We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bed and Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crown Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #26 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bed and Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is one of the best small B & B's I've been in the rooms are well decorated and very clean. bedding is soft luxury finishings. breakfast is the best i've tasted and would love to eat more there.
Pleasant and helpful owners, would highly recommend staying there.

Room Tip: We had the road facing room, however it had blinds to remove street lighting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank DerekY697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda L, Owner at Crown Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for recommending us in your review. Hope to see you back again sometime - breakfast is waiting for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    45
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
250
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Crown Lodge is a real gem. I was visiting friends and it was really easy to find the B and B. Warm and welcoming, wonderfully comfortable and clean - can't fault it. And the scrambled eggs in the morning were great!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 456LizC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda L, Owner at Crown Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We really appreciate nice reviews like this!! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed in Torquay when the weather was coldest it had been in many years. Fortunately the rooms were lovely and warm and so was the hospitality. The hotel was immaculate and comfy and the breakfasts were delicious.I would recommend the Crown Lodge to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda L, Owner at Crown Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Personal recommendations are always the best. Thank you for this one. Sorry we can't do much about the weather !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stopped here for 1 night on a business trip last year. The owners were very friendly, letting me park the car there from 9am on the day of arrival. Room was clean, large, and welcoming. Breakfast was great.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda L, Owner at Crown Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Nice that you remembered us, and you are obviously a busy person, so thank you for making time to do this review for us. Hope to see you next time you are in Torquay.
regards
Lynda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We've just returned from a two day break in Torquay during one of the coldest spells I can ever remember. The reason for sightseeing in such foul weather is simple:for Christmas, I bought my husband an Asda Experience voucher for a two day holiday and he chose this location as a base to explore three National Trust houses in the area, booking it well in advance. In retrospect, I'm really glad he did. This property, run by a husband and wife team with a keen eye for detail, was beautifully warm and maintained to a very high standard.Our tastefully decorated room was immaculate, with unexpected extras such as the fresh milk placed in the room's fridge on our arrival, despite the generous number of long life milk containers evident on the tea tray or the extra blind fitted to one window, to stop the street light from keeping guests awake. I came away with the impression that everything is approached with great care and thought to maximise the comfort and pleasure of the guests. Breakfast in their fresh modern dining room was a pleasure, with a marvellous range of food on offer, even scrambled eggs with smoked salmon provided you order it in advance. Our short holiday in this guest house was such an enjoyable experience,I would certainly stay here again and recommend it to my friends!

Room Tip: Our first floor room, with windows on two sides was very light and pleasant. When the curtains were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welshdragon63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda L, Owner at Crown Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for all your comments. They are much appreciated, We shall certainly look forward to seeing you again.
regards,
Lynda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We went to Torquay for 2 nights for a weekend break. Unfortunately I broke my ankle between booking our room and going but after a phone call to Crown Lodge they put us in a ground floor room which had a bathroom completey kitted out for all disabilities which was fantastic. The room was lovely and spotless. The breakfast was all you could wish for with plenty of choice and the owners were very friendly and helpfull. We would definately recomend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda L, Owner at Crown Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
We were pleased to be able to move you to a ground floor room, so that you could still have your weekend break, and thank you so much for your review.
Hope your ankle had mended now,
best wishes,
Lynda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We have just stayed at the Crown Lodge for two nights, the hotel offered everything you could need for a break it's within walking distance of the harbour / town centre, and the owners were very welcoming and helpful
The room was very clean with TV and in built DVD player ( selection of DVD's available to borrow in reception ), there was a safe, sewing kit and ironing board.
The breakfast was top notch and a great selection too choose from.
Thanks very much we'll certainly be coming back !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda L, Owner at Crown Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Can't get better than 1st Class, can you! Thank you so much for this review - glad you enjoyed your stay,
regards,
Lynda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
16.7 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge
0.1 mi away
The Richwood
The Richwood
#54 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bentley Lodge
Bentley Lodge
#7 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Harmony Guest House
Harmony Guest House
#27 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burleigh House
Burleigh House
#28 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.0 mi away
Garway Lodge
Garway Lodge
#30 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Property: Crown Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Address: Bed and Breakfast Bed and Breakfast 83 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Lodge Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once an Edwardian family home, Crown Lodge has been tastefully and sympathetically renovated to provide highly recommended 4* Silver Guest Accommodation within the main B&B area of Torquay. Your hosts, John & Patricia have recently been awarded this silver accolade by Visit Britain and a TripAdvisor Excellence award for the high standards achieved at Crown Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld and LateRooms so you can book your Crown Lodge Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Lodge Bed And Breakfast Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing