We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very special experience !!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sandpiper Guest House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Sandpiper Guest House
Ranked #24 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A very special experience !!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

I have just spent 4 wonderful nights at the Sandpipers, from the very minute we arrived until the minute we left we were treated to an experience far superior to any 4 star hotels we have stayed in . Our hosts Russell & Helen were second to none and the personal touch they have achieved in every single aspect, has to be seen to be believed. I haven't written a Trip Adviser review before but it would have rude not to after the exceptional way we were treated. Would highly recommend, we will definitely be back, hopefully soon !!!! :-)

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    32
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
77
143
17
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the sandpiper for 4 nights with my mum and sister June 2014. The rooms were really clean and nicely decorated. Excellent and varied breakfast. Helen and Russell were super friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Short walk to seafront. Would stay again. Thank you :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna87Spells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

The hosts were v welcoming, the room we stayed in was spotless and decorated to a v high standard, the bed was sooooo comfy. the bar was great, and the breakfast superb. Short walk to the seafront. if you're thinking about booking this place definitely do it you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SkatersSkaters31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed at the Sandpiper for one night. Our accommodation was bright and very clean. We had a lovely walk to the Theatre in Torquay from the Guest House, although should point out it is quite a hilly walk. Breakfast was delicious and nothing too much trouble. We would certainly book to stay in this Guest House again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mairi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

We stayed in The Sandpiper for one night only. We arrived very late but were warmly welcomed by Russell. Room facilities were excellent. Very airy and exceptionally bright and clean. The en suite had a huge shower cubicle and the water pressure great....so nice not to have to step into a bath for a shower. All toiletries were supplied together with fluffy white towels. So we were well pleased for our comfortable bed and nights rest. But there was more, the dining room was so smart, no sauce and jam pots here! lovely individual pots for top range jams and sauces, ground pepper and sea salt how lovely. I had a large helping of fresh pineapple there was also a choice of water melon plus cereals etc...but I knew I was having a cooked english breakfast and wanted to leave room for that, and of course, that was as good as everything else at The Sanpiper, Individual pots of tea or coffee, refilled if you wanted more! Thank you, 10 out of 10 for the short stay......wished I could have stayed all week, disappointed I did not have had long enough to try the evening meal.

Room Tip: Room 1, very quiet and comfortable,on the ground floor which I prefer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 24PatS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

My wife and I chose the Sandpiper from the internet so it was our first visit. Everything described on the internet and photographs etc. proved to be exactly as shown. Our room was immaculate, newly decorated with good quality furnishings and the en suite likewise. Everything was spotless. We were very comfortable throughout the week. Helen & Russell were perfect hosts and were most helpful, no matter what was asked of them. The breakfasts were plentiful with a varied choice and of very good quality. We enjoyed it so much that we have booked to return later in the year and cannot wait! No hesitation in recommending The Sandpiper whatsoever. 5 Star rating!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

Went to Torquay for the Royal British Legion AGM and stayed at the Sandpiper and found it to be a friendly and comfortable guest house. The food was very good. They catered for us as well when we had to leave early in the morning for meetings.
Thank you Helen & Russell for making us welcome and your 2 children

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aa_je
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
Burleigh House
Burleigh House
#25 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#6 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harmony Guest House
Harmony Guest House
#26 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Glenwood
The Glenwood
#74 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wellsway
The Wellsway
#22 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westgate
The Westgate
#19 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sandpiper Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandpiper Guest House

Property: The Sandpiper Guest House
Address: Rowdens Road, Torquay TQ2 5AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sandpiper Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the Sandpiper Guest house, set in a peaceful tree lined cul-de-sac just a short walk away from the Riviera international Centre, Torre Abbey Gardens and the seafront. We offer quality accommodation in a relaxed, informal and friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Sandpiper Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sandpiper Guest House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing