We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay...”
Review of The Iona Torquay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Iona Torquay
Ranked #56 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We have just come back from a weekend stay at the Hotel Iona and I must say I was impressed. From the moment we walked in the door we felt very welcomed by the owners, the room was very spacious and clean. Breakfast was gorgeous and plentiful, cereals, fresh fruit salad, yoghurt's as well as a menu for hot food to choose from. The hotel is in a quite location and only a small walk to the sea front and town centre. Highly recommend this hotel, can't wait to visit again next year :-)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StaceyHand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 287 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2012

Stayed for the weekend in June. All very clean, food excellent - breakfast and evening meal. Nice bedrooms and lovely couple that own the hotel. Very friendly and helpful. Would certainly recommend the Iona.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandraJC8987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Iona for one night our room was clean, the bed very comfortable. A good size bathroom with nice handwash, shampoo etc provided free of charge.The hotel is clean light and modern. The staff are friendly and so is the sweet little Jack Russell. We had a very nice stay and would definately stay here again.Although this hotel does not have its own swimming pool and fitness facilities it has an arrangement with another hotel so that its guests can use their facilities for a very reasonable daily rate.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moirabristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

This is the third time we have stayed at this hotel and the service seems to get better all the time. The breakfast was excellent and the evening meals were special and well cooked every night. The room was clean, tidy and well cared for and the owners cannot be faulted for their attention to detail. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a place to stay in Torquay.

Room Tip: The room with a balcony was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael_Cooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

The moment we arrived we where welcomed and we really felt relaxed including our wee dog lol.
Our room was clean and light with a comfy bed and a nice sized bathroom complete with soft towels and amenities, very clean all around.
The excellent breakfast set us up nicely for the day's activities, including the walk down to the harbour which only takes 15 mins.
The hotel's location is ideal as it is situated on a quiet road but within walking distance to a number of restaurants.
We shall certainly be returning. People who are looking for a quite little break or even a months holiday should come here i promise you will not be disappointed thank you all again see you all soon again xxxxx
love the McLafferty Family

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at The Hotel Iona, we we more than impressed with this lovely hotel a big thank you to all staff for making our stay memorable, our room was lovely and clean and breakfast was excellent. We would most certainly stay at this hotel again & would highly recommend it.
Debbie,Damian & Lennon

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WirralDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed in a superior twin room with balcony, which was fabulous. Not only that, Roy and Malita were wonderful hosts who struck the right balance, they were friendly and approachable without being intrusive, which is a skill in itself. Everything was perfect, the attention to detail was second to none. Can not recommend this guest house highly enough. We shall definately return.

Room Tip: Take the ferry to Brixham £2.00 return - got to be the bargain of the year.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwenllian812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
John Burton-Race Restaurant & Rooms
1.1 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#48 of 85 in Torquay
368 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#15 of 85 in Torquay
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#30 of 85 in Torquay
2,547 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southbank Hotel
Southbank Hotel
#45 of 85 in Torquay
155 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#58 of 85 in Torquay
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iona Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iona Torquay

Address: 5 Cleveland Road, Torquay TQ2 5BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $64 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iona Torquay 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the old part of Torquay, Hotel Iona offers quality accommodation in a central location, close to the main town, sea front and the Riviera Conference and Leisure Centre. This comfortable and friendly small hotel is set in a beautifully converted detached Victorian villa built in the 1860s, located in a quiet conservation area of Torquay's main hotel and bed and breakfast accommodation area. As a family run hotel we take pride in offering our guests traditional standards of service and individual attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Orbitz so you can book your The Iona Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iona Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing