We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horswills”
Review of Kingsholm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kingsholm Hotel
Ranked #8 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We have just returned from a fantastic 3 night break at the Kingsholm Hotel. We booked for a short break as my husband and I needed to recharge our batteries , after a very busy spell with our jobs.
Immediately we were made to feel welcome and that nothing would be to much trouble. The hotel was very clean, comfortable, warm and a very good hearty breakfasy served every morning. The hotel was on the doorstep of the town, close to all the sights and amenities. Carl and June were always on hand to advise on local tourist spots, but never encroached on our privacy. The sign of good hoteliers. Looking forward to return as soon as we are able to.

Room Tip: If you have restricted mobility ask for rooms on 1st floor as there are quite a few steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carole-horswill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (799)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

636 - 642 of 799 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2012

From all the reviews we read we were expecting a better experience. Firstly, there is no on site parking and we had to park 300 yards or so behind the hotel in a public car park. From he hotel web site you might have thought parking was vailable on site. However, the parking cost is all in the price you pay for your stay. The matresses in room 10 where we were first put were uncomfortable and we were moved to room 7 where they were much better. The ensuites provided in both rooms were dated and the showers poor.
That said, June and Carl are generally good hosts and provide a friendly welcome and are informative about things you want to know, such as restaurants within the area. The breakfast is very acceptable and the overal price you pay is good value.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

What a great holiday - with another great stay at The Kingholm, an even bigger and better breakfast than before (now on a diet) the hospitality we recieved from Karl and June is always second to none. The hotel localtion is great -short walk to the harbour, shops bars and eaterys, we highly recommend Kingsholm and are already looking forward to our next stay.
thank you both for a great stay

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Husband booked this hotel for me for my birthday and I'm so pleased he did. We arrived on the Friday evening after a prolonged journey and were immediately impressed with the look and feel of the place, very clean, spacious and very up to date. June offered us a coffee in the lounge which we accepted and it was lovely.....just like being at home. When we returned from a bite to eat husband was very happy as the TV was on with the football playing which he had mentioned earlier. We'd asked for a bottle of wine to be chilled and it was ready for us on our return.

The standard of the accomodation and the breakfast is impeccable and it's the little touches that make all the difference...on checking out we weren't charged for the wine 'as it was my birthday'.....the hot chocolate in the bedroom (aswell as the tea and coffee) and the warm hospitality of both Carl and June.

We will be returning for certain as we've been spoilt this weekend.... thank you so much for making a lovely weekend memorable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sueh6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

as soon as your greeted at the door you feel youve just returned home, owners carl and june are fabulous hosts and make you feel very welcome. nice cup of tea or coffee in the lounge ready when youve placed your bags in the nicely decorated rooms ( not the norm in torquay) .the beds were very comfortable with ample tea and coffee and the nice added touch of a couple of bottles of drinking water (its these little touches that make the big difference). if you need any advice on where to go where to eat ,theyre always willing to recommend places .
the breakfasts are fantastic as well not a big greasy blob on a plate ,nicely cooked and plenty of it.
The hotel is ideally situated just a short stroll into town (2 minutes) where theyre are numerous bars and eaterys.
weve stayed at quite a few places in torquay but this is the best by a country mile. if your thinking of going to torquay for any kind of stay i cant recommend the kingsholm enough. carl and june have put the hard work in and fully deserve the top ratings they receive , thank you for a wonderful stay..........we will be back,GUARANTEED!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whenthemoonshines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at the Kingsholm under the ownership of June and Carl. For the price charged it is extremely good value. The room we had this time was large and very clean and comfortable. Breakfast is always very good and although a busy time in the morning the owners always find a few minutes to chat with their guests. We like the location of the Kingsholm. It is a walkable distance to the Harbour and not up a steep hill.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I work all over the country & stay in many hotels & B&B's, but the Kingsholme, I can honestly say is one of the best I've stayed at. I received a friendly welcome & the hotel was spotlessly clean with plenty of tea & coffee in the room. The full English breakfast really meant FULL ENGLISH, the plate was warm & the food piping hot & good quality food.
I will most definately stay again & would not hessitate to recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DBWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#47 of 85 in Torquay
368 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#6 of 149 in Torquay
390 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Somerville
The Somerville
#4 of 149 in Torquay
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Redholme B&B
The Redholme B&B
#3 of 149 in Torquay
526 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#7 of 149 in Torquay
430 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Charterhouse
The Charterhouse
#5 of 149 in Torquay
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsholm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsholm Hotel

Address: 539 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $64 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsholm Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kingsholm is a fine Edwardian guest house situated only 350 metres from Torquays famous harbour and town centre with some of Torquays finest restaurants just a few minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kingsholm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsholm Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing