We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic week”
Review of The Iona Torquay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Iona Torquay
Ranked #57 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2011

This is the second time we have been to this hotel. The room was very clean and tidy, the meals were all excellent and the owners gave us very good advice on places to visit during our stay. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who needs a very relaxing break in Torquay.

Room Tip: Try to get the room with the balcony
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Michael_Cooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 284 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in a very comfortable room. The couple running the hotel were very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was exellent,will stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marpoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

I was in this hotel for a month, I was feeling like a part of the family, the father is also the chef and he is doing great food with passion. The rooms are beautiful, like the hotel.
Plus I forgive one of my bag and they send my it back as fast as possible for free, they were and are really nice, I think I will comeback in this sweet place, extremely friendly.
You are doing great job, thank you for those moments.

Je recommande cet hôtel pour ça qualité de service, son restaurant, l'ambiance si chaleureuse et cozy.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ben187221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

We stayed in a standard room which was on the third floor. All was spotlessly clean and the breakfast good. Our only gripe would be that the ensuite is very narrow - only the width of the shower cubicle and we both found the lack of space made it difficult to dry yourself off after a shower and manouver in there!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

We had a great time and the breakfasts were the best we've ever had.
Service was friendly and excellent and the Wi Fi worked well (bonus).

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dougmansell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

I visited Hotel Iona with my partner and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We enjoyed the leisurely stroll from the hotel to all amenities and the beach. The owners were so welcoming and accomodating and everything within the hotel was to the highest standard from the breakfasts to the cleanliness and what a great little character their dog Chip was who we both loved

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cat189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights with my wife & 2 kids, 11 & 15. We booked the family room which we found to be great. A master bedroom with very comfy double bed, tv, fridge, built in wardrobe & sink for the adults, a seperate bedroom with bunkbeds, tv/dvd for the kids, a seperate toilet, and a seperate shower (which was superb). It was all very well maintained & clean. The breakfast had plenty choice and was excellent. The staff are very friendly, and as already been mentioned, Chip the little dog is a great host. It is in walking distance of the town centre & the harbour & seafront. There is also parking provided.
We would definatley book again should we return to Torquay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrabbyValiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#7 of 85 in Torquay
549 reviews
1.1 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#48 of 85 in Torquay
367 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#26 of 85 in Torquay
125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#31 of 85 in Torquay
613 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenorleigh
Glenorleigh
#54 of 149 in Torquay
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iona Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iona Torquay

Address: 5 Cleveland Road, Torquay TQ2 5BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $71 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iona Torquay 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the old part of Torquay, Hotel Iona offers quality accommodation in a central location, close to the main town, sea front and the Riviera Conference and Leisure Centre. This comfortable and friendly small hotel is set in a beautifully converted detached Victorian villa built in the 1860s, located in a quiet conservation area of Torquay's main hotel and bed and breakfast accommodation area. As a family run hotel we take pride in offering our guests traditional standards of service and individual attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Iona Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iona Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing