We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kingsholm Hotel - Fantastic”
Review of Kingsholm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kingsholm Hotel
Ranked #7 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Kingsholm Hotel - Fantastic”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Carl & June run a very friendly hotel, spotless with lovely rooms.The location is very good for the seafront , shops and restaurants etc. The hotel is small, but that made it very welcoming. The breakfast are very nice as well. We will be staying again, fantastic

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harrismag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    724
    42
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
92
490
44
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at the Kingsholm for a one night break in Torquay. This is a small, family run place and the owners were very welcoming and helpful, recommending restaurants close by. We chose an Italian one just down from the hotel, on the same side - well worth a visit! Breakfast was plenty and well cooked. Overall a very comfortable, well-located hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaG1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Me and my partner stayed here for 2 nights at the end of January, we were both thoroughly pleased with our entire stay at the Kingsholm, the hosts very friendly & helpful, our room was very clean & comfortable, slept great both nights. The service at breakfast was spot on with a great choice food, hot breakfast is cooked to order so you can pick and choose exactly what you have. It is situated just a couple of minutes walk away to all the bars and restaurants, an ideal base to explore torquay and devon. Will without doubt be returning on our next visit to the area.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leighrowe1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redruth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Absolutely loved our stay at Kingsholm! The owners, June and Carl were really friendly and welcoming and the room we had was absolutely lovely :) The whole place was spotlessly clean-which is a big must for me!! All in all a great B&B for a relaxing break, very close to town and spot on breakfasts!! Highly recommended! A********

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed for two nights at the back end of September 2011, just out of season so didn't quite know what to expect. Nice friendly welcome from June on checking in and she made time to find out what our plans were and give us a booklet of vouchers to use in our travels. The room itself was on the top floor and somewhat cosy with quite a small bathroom and not that much space around the bed but it was adequate and comfortable - unfortunately the room next door had their window open all night and the occupant snored like a hibernating bear! Breakfast was fantastic, cooked well and very tasty with excellent service from Carl. The location is fantastic, being a two minute walk to where the main hub of restaurants are and a five minute walk to the waterfront. There isn't a sea view but there in a nice park opposite. Despite being on a main road traffic noise isn't an issue, in fact after about 10pm the road was very quiet - although I don't know if this was because it was out of season. Carl and June hadn't had the place long when we visited, but you really couldn't tell as they offered exceptional, friendly, courteous and professional service throughout. Would heartily recommend without hesitation and intend on staying again in the future.

Room Tip: If you are as unfit as I am ask for a room on the lower floors, the stairs are quite steep. The car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cw318is
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Carl & June the proprietors greeted us cordially with a pot of tea and a biscuit on arrival which was very welcome on a December evening. The house was warm and cosy and the rooms were tasteful and comfortable. The beds excellent - didn't want to get up! Breakfast was very good with lots of choice and my favourite herbal tea (lemon & ginger) was on tap. My brother loves coffee and said this too was good. Carl and June also informed us about the area and amenities and offered to help us with our search of local properties. Also we spent one evening in the bar talking about very many subjects after an initial complimentary drink!

We are looking forward to a return visit to Kingsholm very soon.

Room Tip: twin room top floor no 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
311 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Despite putting the radiators on full, the room was still too cold. The road outside is noisy and unfortunately there was a large group of people coming in late making a lot of noise - occupational hazzard in December!

The bed was comfortable, but a bit small and the bedding smelled of smoke for some reason, despite it being a non-smoking hotel.

The breakfast was nice and also quick, if a bit small (one egg, one bit of bacon, one tomato, two mushrooms!)I could have done with 2 eggs, 2 bacon and lots of mushrooms! But good choice and well cooked.

The tea (suspect the milk) in the room is undrinkable and needs changing.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wishboneWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,808 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#3 of 150 in Torquay
476 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Somerville
The Somerville
#8 of 150 in Torquay
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 150 in Torquay
249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#6 of 87 in Torquay
1,024 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Marstan
The Marstan
#3 of 87 in Torquay
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsholm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsholm Hotel

Property: Kingsholm Hotel
Address: 539 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsholm Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kingsholm is a fine Edwardian guest house situated only 350 metres from Torquays famous harbour and town centre with some of Torquays finest restaurants just a few minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kingsholm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsholm Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing