and set us up for the day ahead. No matter what I ordered the result was perfect, no mean feat for such a fastidious eater as myself. The room was welcoming, neat and clean. It is obvious that this couple put their heart and soul into providing an excellent establilshment. Ideally situated too. Thank you John & Lynda.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Pauine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

we have just returned home after a 5 night stay at the crown lodge and this was our second visit we have stayed previously in many guest houses in torquay but this is by far the most welcoming john and Lynda are the perfect hosts they have beautiful rooms all the décor is to the highest of standards the breakfasts are lovley and lots of choice we will definitely be returning and hopefully for a longer stay thank you john and lynda for a excellent stay

Room Tip: ground floor rooms are excellent for anyone with mobility problems
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dawn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Lovely hotel with lovely clean comfortable rooms. Perfect location for local attractions. The owners are very nice people and make you feel very welcome as soon as you arrive. Fantastic choice for breakfast and all freshly cooked. This hotel is perfect for couples and disabled people. We would definitely recommend it and will go back there ourselves.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

From when we first arrived the owners went out of there way to be helpful, and were very friendly. They know alot about the local area, restaurants and attractions etc and are more than happy to give advice of places to try and simply couldnt of been more friendly. the beach is 10minute walk and the harbour bars and shops 15-20mibute walk. all in all a great stay. plus breakfast was delicious and cooked extremely well, not at all greasy and obviously good quality food.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keegan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

my wife and i stayed at the very best b&b ever. Lynda and John werethe perfect host and the breafasts were out of this world. My wife is wheel chair bound and the room no2 was perfect she could move around with ease in her chair. The use of a shower chair was unbeliveable. I would reccomend this b&b to any one fit or dissabled Thank you Lynda &John for making our stay fantastic .I would score them 100 out of 100
colin&kathy

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colin e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Upon arrival myself and my partner were greeted by John, who asked if we stayed before and if it was a special occasion. We mentioned it was our anniversary in a couple of days, to which John offered us an upgrade to a bigger room at no extra charge. Very thoughtful! He then ran through the meal times and general hotel policies. He asked if we had eaten and he could recommend some excellent places to eat if not. We settled on a little Italian called Gemelli's and John called and made a reservation for us as he and his wife Lynda go there quite often. This did not disappoint! Best Italian food we've ever had!

Our 3 night stay was fantastic. Both John and Lynda were very attentive during breakfast, but also making conversation, asking where we'd been and where we had planned to go. The smoked salmon & scrambled eggs and the American pancakes were excellent!

Really nice couple and a relaxed, homely atmosphere, reasonably priced. Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
0.1 mi away
The Richwood
The Richwood
#51 of 87 in Torquay
279 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wheyrigg Hall Hotel
Wheyrigg Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Wigton
127 reviews
1.1 mi away
Anchorage Hotel
Anchorage Hotel
#72 of 87 in Torquay
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge
0.0 mi away
Bentley Lodge
Bentley Lodge
#8 of 149 in Torquay
714 reviews
1.3 mi away
Shirley Hotel
Shirley Hotel
#27 of 149 in Torquay
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Address: Bed and Breakfast Bed and Breakfast 83 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $61 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Lodge Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once an Edwardian family home, Crown Lodge has been tastefully and sympathetically renovated to provide highly recommended 4* Silver Guest Accommodation within the main B&B area of Torquay. Your hosts, John & Patricia have recently been awarded this silver accolade by Visit Britain and a TripAdvisor Excellence award for the high standards achieved at Crown Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Crown Lodge Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Lodge Bed And Breakfast Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing