We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”
Review of The Iona Torquay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Iona Torquay
Ranked #53 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2014

A great hotel. Clean & tidy and Roy & Marita are great hosts. I will be going back in June. Cant wait. I think I will make this hotel my yearly hang out. Look out for their deals as very worth it. I will be bringing some friends with me next time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sara f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 287 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2014

It didn't ruin our weekend away but just feel The Iona is a little tired
Could do with a spring clean
Lovely breakfast
Friendly welcome
Like other review could do with warming room up before arrival also

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenWakeford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Arrived at Torquay and looked up hotels on internet. Quickly booked the Iona and arrived ten minutes later. Greeted by the owner and his lovely doggie. Helpful owner carried our cases for us to our room. Lovely well decorated, spacious room. Very clean, soft white towels and a beautiful bathroom. Given helpful directions to the seafront and town, as well as a recommendation for a good Indian restaurant. The lady owner was very helpful and attentive at breakfast, friendly, providing good service and a breakfast with good quality ingredients. The price was very reasonable for such good accommodation with ample parking. Thank you for an enjoyable stay. We will definitely come to stay again if we are back in the area.☺

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sarah50td
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed for two nights over a rainy weekend but we had a relaxing and enjoyable time. We were met with a friendly welcome and the advice given about local restaurants and pubs was spot on. The room was very comfortable and finished to a high standard. Could do with warming the room up a bit before are arrival though. The bed was a little tired and creaked a lot. Overall we had a excellent stay and I would definitely recommend a stay here to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henryk Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay so did our two dogs. Lovely people made us feel very welcome, so did Chip their dog. Beautiful room decorated lovely bed so comfortable that we went out and bought a mattress topper just like the one on the bed. Breakfast was very good lots of choices.Would recommend it to dog owners and non dog owners, Very Very clean

Room Tip: Balcony room beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed at the Iona while visiting relatives nearby for Christmas. The room with balcony was lovely - the bed comfortable - the breakfasts excellent - imagine it would be nice in summer. The owners were kind and attentive - loved the christmas decorations - our two small dogs were welcomed and not like some places merely tolerated.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had a great 3 day break to chill out after Christmas. The room was excellent, the atmosphere warm and friendly and the breakfast fantastic. Perfect get away. The owners were on hand to help with places of interest to visit and recommendations for restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aerona54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#47 of 85 in Torquay
368 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#15 of 85 in Torquay
416 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#7 of 85 in Torquay
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
John Burton-Race Restaurant & Rooms
0.2 mi away
The Richwood
The Richwood
#52 of 85 in Torquay
280 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#29 of 85 in Torquay
2,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iona Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iona Torquay

Address: 5 Cleveland Road, Torquay TQ2 5BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $64 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iona Torquay 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the old part of Torquay, Hotel Iona offers quality accommodation in a central location, close to the main town, sea front and the Riviera Conference and Leisure Centre. This comfortable and friendly small hotel is set in a beautifully converted detached Victorian villa built in the 1860s, located in a quiet conservation area of Torquay's main hotel and bed and breakfast accommodation area. As a family run hotel we take pride in offering our guests traditional standards of service and individual attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Iona Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iona Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing