We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Birthday Choice February 2013”
Review of Kingsholm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kingsholm Hotel
Ranked #9 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2013

4 night stay in the luxury king size room, newly refurbished, very clean, lovely large shower, highly recommended. Carl & June are only a young couple, but went out of their way to make our stay perfect, including a birthday cake on the Sunday, made my day. Great location, few minutes walk to town/harbour, saw lots of penguins at Living Coast down on the harbour, & did lots of shopping. Breakfast was also excellent, lots of choice. Would not hesitate to return, have told lots of family and friends.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (787)
There are newer reviews for Kingsholm Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

554 - 560 of 788 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay, booked as a stay over for a weekend golf trip, wasn't disappointed everything was excellent. Lovely engaging couple run the hotel and can't do enough for you. Rooms nicely decorated and very comfortable, bathroom and shower very clean, modern and good quality. Breakfast well cooked and tasty. Highly recommended great stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sjb110869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had a very relaxing two night stay. Despite us getting our arrival dates wrong, we were made to feel very welcome and offered tea. We had a very nice, recently renovated room (3), comfortable, spotless and with a nice outlook. Great location being within a few minutes walk of the town/marina. There was a good sized and well cooked breakfast and we were even offered veggie sausages (I think we mentioned indirectly we did not eat meat). Great host who were friendly and attentive but you felt like you could come and go as you please too. Parking is reserved for guests in a car park about 50 meters away plus a few behind the hotel. All in all a great choice.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jezzer44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Excellent value for money - great hosts in June and Carl, who endeavor to make your stay memorable. The hosts have excellent knowledge of places to eat - best value - and where to avoid, and only a very short walk into Torquay. Probably the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in,
A very enjoyable short break.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 39569marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

have just returned from another wonderful weekend at the kingsholm hotel,since we were there last carl and julie have been very busy and the room which we stayed in (room 4) was absolutely lovely the bathroom which has been renewed was gorgeous we couldn't of asked for anything better well done on all your hard work. if you are thinking of staying in torquay you would be hard pushed to find a better hotel or friendlier hosts.
And you can't beat the breakfast!! see you again very soon.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We have just returned from a long weekend at Kingsholm which we enjoyed very much. We had a very warm welcome from the hosts Carl and Julie and the welcome tray in the lounge was much appreciated. The good weather helped us renew our acquaintance with Torquay and the fact that Kingsholm is very conveniently placed meant we didn't have to drive everywhere. The hotel decor was very calming and well done. Our room was very well presented, with comfortable beds, duvets and pillows etc with chairs and a small table so we didn't have to just sit on the bed. Hosts were always on hand if needed but certainly not intrusive. We enjoyed a varied well cooked and presented menu for breakfast which set us up for the day. We shall certainly be recommending Kingsholm to others and shall certainly return for a further visit.

Room Tip: I would be happy with any room at this hotel.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doddflier640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Just got home from Kingsholm after booking a last minute two night stay. We had room number four which was a king room. The room was spotless and had everything we needed. It was a gorgeous sunny couple of days and the huge windows made the room a lovely place to relax. The bathroom was probably one of the biggest we have had in any hotel or b and b, and it was very modern and clean which we love! Unfortunately we were so full from meals out the night before that we couldnt manage a full english at brekkie. But the service was excellent and we felt very welcome. The kingsholm is in an ideal position for everything in Torquay there was a little noise from a couple of late night revellers but we had the window open so once shut problem solved. The Kingsholm had everything we needed and i am sure if there had of been anything else we wanted we could have just asked. We would definately stay again if in Torquay!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,957 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#5 of 87 in Torquay
495 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Somerville
The Somerville
#6 of 149 in Torquay
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#3 of 149 in Torquay
500 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Marstan
The Marstan
#2 of 87 in Torquay
557 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsholm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsholm Hotel

Address: 539 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $66 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsholm Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kingsholm is a fine Edwardian guest house situated only 350 metres from Torquays famous harbour and town centre with some of Torquays finest restaurants just a few minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kingsholm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsholm Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing