We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short stay in Torquay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crown Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crown Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #27 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Short stay in Torquay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Proprietors both friendly and helpful with plenty of tips on places to visit and where to eat.The breakfasts provided were absolutely excellent . Our room had a lovely bay window and was beautifully decorated.
It took about half an hour to walk to resort centre although only 15 minutes to the beach. There is also a bus stop nearby.
Certainly conveniently placed for exploring the surrounding area .A walk or ride to Cockington village highly recommended.
Would also recommend a trip to Totnes and a trip up the river Dart.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    43
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
244
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

First Review, first time in B&B, had 2 nights in Torquay and were absolutely thrilled with the friendliness and welcome of the proprietors, invited to view the room on arrival to ensure it met our approval before checking in. Just walked in off the street and welcomed in. Room was warm, comfortable, light and airy and as other reviews, spotlessly clean with all the little added touches.
Breakfast was everything you could wish for from fruit , fruit juices, cereals, yoghurts and full 'farmstyle' cooked breakfast if you so wished, special orders fulfilled if required. Had a great time and advised on the best attractions Torquay has to offer plus recommended restaurants and taxi services.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyF1Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We have just enjoyed a one night stay at the Crown Lodge. We had a beautiful room that was very light and comfortable with lots of added touches that are not usually found to make our stay home from home. We had a great nights sleep the bed was very comfortable. The room is spotlessly clean with beautiful soft white towels. The breakfast was delicious, beautifully cooked using local produce and in my husbands case very large! A wide selection of fresh fruit is available as well as a good range of other breakfast options for those preferring something other than the normal cooked breakfast. The location was perfect we found the hotel really easily being just off the main road into Torquay and a stones-throw from the seafront. In our opinion the best B&B we have stayed in. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveCudlip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We had a lovely couple of days in Torquay. We arrived at Crown Lodge to be greeted by very
friendly proprietor, obvious that nothing would be too much trouble.Our room was delightful, very airy, clean and modern touches. The room was spotlessly clean with clean towels provided
every day if necessary tea and coffee making facilities that were consistently replenished. Breakfast was delicious locally sourced produce, plenty of choice cooked to order. Would
have no hesitation in recommending Crown Lodge and we will certainly be returning very soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We picked Torquay as one of our short break for our 30th wedding anniversary and we did have a great time staying at Crown Lodge. Very clean, spacious room. Breakfast was delicious and huge. John and Lynda were very helpful and friendly.What more can we say!
Thank You

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank tduong69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda L, Owner at Crown Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for choosing us for your anniversary stay. That makes us feel quite special. So glad you enjoyed your time here at Crown Lodge, and thank you for leaving this review. Hope you have many more happy anniversaries,
best wishes,
Lynda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

I can not recommend Crown Lodge Hotel enough. The rooms are very comfortable, with all the facilities you might expect from a top class hotel. Everywhere was immaculately clean and fresh and the breakfasts were to die for!! John and Lynda are the perfect hosts and extremely accommodating, without being intrusive - spot on!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda L, Owner at Crown Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for leaving such a nice review. We appreciate you taking the time to do this for us. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again next year.
best wishes,
Lynda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire Uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

I had a stroke six years ago and this was the first holiday I has been on on my own so I was very nervous, I chose Torquay because I had lived there for a year (well actually Teignmouth!) and I liked it very much. I chose half a dozen hotels with wheelchair access and emailed them but no one replied! Well apart from the Crown Lodge.......who replyed within minutes. I spoke to John who demonstrated his complete understanding of my circumstanes and booked me in to the disabled accessible room and put my mind at rest! He even offered me a free taxi from the station!! When I got there the place looked very normal from the outside, but the outside didnt prepare you for the inside! It was luxurios!! My bedroom was on the ground floor (duh!!) and it was big. It had a recilar double bed and a wet room but everything was just right!! I have travelled round the world in my well days but this is the best accomadation I have stayed in.

Room Tip: Any of the six rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grumpyyoungman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda L, Owner at Crown Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your first solo holiday, especially as it was with us. Thank you for taking the time to leave this review for us, and to say that this is the best accommodation you've stayed in is praise indeed.
It was a pleasure to meet you David, and I'm not sure why your nickname is grumpyyoungman as we didn't find you grumpy at all!!
Best Wishes,
Lynda & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
16.7 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge
0.0 mi away
Bentley Lodge
Bentley Lodge
#8 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burleigh House
Burleigh House
#24 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Harmony Guest House
Harmony Guest House
#25 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Marina
Villa Marina
#19 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#6 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Property: Crown Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Address: Bed and Breakfast Bed and Breakfast 83 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Lodge Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once an Edwardian family home, Crown Lodge has been tastefully and sympathetically renovated to provide highly recommended 4* Silver Guest Accommodation within the main B&B area of Torquay. Your hosts, John & Patricia have recently been awarded this silver accolade by Visit Britain and a TripAdvisor Excellence award for the high standards achieved at Crown Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Crown Lodge Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Lodge Bed And Breakfast Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing